We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“the best mountain weekend with friends!”
other travellers have booked this property
Mountaintop chalet with majestic views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mountaintop chalet with majestic views
View from the deck Mighty Wind Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Mountaintop chalet with majestic views
View from the deck
Mighty Wind Lodge
Sunset 10-18-13
Custom Stone BBQ pit w/ spectacular views
Autumn 10-18-13
Fall sky 10-18-13
Front entrance
Mama bear and 3 cubs
Indoor stone fireplace & outdoor stone fire pit
View from side deck
Main living area and kitchen
Bedroom with two queens and couch
Fully equipped kitchen
Great room
Firepit on beautiful custom stone patio
Living room and indoor woodburning fireplace
Master suite
Master suite with private bath and balcony
Master bath with jacuzzi tub
The red bear keeping watch over the cabin
Bedroom with queen bed
Living area of separate apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Mathias, West Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
robrien66...
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
“the best mountain weekend with friends!”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

a group of friends and I wanted to escape DC for the weekend and enjoy the fall weather out in the mountains. we hit the jackpot with this house!! our visit was too short. the drive there at night was dark and spooky which fit the halloween weekend perfectly. we had no idea what kind of views we were in for when the sun rose the next morning. the pictures do not do it justice. it was breathtaking!! we spent the whole day outside at the fire pit, cooking on the grill, hiking through the woods, tossing a football, we even played a game of wiffle ball in the yard (it was big enough for a full size field!). the kitchen was great for cooking! especially for a group of us. the entire house was kept in pristine condition and the beds were very comfortable especially the sleep number i got to sleep on in the master bedroom! i would HIGHLY recommend this house for anyone looking for a quick weekend getaway. it was so fun to go with a group of friends and just enjoy the weekend together playing games and being outside enjoying the views. we will definitely be back!! maybe in the winter when there is some snow!
Linda was also fantastic! she was easily accessible via email and answered all our questions quickly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennaLynn...
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Clean, Beautiful and Gorgeous Views”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Mighty Wind Lodge Oct 2015 and the views were stunning! Going in the fall is amazing - the trees were gorgeous. We hung around the chalet for the duration of our stay. The chalet was clean and tidy with little notes posted around to help guide us (so cute and helpful!). There were plenty of clean towels and linens and we loved that there was complimentary water and condiments in the fridge. It's also really amazing to have wood provided as we had to use the indoor fire place twice during our stay due to cooler temperatures. The space is a good size for 2 people (didn't feel too big) but you could definitely fit many more people than that comfortably. The owner Linda is speedy and friendly to deal with and provides a very helpful document outlining everything to expect while there and interesting places to visit. We would really recommend this place to anyone who would like a comfortable getaway to enjoy nature, beautiful scenery, hiking and cozy relaxation inside once you're all worn out from being outside. We really enjoyed our stay and really don't have anything negative to say about the experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views and Fireplace
Liked least: Due to visiting in the Fall it was a bit cool inside
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherry763
Thurmont, Maryland
1 review
“The mountain top view was breathtaking and the house was well equipped and lovely”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The house was ideally located to get away from the city but not be too far from DC. The immediate vicinity of the house was great for walks and the house was well located for hiking at Lost River State Park, Dolly Sods and Spruce Knob. The house was well provisioned and spacious with great mountain views. We hope to go back next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice & quiet place on the mountain top!”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is a very nice quiet place on top of a mountain. Booked this for my sons, daughter in laws, grandaugher, my Mother, husband & I for a long weekend together. Plenty of room for all of us. Beds were very comfortable. Plenty of water pressure in the showers The house is very clean and well maintained inside and out. Wonderful view. We took advantage of the large fire pit. Roasted hot dogs, made smores and star gazed the evening away with my family. Very relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outside fire pit
Liked least: Upstairs shower
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palur
Brandon, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent views of the mountain ranges”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A phenomenal location, with serene atmosphere. Far from the madding crowd! Words cannot justify the beauty of the place. House was well stocked, and very convenient. The rattle snake trophy gave me sleepless nights though!
Our family had a great time overall. Waking up to beautiful views was very relaxing.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing