We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more could you want?”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cleveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kessler Old World Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleveland
Stoughton
1 review
“What more could you want?”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We've stayed at the Guesthouse four times in the last 3 years—we're always hoping for another reason to be in the area! The Guesthouse and the Kessler's provide a wonderful situation that gives both the best in personal and friendly service while allowing for a very welcoming and comfortable environment and plenty of privacy. It's clear the Kessler's have put many hours and lots of "sweat" as well as their heart and soul into creating this special place. And you don't have to be of German ancestry to appreciate it!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
10
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I have stayed in motels on my weekend trips where you were put up in a room and that's it. At the Kessler Old World Guesthouse Franz & Kay Kessler are not the everyday innkeppers but a convivial couple opening their doors to welcome you home.
I came for a day's stay during my training course at Lakewood Technical College but i stayed on for a second day because the Kesslers reminded me of what a homecoming means. Yes, it felt like going to my room in my parents house. Rich and knowledgeable in the histories of various countries, Franz and i seamlessly flowed from topic to topic like two old friend on a fishing trip.
Yes, i will come back again. Oh, yes. This is home.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnsburg, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

My family roots originate from Germany, though I’ve never had the pleasure of traveling there. My husband and I were fortunate to find (and have stayed at) Kessler Old World Guesthouse for family reunions; each time feeling as if we traveled to the European country. Our latest stay was in August 2011. The hospitality and service is outstanding! The owners are friendly, outgoing and have such knowledge about Germany and its history that no conversation is ever boring. You come away with a little more education each time!

There is an “Old World” charm to the Guesthouse from the moment you walk through the doors. The Guesthouse is authentic German style from the décor and artifacts displayed, to the breakfast - which was delicious and plentiful. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Looking forward to our next reunion!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn and Len C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2011

What a unique and wonderful stay we had at this authentic German guest house. The owners were so warm and hospitable, they shared so much about their travels and German culture and made us all feel like we were part of the family. The rooms were very comfortable and decorated so nicely as was the open sitting area. Everything was so clean and well taken care of. We picked the spot because it was big enough to accommodate the entire group we had and we all wanted to stay together. Everyone was surprised and pleased at how nice it was. Breakfast was a treat! I'd look forward to coming back again and I'd recommend it to any group who would like a more intimate experience than in a hotel.

Room Tip: One handicapped accessible room on firt floor. Lots of stairs to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 683MMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We first saw the Guesthouse in the Milwaukee Journal travel section,I am of German decent an d have been to Germany.We found Kessler's to be very friendly,clean and authentic.We liked it so much we took our Friends' there for their Anniversary,They also loved it.We have been there several times and it's like visiting Family.The breakfast was very authentic and delicious, it had alot of variety.

Room Tip: All rooms clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleveland
20.9 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manitowoc Lakefront
19.7 km away
Inn on Woodlake
Inn on Woodlake
#2 of 2 in Kohler
280 reviews
17.2 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Manitowoc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 11 in Sheboygan
83 reviews
19.3 km away
Econo Lodge Sheboygan
Econo Lodge Sheboygan
#8 of 11 in Sheboygan
61 reviews
19.9 km away
Harbor Winds
Harbor Winds
#6 of 11 in Sheboygan
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kessler Old World Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kessler Old World Guesthouse

Property: Kessler Old World Guesthouse
Address: 1278 Alpine Ct, Cleveland, WI 53015-1492
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Cleveland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleveland
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,834 - ₹ 6,124
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fine, quality authentic German style Bed & Breakfast. Wonderful people, beautiful area, most enjoyable! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing