We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Winter Get-Away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rushes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baileys Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Rushes
Milwaukee, Wisconsin usa
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Winter Get-Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Lovely Winter get-away.
100 plus acre property with only 25 side/side town houses. 2large bedrooms, full kitchen, dining room that seats 6, fold out couch, and of course the wonderful living room with the wood burning fireplace. Flat screens in living room and bedrooms. Two decks. A gas grill. Garage. Activity building with pool, workout room, craft area and a lounge. During the week they have a wine and cheese party, ice cream social and craft classes for young and old. They have cross country skis and ice skates. Hopefully you have snow. Lots of hiking trails. Located in the woods and on Kangaroo Lake. A great time to explore Door County. Quiet and manageable. Some days you don't want to leave. Sometimes front desk staff can be grumpy. Don't let that bother you.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizbeth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We have been coming to the Rushes since I was 9 years old, and it has been great every time! We go over New Years, so it is wonderful to have a few of the locations open to keep things interesting, but have all of the usual vacationers gone so it isn't packed and stressful. Such a wonderful place to get away from it all. Beautiful maintained trails for walking or cross country skiing, pool and hot tub are wonderful, movies to rent, so great having a full kitchen so you don't have to go out to eat for every meal. The Rushes provides a clean, nicely maintained place to get away from it all in a duplex that is like a large condo. It is not a fancy, modern hotel, but if you just want a nice place to unwind and snuggle in this is definitely the place to do it. We haven't been up in the summer, but the reservations are almost always booked so that must be a good sign. The lake frontage is gorgeous and I know they have lots of boat rentals, etc. We just love going in the off-season!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madpug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shafer, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

We had purchased a voucher for a time share stay and selected The Rushes for it's proximity to our home in Minnesota. Close enough to drive, but far enough away to make it a getaway. It was perfect! Grounds were beautiful with the new snow we got during our stay. I took advantage of the work out room almost daily. Having it to myself each time was great. I enjoyed some of the other activities-the water exercise class was a hoot. I was the youngest one in the class and it was so much fun. Bingo was fun, the selection of craft activities was excellent too. My husband rarely left the condo and enjoyed every minute of it! Condo was clean, comfortable, roomy. They supplied everything you could possibly think of--a high chair was even in one of the closets! We enjoyed the fireplace everyday-you would never run out of the firewood they supply. We liked that quiet peacefulness of The Rushes immensely. It was just what I needed after a very long winter.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kabmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denny P, General Manager at The Rushes, responded to this review, 11 February 2015
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay. Sorry to hear your comments regarding the firewood. I will take to our wood supplier to correct that issue. See you again in the spring ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

The Rushes is a decent property although severely outdated in some aspects. With it's dusty pink jacuzzi tub and washer and dryer from the 70's you know you are not in a 5 star property. We appreciated the size of the unit, but most of the space is wasted in the master bedroom and bathroom. The bed was extremely hard and old. There was no outlet on the whole wall where the headboard was. We had to purchase an extension cord because the resort did not have any to loan out. We had problems with the jacuzzi tub, but of course it was probably installed in the late 70s or early 80s so who can be surprised.
Since March is definately not the prime season we were dissapointed the resort offers NO activities on weekends. They seem to gear everything towards the long time owners. The pool closed at 9pm which is pretty early when on vacation. Our internet cable (no WiFi) did not work and neither did our DVD player remote. So every time we wanted to pause a move we had to do it manually. Whenever we called for help the front desk's answer was "check your binder". Well we read the binder and the instructions in it didn't work. Even so it was annoying to be told by someone basically hired to help people to "check the binder" for every single question we had. If I want to do some reading on vacation it won't be a three ring binder all about the resort I am staying at.
We did appreciate the hiking trails and the nice supply of wood. We ran out one day early, but we had a fire burning pretty much the whole stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwithkaufy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

The Rushes is a GREAT place! The townhouse has an attached garage which is especially nice in the winter! The garage was stacked with enough wood for our entire week! Everything worked great and had been updated with flat panel TV's and front loading washer and dryer. It was a GREAT week and we were able to enjoy a very relaxing time which we both needed!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmasheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baileys Harbor
15.5 km away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
9.4 km away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
12.9 km away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
3.7 km away
Maxwelton Braes Lodge
Maxwelton Braes Lodge
#4 of 7 in Baileys Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
14.7 km away
The Eagle Harbor Inn
The Eagle Harbor Inn
#5 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rushes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rushes

Property: The Rushes
Address: 3014 Rushes Rd, Baileys Harbor, WI 54202-9145
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Baileys Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Baileys Harbor
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,783 - ₹ 20,357
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is a timeshare resort with 48 two bedroom condominiums with attached garages, wood burning fireplace, full kitchen, one king bed, two twin beds and a queen sofa sleeper. We have 2500 feet of shoreline on Kangaroo Lake. We also offer 4 miles of groomed cross country ski trails for hiking, snowshoeing or skiing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rushes Hotel Baileys Harbor
The Rushes Baileys Harbor, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing