We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 153
US$ 142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
35
3
2
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
3
2
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfastb and bgrand roomthe early morning hoursadirondack chairslake ripleygracious hostsbike trailmadisonpillows
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2017

This relaxing B and B located near Madison was the best location for us and on a beautiful lake.
Our room with a lake view, was clean, nicely furnished and had a very comfortable bed. Just relaxing on the wicker gliders or rockers on the huge lake front porch with coffee was fantastic. Breakfast was tasty including mouth watering homemade bread and coffee cake We ate in the Grand Room dining due to the brisk air that morning. Janice and Jim were so welcoming and shared area eateries and history. We even had a chance to kayak on the calm lake at sunset! Next time we must enjoy the outside patio with fire pit and Adirondack chairs and bike on the Cam-Rock bike trail.

Room Tip: All of the rooms at the inn are lake front. Choose king, queen, or twin beds. one or 2 room suites.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pointer2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Three of us college roommates came here for a weekend. The lodge is adorable and our 2 rooms upstairs with shared bath were so cozy and comfy. Nice beds with soft fresh smelling pillows. Cute decor but not overly kitschy. Beautiful lake view from the front room. It was the end of September but we enjoyed a great swim and the lake was so clean and refreshing. Breakfasts were filling and there was something for any taste. I had the best watermelon of the year there from a farm stand the owner frequents. The town and some fun restaurants and shopping are nearby. Lots of walking, canoeing and relaxation possible. I'll be back!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Mayandollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

This trip was a Christmas gift to my man, who loves (among other things) lakes and history. I found the Lake Ripley Lodge through a Google search...was looking for someplace quaint that was not a great distance from the Chicagoland area. What a absolutely charming lodge and lovely innkeepers! I reserved the Lakeside Lodge Room, which was perfect. The view of the lake through the pine trees is gorgeous. The lodge faces west; so, you also have a beautiful sunset. The accommodations are wonderful: incredibly comfortable bed, nice-sized dresser, bathroom with sink and shower. Guests have free WiFi access (good for those who feel the need to stay connected), and the room also has a TV (which we did not turn on; so, I cannot comment on its quality ;-) ).

We spent time in the rockers and swing on the grand porch, as well as the adirondack chairs in the front yard and bench on the pier. We did not take advantage of the kayaks this trip (maybe next time). The roads are great if you are a walker, runner, and/or cyclist. You'll have company in the morning, as it appears quite a few people take advantage of the beautiful location and quiet surroundings. There is not a shoulder, but most drivers go slowly and respect those folks on the road. We even walked into Cambridge for dinner one night (about four miles round trip). And we also highly recommend the Edgewater Supper Club in nearby Jefferson for a completely fun evening.

We look forward to returning to the Ripley Lake Lodge.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lakeside Lodge Room, which is a first floor corner room with a beautiful view of Lake Ripley through the pines. Gorgeous.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyJaneE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015

We arrived on Friday night and were right away to Janice the Inn Keeper and her son Justin. Immediately we were made at home and they were very accommodating with my handicap as i had recent surgery. The home and room were very warm, relaxing and cozy. They had a bottle of wine ready for us the 1st night; a nice way to relax. The next day we toured the Earth, Wind and Fire Ceramics and Art tour on Saturday after a scrumptious breakfast. Saturday night we once again relaxed with wine and the coziness of our room.
We found out that LRL also has canoes and kayaks so we will definitely be back next spring to check that out. The lake is beautiful, quiet and serene, is clean and about 40ft deep. Thanks so much Janice, Jim and Justin!
Kathy and Greg Moore

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Very nice B & B....My husband and I stayed for an anniversary weekend and were glad we did. We had a comfortable bed, spacious room, and a jacuzzi tub. The hosts were helpful and the breakfast was delicious. The falls colors on the property and lake highlighted the weekend. The price is reasonable. This ranks as one of the better B & B that we have stayed at. My only comment would be our room was on the second floor and there was a door at the top of the stairs which is a nuisance as a traveler with baggage.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCCAS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews