We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice room and pretty loose casino”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nitro
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“nice room and pretty loose casino”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

My husband had a business meeting in Charleston, W.Va. and booked a room here. We found the bed to be very comfortable and the room above average. Our room was very quiet and there wasn't any problem with noise. They have a great buffet breakfast with a chef that will cook eggs, omlets the way you want.
The casino was pretty loose with the slots, but video poker was awful. They don't have the usual kinds of video poker, like bonus, double, double bonus, etc. that most casinos have.
I won a couple hundred dollars the day we came, but lost it the next day. My husband won 400 dollars shortly before we left. So, all in all it isn't too bad to play there.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and got one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    118
    42
    15
    25
See reviews for
63
179
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling, West Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Very nice non-smoking Hotel/casino. Walls are a little thin can hear noice from other rooms. My room said it has a "mountain view" accually a view of the parking lot and a large hill behind hotel. The Keurig coffee maker in the room was a nice surprise. Hotel and casino is very clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The food in the resturant was amazing and very resonably priced. Free hot breakfast in the morning was also very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

This was the third trip that I made to the casino in the last two months. The hotel is nice, very clean but you share your room with anyone outside your door, walls are paper thin!! The casion pit boss named Tim was a jerk! My husband, was playing 4 card poker, table read limit was $300, he bet it that way but apparently there is a smaller limit on the bonus ante, dealer didn't catch it when he dealt and pit boss Tim knows NOTHING about customer service. My reccomendations, go to the Greenbrier, they know about customer service, this place apparently knows nothing in regards to it!!

Room Tip: Ask for one with no one around, walls are paper thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ella1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Mardi Gras Casino/Resort is nice for a weekend getaway. Enjoyed the Greyhound races the smoke-free atmosphere in the casino. Complementary breakfast was very good with made-to-order omelets.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nitro
1.0 km away
Wyndham Garden Cross Lanes Charleston
1.5 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Cross Lanes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
13.8 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
16.4 km away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mardi Gras Casino & Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mardi Gras Casino & Resort

Property: Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
Address: 1 Greyhound Dr, Nitro, WV 25313-1474
Region: United States > West Virginia > Nitro
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nitro
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,054 - ₹ 10,787
Hotel Class:4 star — Mardi Gras Casino & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Mardi Gras Casino & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mardi Gras Casino And Resort
Mardi Gras Hotel Nitro
Mardi Gras Casino & Resort WV

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing