We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located and nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Charles Town
Reviewed 1 May 2011

My wife stayed at this hotel because it was near the Charles Town race track and was much closer and cheaper than a Quility Suites we had stayed at twice before. This hotel is conveniently located to the race track and a lot of restaurants. We just walked to breakfast the next morning.

There are 2 things we want when we use a hotel - comfortable beds and a hot shower with good water pressure. We got that plus a clean room. Vickie (the office manager was nice).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VirginiaTraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking time to share a review about our hotel. We are happy to know you enjoyed our friendly staff. We take great pride in exceeding guest expectations. We understand that you have many options in the marketplace, and are pleased that you have made Americas Best Value Inn your premiere choice for lodging.

We look forward to another opportunity to service your future lodging needs.


Regards,
Shirish-Owner
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2010

Upon check in the receptionist was very nice. When we got to our room there were not enough towels. Went to front desk and asked for some, said she would bring some right over. We never did see the towels. When we turned the hot water in the sink there was not any. Turned hot water on in tub to see if we could get hot water sooner. Was able to get luke warm water in the sink, but could never get any hot water in the shower. We were unable to use the shower. When we checked out in the morning went to front desk to tell them there was no hot water and there was not even anyone at the desk. We will definintely cross this off our list which makes me sad because in the past 10 years we have stayed here several times and no complaints, but not willing to chance it again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DisappointedWinthrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us why the hot water did not meet your expectations. We wish to address your needs and provide the best solution available to resolve your issue as soon as possible. We will further evaluate how we can prevent this problem from occurring again in the future.

Please accept our sincerest apology for any trouble or inconvenience we have caused you. Once again, we appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer. Please call me directly for a discount on a future stay.

Yours sincerely,

Shirish-Owner
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

The key machine did not work so we both couldn't leave the roomat the same time. The door had been kicked in and the frame was still broken. Could not lock the door securely. A/c did not work properly and it never cooled down below 80. The beds had been slept in and the linen had hair all over it, There were giant cobwebs all around the ceiling.The walls were nasty and in one place looked like someone had spit tobacco juice on the wall and just let it run down. There were places that needed painting and holes around the wall covers. The bathroom light globe was full of dead bugs and the shower curtain and tub were filthy. After explaining all this to the manager he was only willing to refund $20 of the original $99. The clientele that I saw were of the savory sort and we had to prop a chair against the door to feel somewhat safe. We never recieved a room key. The ice bucket looked as if an auto mechanic with oily, greasy hands had handled it. All of this may sound impossible, but let me assure you this was a nightmare of a room and hotel. There is more but I am sure you get the picture by now. We would not have stayed but it was 12:30 am and most of the surrounding hotels were full. We had reservations for the next night which we cancelled. Please take the time to view the pics we took of the room and hotel before you decide to try this place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mesh1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

I just recently stayed in your Charlestown location hotel, to visit the races. I want to make a point in how disapointed my girlfriend and I were with our stay. When we first arrived we felt very welcomed. On our way to our room, the lights in the hall were out, making it very difficulto to find our way in the wet rain. When we got to our room, we noticed there was not fridge. We were not informed of this, and had beverages that needed to keep cold. So, despite the misunderstanding we went to the ice machine to fill up the hotel ice bin, but we found the ice maching was not operating correctly for the whole hotel, leaving no ice. When we asked about no ice, she said to return in a few hours it may be fixed. At this point it was too late. At the first attempt to our bathroom, the toilet did not work. We called for maitence and they brought us the plundger to unplunge it, even though we had never clogged it. We still could not get it to work, so a lady came to assist. She was very polite, but did no help. After arriving back from the casino the toilet still did not work. We called the front desk and requested a new room. The room, was at the opposite end of the hotel, when there were vacant rooms next store. We had to repack all our belongings at midnight to make this change of rooms. The new room, to our surprise, had a fridge. We specically made a point to have a fridge said the rooms did not have any, and the only fridge was in the lobby. After we settled in the new room, the beds were not suitable. There were dozens of hair spread everywhere, as if the sheets were not changed in months. We felt most comfortable on top of the covers, and were not able to use the pillows either. Despite all the mishaps of the long day, we decided to just go to bed. This would have been a lot simpler if the hotel's spouting was maintained. Throughout the whole night we were constantly woken by a very loud and unpleasant sound of a broken gutter. The doors were duct-taped. The whole room was wet in the morning due to the rain. We tried to bring this to the attention of the lady at the front desk as we were checking out, but she simply did not care. This was by far our worst experience in a hotel ever. We hope that this note will fix some things so nobody will have to go throught the sames things we hade to, and ruin their get away.
-Thanks

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheTravelerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

duct tape on every door, police tape on stairwell, man smoking pot on stairwell, sheets yellow,

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank deertracka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
7.2 km away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
282 reviews
3.1 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
13.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
108 reviews
9 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town

Address: 807 Willow Spring Dr, Charles Town, WV 25414-4440 (Formerly Knights Inn - Charles Town)
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Charles Town
Price Range: ₹ 3,694 - ₹ 5,478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn of Charles Town, WV, located in eastern West Virginia. Charles Town is less than five miles from the Virginia and Maryland borders. This town was founded by Charles Washington, brother of George Washington, in 1780. Our hotel is conveniently located near the famous Harpers Ferry National Park where many great events took place, and one of the best local attractions to visit. We are within walking distance of the American Military University, Jefferson County Museum, and Jefferson Memorial Hospital. Improve your handicap by playing a round of golf at Locust Hill Golf Course. Local restaurants include Shu Chen Restaurant, Mediterranean Cafe, and Applebee's Neighborhood Grill.Our pet friendly hotel is the ideal place to stay when visiting historical Charles Town. Wake up and enjoy our free continental breakfast served daily, catch up on current events and local news while enjoying a cup of coffee in our seating area. Take advantage of our laundry facility. The Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races offers free pre-scheduled shuttle service available all day to our guests. Stay connected with wireless high-speed Internet access available in our lobby area and select rooms. A peaceful night awaits you in one of our well equipped guest room with amenities including a coffeemaker, satellite TV with HBO, radio, hairdryer, desk with lamp, table and chairs, and free wake-up service. A microwave and mini-fridge may be available upon request. At Americas Best Value Inn Charles Town, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town Hotel Charles Town
Knights Inn Charles Town
Charles Town Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing