We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's okay”
Review of Avalon Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paw Paw
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avalon Resort
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I have traveled to many nudist resorts in the past 12 years and I would rate Avalon as average. They claim to be open year-round, but the aquatics center is only open weekends during the winter. The food is okay, but over priced. The rooms are also over priced and of very low quality. The people are indeed friendly, but the staff has a tendency to lash out at guests and members. Overall, it is a nice play to visit...just remember your checkbook to afford everything.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank colormecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JodysHusband, Web Master at Avalon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

We are indeed open year round on weekends. In the winter months, the indoor pool and lodge rooms are closed during weekdays as a cost savings measure. Since your visit last August, we have been adjusting the menus, and pricing. This is an on-going process. This is posted on our web site, in our newsletter, and those making reservations on the phone are informed of any services that might not be available during their stay. As for staff lashing out at guests, I do hope management was immediately informed. If not, there is little we can do to resolve such issues. I do hope you will give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

Avalon is a friendly clothing optional Resort. The woods are beautiful, the facilities are clean, the hot tubs are relaxing, the fireplace in the lodge is toasty in the fall, the casino is fun, the bartender is more fun. We really like going to Avalon because we feel comfortable, and relaxed, the people are 'down to earth" and easy going. We will be regulars.

Room Tip: Condos are much nicer than lodge rooms and pets are allowed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

My husband and I are members. We signed up for a membership on our first visit. It is a wonderful place/community of people who are friendly and really care about each other. It is clean and will make you feel at home and very relaxed. We highly recommend it. Try a free day pass from their website.

Room Tip: We stayed at the cabin and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bullet2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful environment and friendly people, and found the facilities in excellent condition. It was disappointing to find the advertised dining room closed the entire time, without advance notice. Bit we were glad we made the trip. and plan to return someday.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lodge -- most convenient to both indoor and outdoor pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woodchuck28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JodysHusband, General Manager at Avalon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

The front desk personnel have been instructed to inform guests staying during the week, that the dining room is open from Friday lunch and dinner through Sunday dinner. Obviously, they did not with this guest. We will re-instruct the front desk staff, and make a change to the web site to reinforce this. We apologize for the inconvenience but thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

My husband and I were looking for something different in a relaxing getaway weekend for the two of us. We had never been to a clothes optional resort and decided to give it a try. Despite some initial reservations, we both really enjoyed it. Within 30 minutes of walking around the resort sans clothing I couldn't believe how natural and free it felt. Everyone wasa very respectful and the staff was excellent. Great food and great accommodations at a reasonable prices. We'll definitely add this to our list of getaways in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Avalon Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Resort

Address: 223 Avalon Rd, Paw Paw, WV 25434-9006
Region: United States > West Virginia > Paw Paw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Paw Paw
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon is nestled in a lovely valley in wild & wonderful West Virginia. As soon as you arrive, your tension and stress from the outside world begins to melt away. Whether you sit on the green grassy lawn or play volleyball or tennis, you will find your daily cares slipping away. Or you may decide to sun by the pool or soak in the spa to begin your relaxation. Don’t forget to check out our Facebook page for resort specials and activities ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Paw Paw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing