We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
12
8
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
8
5
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We attended a wedding over Labor Day weekend and stayed at one of the off site cabins rented by Elk River Inn. While we liked the location and privacy of the cabin, it was well worn and the bedding in our room was absolutely disgusting. The pillows were heavily stained, the sheets were thread bare and others in the linen closet were full of human hair. The mattress was soft, lumpy and definitely needed to be replaced.

Not wanting to cause a disturbance around the wedding celebration, we sucked it up, but would recommend anyone booking here look carefully before moving in. At $100 per night per couple, these accommodations were a real disappointment.

The wedding and reception at the inn was wonderful but we'll be glad to be in our own bed tonight.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My wife and I decided to go up to bike the Greenbriar River trail and golf at the Raven golf course...both were outstanding and well worth the drive from North Carolina. I researched places to stay and decided on ERI. Snowshoe was closed and frankly we were happy it was.
We arrived late at the Inn and found a note directing us to our room. The room had to have been cleaned by someone who knew what they were doing...it was meticulous. The mattress on the bed...not the kind you find in even higher priced hotels. It was better.
After we took our luggage in, we decided to sit on the back porch and relax with a glass of wine. What a delight that was. Quiet, secluded and surrounded by the West Virginia woods.
We found the Greenbriar Trail to be as expected....wonderful. After a full day of biking, we spent a beautiful late afternoon on the back porch again.
In the morning, you are treated to a great breakfast...nothing exotic...just a perfect meal to start the day.
Golfing at the Raven Golf course was another unexpected delight. I have been an avid golfer for 30 years and found this course to be one of the most enjoyable I have ever played. And the scenery was world class.
There is a lack of night life, but that is not what we went to Slatyfork for...we were both too tired to go out and found that the ERI back porch was much better than some bar.
We did not have an opportunity to enjoy their restaurant (it was not open when we were there) but we will on our return trip...which will be soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennisk821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Very nice quiet in. The breakfast was absolutely delicious every morning. The staff is friendly. Would be nice to have small microwave and fridge in room due to remoteness, maybe in the common area. Very clean, very nice, very affordable. Will be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripAdvis1349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I found this place when Snowshoe only had expensive three bedroom condos available. My husband, son and I just needed an affordable room for a quick ski trip. I wasn't sure what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised. We stayed in room 7 in the Inn. The beds were very comfortable and there were plenty of comfy pillows. The room was cute and clean. Breakfast (included) was delicious and filling, perfect for a day on the slopes. The only bummer was that the hot tub was out of order. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDLuvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We have stayed at Elk River many times, and are never disappointed. The prices are extremely reasonable - for only an extra 20 minute drive up the mountain to Snowshoe, you can save a ton of money for a weekend stay.
We originally were referred to the place by some locals, and on top of everything you can get a wonderful dinner at their restaurant. They have rooms enough to accomodate a couple or a group of singles, and the breakfast is always good with a few options.
As an added bonus, weather dependent, you can get some cross country skiing in, they have rentals right on their property and trails from their back door. Really like staying here ;o)
They also have cabins for other size groups.

Room Tip: Mary's Birdhouse is a cute little cabin as well...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NettyReb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews