We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and great view”
Review of Ihlenfeld

Ihlenfeld
Ranked #7 of 115 Restaurants in Wheeling
Price range: US$ 19 - US$ 35
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We stayed in Wilson Lodge and ate dinner and breakfast here. We weren't aware they were doing a special bujffet meal during the Festival of Lights but you can also order off the menu. When they first mentioned the price ($31.95 each) I thought that was high but then she said drinks and dessert was included and after looking at prices on the menu we decided to do the buffet. We are so glad we did! They had hand carved prime rib (which was excellent), hand carved turkey, ham, quarter chickens, salmon, pork and grits and that's just the meats. I thought it was nice they had foods that kids would eat~pizza, tater tots, chicken nuggets and mac and cheese. There was a table of wonderful salads and crusty breads, mashed potatoes, carrots and green beans, dressing and gravy. Then the desserts were to die for~boubon bread pudding, chocolate mousse, pumpkin pie, carrot cake, pumpkin cheesecake, assorted cupcakes, etc. They were all yummy! Our waitress was very attentive and we really enjoyed our meal.

1  Thank Tigercar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinPBlake, Manager at Ihlenfeld, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review! We hope to have you back soon. Have a wonderful Holiday Season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2016

Our stay at Oglebay included the breakfast buffet which is very good and has just about anything you could want. Ask for a table by the window to enjoy the view while dining.

Thank Grace619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinPBlake, Manager at Ihlenfeld, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2016

Thank you so much for the kind review of our breakfast buffet. We hope to see you back real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Very nice buffet with great service and lots of choices. Turkey with all the fixings along with prime rib, ham and salmon. Many desserts to choose from as well. We were seated over the lake with a great view. I would recommend.

Thank ohiofiremanwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinPBlake, Manager at Ihlenfeld, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Thank you for the kind review regarding our buffet. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

We ate at Ihlenfeld twice while we were at Oglebay Park recently with our adult children and grandchildren. The breakfast buffet was included with our room charge. The selections at both the dinner and breakfast buffet are fresh, excellent and delicious. There is even a shorter, easy to serve oneself table of food that appeals to children that is such a nice touch. Don't miss the dessert table! The cost of the dinner buffet was a little higher than I expected (I didn't inquire about the price in advance) but the food is really delicious. If you are lucky you will be seated in Deb's section! She's a delight! There is a lovely view from the restaurant.

Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinPBlake, Manager at Ihlenfeld, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Thank you for the wonderful review about our food and beverage offerings, and especially about our service and Deb in particular. I will be sure to share this with her. I hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Oglebay's new chef is fabulous! I had a filet and my husband ordered scallops. Both were excellent- possibly the best steak I've had! The salads dressed in the Roasted Italian dressing were delicious. Flourless chocolate cake was worth ever calorie! Know you will enjoy so give it a try!

Thank WVjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinPBlake, Director of Food and Beverage at Ihlenfeld, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review about your dining experience and our chef!
We hope to see you back real soon!

Best regards,

Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ihlenfeld? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing