We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice family getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Resort at Glade Springs
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daniels
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice family getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We (myself, my husband, and 4 year old twins) traveled to the Resort at Glade Springs in the middle of February and had a wonderful time.

We stayed in the Inn in a junior suite. Although it was called a junior suite, it was a large one bedroom suite with doors that closed between the living and sleeping area (which is great if you have small children that go to bed early). The bedroom area was a bit cramped with the king bed, but the living area was quite large. The room had a microwave, refrigerator, working fireplace, and large jetted tub. It was quite nice.

Breakfast was included in our package. It was a typical hotel buffet - nothing spectacular, but decent. We dined at Glade's Grill (the more upscale/formal restaurant) one night and had a good meal in a nice environment. We also ate at Bunker's (the sports bar type place), which was good for what it was and perfect for families with kids.

The resort is fairly spread out, so we made frequent use of the shuttle (which always came immediately when requested). The leisure center, although not a sparkling new facility, was very nice offering a lot to do. We only made use of the indoor pool, which is great for families with children (zero entry pool with a large shallow end). There were also several lanes for swimming laps and a hot tub.

We also used the kids' club for a Kids' Night Out one night. It was reasonably priced ($30 for the first child, $10 for each add'l - includes dinner). The kids' club is a nice facility with plenty to do. The kids were taken out for pizza, made use of the leisure center, and played lots of games. My kids had a good time.

Our main reason for coming was to ski (we got the ski for free package, which was a good deal). Thankfully, we picked the one weekend this winter that there was actually snow! Winterplace is a smaller ski resort, but was perfect for our family. We put our kids in ski school for one afternoon and they really liked it. We saw the instructors on the bunny hill the next day and they were very nice to our kids - even helping them out a bit, even though they weren't in class. And having the shuttle between Glade Springs and Winterplace was very nice for our family because while my husband wanted to ski all day - my kids could only last a few hours and they loved riding the bus home.

All in all, we had a very nice trip and have talked about coming back to try out all the summer activities.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dushman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    370
    130
    67
    44
See reviews for
487
324
24
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gautier, Mississippi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Recently all of our family visited The Resort at Glade Springs to snow tube and ski. We stayed in a villa which was an adequate accomodation for the eleven of us. The children enjoyed the leisure center swimming and we all enjoyed bowling. It certainly is family friendly. The package that we had provided a full breakfast each morning as well as lift tickets to Winterplace Ski Resort. There were a few issues with the condition of the villa but they were recified in a satisfactory manner. Overall it was a great experience.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretchen2129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Arrived on a Friday late afternoon, much better than at night since we don't like night driving in mountains. However, even if you plan to arrive at night, it's a much easier drive than to Snowshoe. Checkin went smoothly. Room ready, just as expected. Brought snacks, but decided to go to Bunker bar/restaurant-good idea, since food is very well priced with generous portions and great quality-as in sirloin used for giant hamburger. Bowled afterward at leisure center, $ 15/person for 2 hours or you can pay by the game. No rental fee for shoes.
Next day, had breakfast, included with room deal, then skied at Winterplace. Shuttle available to and from mountain, but we drove since we had our own boots and skis (I'm sure they could have taken these on shuttle, but we didn't know how long we'd be skiing since rain was predicted). Food at Winterplace is mediocre at best. Bring a picnic/sandwich. This is second time skiing there, there was sufficient snow to ski as much as we wanted. Before numerous novice skiers, but most are very polite, very few aggressive skiers there, which is why we love it.
Returned to
Glade Springs resort, had lovely dinner at grill, prix fixe menu, had dessert in bar with fireplace. A guitar player just happened to be there, playing for his friend's birthday. No words to describe the incredible range of songs and skillful acoustic guitar playing. The resort should have entertainment/local talent every weekend-did not ask if they ever did.
Another breakfast next day, check out efficient, but desk staff very eager to hear about our stay and activities. They treat you like family here. You should go-but not too many of you-we like it just like it is!

Room Tip: Bring earplugs if the sound of heater blower kicking on bothers you. King size bed takes up most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed at Glade Springs in a house, Chestnut Hill Cottages. We have four familes, for a total of 8 adults and 8 children. This cottage was perfect. Nice, spacious rooms and since we rented all the rooms, we upgraded to get the living spaces & kitchen. We had plenty of room and could have held many more. The resort itself is very nice and accommodating. They activities are many and the children and adults a like had many fun things to choose from. We came there to ski at Winterplace, which was also very nice. We are already planning a trip back there next year. Everyone in our party couldn't quit talking about how nice the resort is and about how many activities that are included in the room rate, from the arcade, to the bowling alley, to the indoor pool, tennis, and basketball there was never a dull moment. Not to mention the free breakfast for everyone in our party and the free ski lift tickets for the adults. Loved this place!

Room Tip: Use the online availability search to find a room that is right for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinity, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

If you desire a full anemities stay and top value and service while staying in Wild and Wonderful West Virginia, look no further. We have stayed here yearly for family ski trips and have never been dissapointed. We have stayed in the villas, cottages, executive suites as well and have been pleased with them all. Our children have enjoyed the addition of the Leisure center with the very large pool, bowling alley and arcade too.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holly t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daniels
15.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
9.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
15.8 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Courtyard Beckley
Courtyard Beckley
#5 of 14 in Beckley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
7.1 km away
Sleep Inn Beaver-Beckley
39.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Glade Springs? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Glade Springs

Property: The Resort at Glade Springs
Address: 255 Resort Dr, Daniels, WV 25832-9046
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Daniels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daniels
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,724 - ₹ 15,234
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Resort at Glade Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort at Glade Springs is a full service destination resort offering travelers a memorable mountain escape where they can enjoy a variety of accommodations, meeting facilities, outdoor adventures and recreational options while decompressing and being themselves. Its’ ideal Southern West Virginia setting provides the total package of outdoor mountain fun, world class golf, skiing, equestrian, tennis and spa services that offers great value and surpasses expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Resort at Glade Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Glade Springs Hotel Daniels
Hotel At Glade Springs
At Glade Springs Daniels
Glade Springs Resort West Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing