We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Morgan
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Morgantown
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is a decent hotel with a great location if you want to be close to bars and restaurants. The other great feature is the hotel's restaurant and lounge on the 8th floor, which serves very good food and has a patio with excellent views of Morgantown (when you're standing up at least). The lobby bar is also a nice place. Rooms are a bit dated but clean, functional and quite large. Prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vorteks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    81
    48
    25
    7
See reviews for
66
55
21
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times, usually with my fiance. However, on April 13, 2011, I stayed one night by myself. I never had any previous issues but after last night's stay I will NEVER EVER set foot in this hotel again. Nor will my mother and daughter on their subsequent visits to WV. Valet parking is free with the room and as I overheard another guest tell the staff that the lot was full when I checked in, I opted to have them valet. Upon check out this morning, after waiting for TEN MINS for someone to show up and calling for anyone to help, a girl ("Jess") walks in the front door and steps around the desk. No apology for being out of the building and not manning the desk, no apology EVER in the entire ensuing conversation. Just rudeness and smirking. I told her I was checking out and I needed my car and handed her my ticket. She asked my room number & description of my car. I told her, she handed me my keys. I asked who was going to bring me the car, she said no one. Really. That's what she said. Then she told me she wasn't licensed so I'd have to get it myself. I started getting upset as I told her I had no idea where my car even WAS and she showed me a map and pointed to the main lot but had no idea which space number. I said had I known there'd be no one to actually valet my car at checkout, I'd have parked it myself so I'd at least know where I parked! She kept interrupting me and talking over me, saying valet wasn't even included in my rate and that she wasn't about to go and drive my car with no license. Missing the entire point as absolutely she would not have been driving MY car with no license but that SOMEONE should have been there as valet IS INCLUDED in the rate! When I'd had enough of her rude behavior and smirking and told her I didnt even know where the lot WAS, not to mention I had my BAGS to carry, "Jess" THREW the  map at me and ACTUALLY said "There's the map. Sort it out yourself!" Verbatim! I asked her if she was SERIOUS and she smirked and said "Yep!" To top it off, my car WASN'T parked in the main lot, it was in a lot BEHIND the hotel! This is so beyond unacceptable behavior, I can't even TELL you and they will NEVER have my business again. Such a shame to treat ANY guest that poorly in the service industry but a REPEAT customer??? Business must really be good.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MMMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtdale
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I would just like to say this place is really nice. It is an old Hotel, but made up really nice. Perfect night stay. Would definitely stay again. Strongly recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are really nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

An old hotel which is so different from everything else around.How lucky we were to find it.The lobby is beautiful and the rooms are large and clean.A bit old fashioned but that is the charm.
The restaurant on the 8 th floor is beautiful and reminded me of England. The food was very good. They also have a lovely outdoor patio up here ,so pretty but it was too cool to sit out.
The front staff should have promoted the restaurant more as it was very good.He also forgot to tell me we had a complimentary breakfast but I found it.
All in all a hotel that needs a bit of change but more for those of us who want to relax.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsimonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I stayed at the Morgan on March 22, 2012. It's conveniently located in the center of town, near many restaurants, pubs and shops and a short walk from the Monongehela (did I spell that right?) River. It's also next to the Mon Arts Center which has interesting work of local artists displayed. The lobby will thrill those who appreciate real wood, crafted with pride. It's a grand place on a small scale. My room was serviceable, but just that. I requested a room "up high", and got the fourth floor. Facing the wall of another building. Request a room in floors above 6, and facing the river. The bed was fine and the room very spacious. Three things I wished for: 1. a chair to sit in for reading. I found the love seat very uncomfortable. 2. An updated desk chair. Mine was frayed and did not work properly 3. Real glass glasses, not plastic. The plastic dragged the whole feel of the place down to "Super 8" level. But I'm probably too picky.

The staff is terrific, and drinks at the bar are a steal, for a hotel in a city center. I got a hefty draft of the excellent regional brew, Yuengling Lager for $3.50, and a bartender who stayed open a bit late so that I could get my beer. The desk staff was beyond wonderful. I discovered at 9:30 PM that there was a problem with the printer in the business center which was going to have major implications for a presentation I had to give the next morning. The young woman at the desk -I wish I could remember her name- was so kind and so helpful. She re-configured my paper page by page so that it would work with their front desk computer software and thus be printed there. She saved my presentation, and did it with good humor.

My complaints are relatively minor. I enjoyed my stay. When I return to Morgantown I will stay at the Morgan again rather than one of the faceless chain hotels nearby.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobofBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
0.3 km away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#11 of 25 in Morgantown
259 reviews
0.7 km away
Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place
2.5 km away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#7 of 25 in Morgantown
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#5 of 25 in Morgantown
644 reviews
3.4 km away
Euro-Suites Hotel
Euro-Suites Hotel
#10 of 25 in Morgantown
306 reviews
3.0 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Morgan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Morgan

Property: Clarion Hotel Morgan
Address: 127 High St, Morgantown, WV 26505-5412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Morgantown
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,333 - ₹ 10,794
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Morgan 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Morgan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Morgantown
Clarion Morgantown
Morgantown Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing