We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is awesome”

Elk River Inn & Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Slatyfork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elk River Inn & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 5 Slatyfork B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 July 2015

This is a very pleasant B & B in an awesome location deep in West Virginia. We needed a two night stay in a location close to the Monongahela National Forest where we planned to have a "rest day" following some strenuous sightseeing. We had booked in February on the basis that their restaurant would be open but the owners decided to shut this for the summer omitting to forewarn us before arriving. There is not a lot in the area as alternatives so this would have been helpful.

The room was very pleasant although hot with no aircon after the hotels we had stayed in. Shower was good. Breakfast on the first day was excellent but the standard dropped a bit on the second.

The overall welcome here was very warm but I do not think they get many guests in the summer months as it is mainly a winter resort. It appeared that there was only one other couple there at the same time.

Be aware that there is no mobile signal in this area because Slatyfork is less than twenty miles from the Green Bank radio telescope north east of Cass. You can read about why in Wikipedia if you search "United States National Radio Quiet Zone" If you are surgically attached to your mobile and can't do without text etc then think twice before going here.

Room Tip: If it is hot have one with larger windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sybil_Fawlty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

The Elk River Inn was a wonderful place to stay. The food is absolutely out of this world!! Service was great as well. Lodging is close to the Rails to Trails making the visit simple to navigate. I would highly recommend this inn to anyone who wants to explore beautiful WVA.

Stayed: June 2015
Thank Gohan690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2015

I've eaten there many times over the years, but have never had the occasion to stay there until this past Fall. I'm sorry it's taken so long to send this review, because they deserve the great rating.

I've always used them as a nice dining evening out while staying up on the mountain at Snowshoe...it is a nice escape to come off of the mountain and get away from the crowds. Very quiet, relaxed atmosphere with good company, food and drink.

So I had a chance to stay at the main inn on a quick trip to the area and thought I'd give 'em a try...sooooo glad I did!!! Good price, clean room, nice great room with fireplace off the dining area for guests too. The comfortable, warm ambiance on a cold November evening was very enjoyable.

Breakfast the next morning was outstanding. Breakfast buffet served up by a wonderful lady that takes pride in her cooking, serving and hospitality. Good food choices for everyone from healthy to hearty and in between.

Take the opportunity to stay here. It is a great location for exploring Pocohantas county and all of its year 'round beauty.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JURatGNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2014

We left snowshoe on Christmas day and started having car trouble on the way down the mountain. We stopped at the Elk River Inn and fortunately they had a room available. The inn was clean and the owners and staff were very accommodating...they showed my kids to the living room and had some toys to help tame my son. That night the owner went out of her way to take me up to the local gas/grocery store so I could get some items. The next morning breakfast was great and got us ready for our drive down the mountain. We will be back, either during fishing season or ski season as the location is ideal!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the Elk River Inn for a wedding this past weekend and could not have been happier! The inn is charming and cozy and the grounds are beautiful! We stayed in The Hickory Cabin which was clean and comfortable. Mary was so helpful in accommodating us and we are so grateful for her hospitality! Joanna and Ramon were also wonderful hosts! The food was DELICIOUS! Thank you for such an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank World_map91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Elk River Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk River Inn & Cabins

Address: U.S. Highway 219, Slatyfork, WV 26291
Region: United States > West Virginia > Slatyfork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Slatyfork
Price Range: ₹ 2,892 - ₹ 9,640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Inn rooms include WiFi and are close to walking, Nordic trails, private stream access, large living room on first floor and spacious outdoor decks. Famous full breakfast with tasty starters such as homemade blueberry pancakes, breads, quiches, fresh seasonal fruit, handmade granola, cheese grits and locally roasted fresh coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elk River Inn And Cabins
Elk River Inn & Cabins Hotel Slatyfork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing