We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
32
19
5
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
19
5
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews surrounding area kitchen supplies the river honeymoon jacuzzi cabin mountains miles beauty
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2015

We stayed at the Fort Pleasant motel and our room was clean and comfortable. We were the only ones renting a room that night and we enjoyed a pleasant evening outside at the picnic tables. Even though it is on the main road it was still rustic and quaintl. It is a great bargain and it had everything we needed. Close to a lot of attractions too.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tashina W, Manager at Appalachian Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

thanks for the review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2015

At first glance, the honeymoon cabin we rented was quite nice because we had just come off three days backpacking and any room seemed nice, but as the days passed we found more and more wrong. Firstly, there was no shower, which I found quite hard to believe, just a corner jacuzzi tub. Now the tub was nice, clean, worked well, but I have never heard of paying $500 for four nights for a place that has no shower. There was also no ironing board, or iron. A coffee maker was in the kitchen but there were no filters. We didn't realize this when we went 30 minutes to a town with a supermarket, bought coffee and milk, only to realize that we couldn't make any. We were provided with only one trash bag. In the book they state that they start you with paper towels, toilet paper, and trash bags, and if we need more we are encouraged to bring our own. There was 1.5 rolls of toilet paper, one roll paper towels, and one garbage bag. Most places would say to just come to the office and they'll provide more, but not here. They also did not provide even the basic shower soap, shampoo etc, only hand soap. The bed sheets and comforter were extremely uncomfortable and scratchy, looked to be about 20 years old. The towels were the same, they were stiff, hard, scratchy, and the edges were in shreds. The bed itself was also quite old and sank a lot, and for a honeymoon cabin, all the decorations were extremely unhoneymoon-like. The sheets were a colorful plaid like for a child, and the bed fell apart after the first night. A support for under the mattress fell out because it wasn't attached and the mattress fell through, and we had to lift it all to fix it. There was also cracked cement that went right to the outside in the bathroom, and there were ants coming in from there crawling through the bathroom wall. A crack in the window screen let in two wasps that made us terrified, however on the day the wasps got in there was no one in the office. They said they would be in the next day. They say we can reach them for emergencies by phone, however there is no cell service in the area, and they provide no house phone or emergency phone. The only wi-fi they have is right outside the office, which is a little walk away from our cabin. If we needed to look something up we waited until morning because there were no outside lights and it was too scary to walk there in the dark with the bears in the area. So if there was an emergency we would have to drive a few miles to another town to possibly get cell service. Overall, It was an ok stay for what we needed, but not for the price. They provide the absolute bare minimum and the place wasn't even all that clean, the tub was nice and there was cable TV (on a very very ancient TV).

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tashina W, Manager at Appalachian Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

Our family cabins have showers. We could have moved you to one of those. Yes the next BIG town is 30 mins away but 3 miles up the road is a store you can get all your basic needs at. Our book does state that you are provided with the basic supplies to start with and are ENCOURAGED to supply if you need more which mainly apply to the family cabins who have huge amounts of ppl but if you ask we are more than happy to give you extras. We can not control nature with wasps, flys, snakes, ect but i will assure you we have never seen a bear around our facility. We can not control our area doesnt have cell service either but just 15 minutes up the road you will. If the walk to the office which even for the farthest cabin is less than 500 yards away you can drive to front of office to obtain our free wifi. OUR PRICES ARE THE CHEAPEST IN THE AREA AND STAY THE SAME PRICE 365 DAYS A YEAR. Also we dont have cable tv it is satelite tv and our family cabins have the bigger newer tvs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2015

I stayed at one of the Appalachian lodge rooms, at Fort Pleasant. A single room is only 44.00 (before taxes). Because of the rustic outside, I was not expecting a lot, but was surprised to find a queen size bed (rooms 2 and 5 only), dish, microwave and refrigerator, and a very nice and comfortable room. It was not perfect, as there was no wifi and no instructions on what channels they subscribe to, but it was a three star room at a one star price. I did not like the step up bathroom but it was worth the extra trouble. Note: there are cabins and lodge rooms at this place.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelwriter52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tashina W, Manager at Appalachian Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

Thanks for the review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015

We visited the surrounding area and picked this place to stay. We stayed in the honeymoon cabin and had everything we needed. The main complaint we had was on the first night we were there the guests beside us were drinking and be extremely loud until 4 in the morning. We had mentioned this to management and the problem had been resolved. One other little complaint would be the bed sheets. It seemed that the bed sheets and pillows had seen better days, definitely needs to be replaced . Other than that we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tashina W, Manager at Appalachian Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

thanks for the review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2015

We booked a family cabin for 2 nights around Christmas 2014. Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much. The cabin was clean and really large, with full kitchen, spacious loft, large fireplace, and two bedrooms on the 1st floor. The owner was very friendly woman who lives across the street.
The price was 130/night, which is good for Christmas, especially if you have large party - the cabin can accommodate up to 8 people.
However, some things desperately need attention. We could not find a tea kettle and a breadboard in the kitchen, and the wood for fireplace was totally wet (not just on surface, but deep inside). I had very hard time starting and maintaining fire - the wood was giving more smoke than flame all the evening. But we enjoyed our stay anyway!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hippocampus12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tashina W, Manager at Appalachian Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2015

I'm sorry we provide the basics for a kitchen, pots, pan, plates, utensils, can opener. It would be hard to provide every lil thing most people don't use. As for the firewood, we just built a shed to put it into to keep it dry. It is provided for free of charge but no we don't provide the fire starters, lighter fluid or matches to start the fire. As for the owner living across the road, she isn't the owner of the cabins just the restaurant which is not affiliation to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews