We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“chickin pox!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Certificate of Excellence
Summersville, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“chickin pox!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

me and my husband were staying in the hotel we thought it would be a good idea to go to the hot tub when we got up the next morning my husband had bumps and his back was swollen from the jets. after going to the doc the next morning they asked if we had been around or been near someone with something we "said we were in a hot tub over the weekend" tunes out he has shingles and i had chicken poxes and we got them from the hot tub.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vivian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    74
    19
    7
    8
See reviews for
87
42
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed at the FFI in Morgantown four times in September and October because we have season tickets for WVU football. Yes, the rooms are more expensive during the football games but this is true of every hotel in Morgantown (and every big college town) during football game weekends.

This is a relatively new property but management is keeping it up well. The hotel was always clean and in good repair. There is a very good continental breakfast available each morning. We received a local newspaper at our door, even on Sunday. Very well located with several restaurants and stores right outside the hotel.

I especially want to compliment the staff at this property. They were always friendly and welcoming during each of our stays. We had no problems, but I felt that if we did they would be handled immediately. See you next year!

Room Tip: We prefer to get a room with two queens even when it is just two of us. The king bedded rooms are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TSUAGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ont
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stopped here on our way to South Carolina. This is a nice new property located in an area with many new retail outlets as well as several chain restaurants. It is easily reached from I-75 and once in the area everything seems quite convenient.
The staff were very nice and willing to please. The room was clean and quiet but modestly equipped. So help me I can't understand why Marriott, a large American firm, supplies shampoo made in China. There are US companies that make shampoo. The towels were cheap and rough. Breakfast was not fancy but OK. This facility could be improved with a few simple steps.

Room Tip: I paid less for a Marriott Courtyard on the same trip. To me this hotel priced on the high side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starsky13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

I stayed here once a while back for business getting our standard corporate rate charge and was very satisfied. The only complaint that I have is that when I went to make some return reservations all of a sudden the room was about $60 a night more expensive because of either Mountainfest or football games which they felt enabled them to charge outrageous rates because hotel rooms were in such high demand.

This scenario left a bad taste in my mouth so I have hence been staying elsewhere and I have no plans to return in the near future!! For some short term $$ gains (because they could) they lost a long term customer (because I could).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark19591977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonardtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Being a parent of a WVU student gives you a specially discounted rate. The rooms are really nice, beds are firm, but pillows actually hurt my neck. I've asked for new ones, but they're all the same. I usually bring my own king-sized ones from home. The Fairfield is close to everything, from shopping malls to every restaurant type you can think of; there's a Cracker Barrel in the same parking lot, as well as eight others on the way out, from an Olive Garden to a from a Red Lobsters...not to mention a gas station at the base of the hill. The Marriott's Fairfield Inn has exceptional service personnel at the front desk and also in the FREE breakfast bar area in the mornings. You get several different free newspapers, access to the indoor pool, the jacuzzi/whirlpool, and a small, but entirely adequate gym. Their continental breakfast is in a lounge with tables and chairs, armchairs, sofa, flat screen TV, etc. You make your own Begian waffles, toast three different kinds of bread, two or three types of bagels with cream cheese, butter or margarine, Jimmy Dean sausage and egg biscuits that need to be microwaved; yogurts, four kinds of breakfast cereals, hard-boiled eggs, three kinds of juices and two kinds of milk, and the list goes on; not bad for a free continental breakfast. They have hot water for tea, freshly-made coffee, either leaded or unleaded, fresh fruit, including red and green apples and bananas. Checking in and checking out is a breeze!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
3.2 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
5.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#1 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
4.9 km away
Waterfront Place Hotel
Waterfront Place Hotel
#6 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Courtyard Morgantown
Courtyard Morgantown
#7 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
5.0 km away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#8 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
3.7 km away
Hampton Inn Morgantown
Hampton Inn Morgantown
#4 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
Address: 161 Lewis Dr, Morgantown, WV 26501-2445 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown Granville)
Region: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Morgantown
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,191 - ₹ 10,283
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Morgantown, WV hotel is close to West Virginia University and Mountaineer Field, and steps from shops and restaurants in University Town Centre. Our Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown Granville is also near Mylan Park, Coopers Rock, Prickets Fort, and the beautiful Monongahela River. Start your day with our hot complimentary breakfast, relax with a swim in our heated indoor pool, or work out in our state-of-the-art fitness center. We look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Marriott so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown Granville Hotel Morgantown
Fairfield Inn And Suites Morgantown Granville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing