We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Loved It”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The reviews here are accurate so I'll save you time. Great place, wonderful hosts, excellent breakfast. Right in town so many things are in walking distance. Appreciated that it was not endowed with small breakable nick-nacks everywhere. Hard to find anything bad about this place! Relive history firsthand here. Here you experience Charles Town!

Room Tip: The Shenandoah Room has a nice "sun room" (eastern exposure) to allow you to "spread...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarpeDiem45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
173
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I must start out by saying, I am not one to try new things. I read many reviews of this bed and breakfast on Trip Advisor and started to believe this place has to be for real!!:) My mom and I arrived for our Mother's Day getaway weekend on May 12th. We were greated by the lovely innkeepers and they gave us a historical tour of their home. Being a fourth grade teacher...I ate up all their facts. That evening we went to see "Fox on the Fairway" at the Old Opera House..a must if you are in town..their plays are amazing!!:) We came back to our room...which we chose to stay in the Cooper Beach Suite and settled in for the night..of course I had to take a bath in their unbelievable tub...it was like a piece of heaven. In the morning, our breakfast was served on the private screened in porch that is attached to our suite. After two nights and lovely coversation with the innkeepers..I felt we were family and didn't want to leave. Before checking out...I made reservations for next year on Mother's Day. This is really a hidden secret...but I sure am glad...I let the cat out of the bag...Make this your stay and you will be pleased!!:)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Churchville, Md
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife an I had a one night romantic getaway here last Sat. Donn & Marie Davis
have a lovely restored home with a minimalist decor that takes you back to its civil war dating. They offered some interesting bits of its history and have pictures and artifacts around.
We stayed in a luxury suite on the first floor (The Copper Beech Suite). It had a huge jacuzzi in an alcove of the room, a fireplace and a wonderfully comfortable king size bed.
The breakfast was as special as the home and was offered in our room, on the screened porch or in the dining room with other guests at a time of our choice. We always enjoy chatting with others so we chose the DR.
The Davis' could not have been more warm and welcoming. We felt so comfortable in their home and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The Copper Beech Suite is a sure bet. It is the only one we saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevemd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, France
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We had such a special time at the Carriage Inn in Charles Town! Donn and Marie Davis, the innkeepers of the Carriage Inn, are such a friendly and helpful couple who love their guests and give the greatest of care to all the details. Each guest is treated like a good friend! The Carriage Inn is immaculate, historically authentic, and Donn prepares a wonderful and varied breakfast. The Sunrise Room was large, bright and welcoming. The bed was very comfortable! All rooms are well-appointed. Cakes, teas and coffee were available at all times. I heartily recommend the Carriage Inn as a getaway!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfcmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The innkeepers were lovely people, and the house was beautiful, historic, and well appointed! We couldn't have been more pleased!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
1.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
8.2 km away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 km away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
809 reviews
10.0 km away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
289 reviews
8.2 km away
Hillbrook Inn
Hillbrook Inn
#1 of 6 in Charles Town
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 417 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414-1077
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,979 - ₹ 14,936
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a National Register of Historic Places site, The Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast, with seven rooms and suites, is the perfect place for your relaxing getaway, "close to home" vacation, or romantic weekend away! Business Travelers will receive special care including flexible breakfast times, high-speed wireless internet, and a "no charge" cancellation policy. Nearby attractions include Harpers Ferry National Battlefield Park and Antietam National Battlefield. Antique shops, great restaurants, and Charles Town Races and Slots are within easy walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Hotel Charles Town
Carriage Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing