We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent Three Nights”
Review of Stonewall Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stonewall Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

This resort is interesting. It reminds me of the place in the Dirty Dancing movie. We stayed in the "Lodge." The room was clean and sufficient. The prices reflect the amenities not the rooms in my opinion. The pool was great. We spent a lot of time there. It also has two really nice sized hot tubs which we really enjoyed. They have a nice outside fire pit area where you can make stores which was quaint.

The lake is behind the resort making for beautiful scenery. We were able to spend $15 per person and have unlimited access to all of their small water boats. They had kayaks, stand up paddle boards, canoes, paddle boats & the water tricycle bike. It was a fun and scenic way to spend an afternoon inexpensively.

We also rented a pontoon boat from the Marina. It was $135 for two hours but we enjoyed the quiet, serenity of the lake. My hubby & son enjoyed fishing and caught several blue gill & bass. We also hiked a few of the trails. That was neat too.

My only complaint was housekeeping. The cleaner came in while we were out and replaced the towels & took the trash. She didn't make the beds. I called the front desk and she said if you had anything on the bed they won't make it (I didn't.) Then she said "sometimes they don't make up the rooms if people are staying overnight." I said ok & that was that. Call me crazy but I thought they might make the bed when I'm paying $175 per night. Attached is the pic of the bed that the maid didn't make. It was how we left it that morning. Lol

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Kristen_217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,180)
There are newer reviews for Stonewall Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

Amazing and perfect for out of town guests. Many extras for guest to have fun! The facilities are superb and the staff were beyond gracious, helpful and sincere. Stonewall is a perfect wedding! venue!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank U3605OVnataliel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

A perfect place to spent time with family on river side. You have lot of activities to enjoy which start from morning walk to bike trails & water sports. Buy a day pass to enjoy all activities. A perfect place to be with family.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hardeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We booked our room online and got a great price. The room was very nice. The restaurants and bar had great food and service. We rented a Craig Cat at the marina. A lot of fun. Beautiful lake. We also enjoyed the golf course and the hiking trails. We really want to go back and possibly rent a cottage for our next visit. They looked awesome. They also had a nice campground, if you like camping. The lady at the marina told us that you could bring your own boat and get a slip free of charge there, as long as you were a guest.

Room Tip: we got a river view room with a king bed. It was very nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Beverly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

There are plenty of outdoor activities to keep you busy for a weekend stay. I am not a golfer so I have no comments or review to offer on the golf course. The lake is large and plenty of areas to explore in a kayak, canoe, paddle board, etc. There are lots of hiking trails and areas to bike as well. I did not see any "breathtaking" views on the trails, but they were still enjoyable walks in the woods. All were easy as well.
The hotel was nice, nothing spectacular. The food was good as was the service.
I'm not sure I would want to stay any longer than two or three days as the setting is pretty remote.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roanoke
10.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Weston
10.0 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 3 in Weston
144 reviews
31.5 km away
Days Inn & Suites Sutton Flatwoods
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 km away
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
#2 of 7 in Buckhannon
309 reviews
39.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Garden Inn
#1 of 3 in Clarksburg
436 reviews
38.9 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gassaway/Sutton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Resort

Address: 940 Resort Dr, Roanoke, WV 26447-8469
Region: United States > West Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range: ₹ 10,450 - ₹ 17,460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonewall Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonewall Resort combines the pristine surroundings of Stonewall Jackson Lake with all the comforts of home. Here, in the midst of lush, rolling hills and tranquil lake waters, the beautiful Adirondack-style lodge offers a refreshing perspective, state-of-the-art conference facilities and a luxury resort experience. From the resort's own Mtn. Laurel Spa, 374-slip boat marina and award-winning Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Course, guests can enjoy a wide range of recreational activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TravelClick so you can book your Stonewall Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Hotel Roanoke
Stonewall Resort Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing