We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Ambrae House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ambrae House
Boonsboro, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Thank you Lisa and Gary for a memorable anniversary. You went above and beyond. The breakfast was tasty and of generous proportions. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a bed and breakfast that is clean, nicely decorated, and provides nearly everything you need other than clothing. Soaps and shampoos in the rooms, you don't need to go anywhere if your looking for a tasty lunch, dinner, or in need of a drink. We will be back in the summer!

Room Tip: The chablis, offers a queen bed whereas the other two rooms have King beds. All rooms have jacuzzi t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkhose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

My roommate from college and her sister and I stayed all night here and were delighted with the attention, service and cleanliness of the Ambrae House. The owner went out of his way to guide us as to where to go for other services such as spa and to accommodate us. The place was very clean and the service super. We had a great time and would highly recommend this establishment. The breakfast was fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

My husband and I did a quick anniersary overnight stay here last weekend... What a gem! Altho the reviews of it being a bit loud (st traffic) were accurate, I brought ear plugs and it was no problem... you should also note most of the other inns are on the same main drag this one was on, so all things being equal this shouldn't be a factor.

The room (we stayed in the Burgandy room) was beautiful! And the TUB.. OOOhhhh the tub-- we are now trying a redesign of our bathroom for one of those babies! Who needs the public "Roman Baths " when you can sip champagne in your private tub at the Ambrae house?

Lisa and gary couldn't have been sweeter-- made it feel more like seeing old pals than going someplace new for the 1st time.. and the restaurant, bar area and outside deck are super nice.

My only recommend to you and owners... feather pillow option needs to be added to the rooms! I'm a pillow snob and NEED feather-- there wernt any so I had to use rolled up clothes.. if you like a feather pillow, BYOP.
We will go back here. It was wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcsagec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We stayed here over the weekend. I would definatly recommend stopping by. The food was excellent and Lisa was a very welcoming hostess.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yostjohn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2011

My wife and I stayed three days and nights at Ambrae house for a memorial day getaway from our kids, to do some hiking, and relax in a quiet, mountain spa town. This trip was one of the fondest memories of our life, and staying at Ambrae House helped a lot to make it such a special time. We loved it. The B & B concept was new to us, but Lisa and Gary made us feel right at home. Breakfasts were awesome. The in-room private jacuzzi tub was great after a day of hiking. Room and bed was very comfortable. We don't eat pork or shellfish, but Lisa actually bought turkey bacon just to accomodate us. They go out of the way to make sure you are happy. Ambrae house is the place to stay for sure when we come back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mstepakoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley Springs
0.3 km away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#1 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
179 reviews
2.9 km away
Best Western Berkeley Springs Inn
Best Western Berkeley Springs In...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
369 reviews
15.7 km away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Hancock
86 reviews
0.1 km away
Maria's Garden and Inn
Maria's Garden and Inn
#10 of 11 in Berkeley Springs
42 reviews
8.8 km away
Super 8 Hancock MD
Super 8 Hancock MD
#1 of 2 in Hancock
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrae House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrae House

Property: Ambrae House
Address: 98 N Washington St, Berkeley Springs, WV
Region: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Berkeley Springs
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing