We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cacapon Resort State Park
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Berkeley Springs Inn(Berkeley Springs)(Great Value!)
US$ 104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Berkeley Springs Motel(Berkeley Springs)
US$ 56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs(Berkeley Springs)(Great Value!)
US$ 134
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hancock Motel(Hancock)
US$ 73
US$ 71
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 94
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 63
US$ 59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 148
US$ 134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
54
79
31
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
79
31
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursehorseback ridinghiking trailsrooms are smallstate parkwest virginiapaddle boatsnature centertennis courtsskeet shootingbeautiful parklodge restaurantlake beachsalad barbedroom cabingame room downstairspicnic area
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Berkeley Springs State Park and Resort has to be the single best place to stay and play! I was raised near this state park and have to say it has just about everything you could want or need for your stay. The golf course is great (although the golfers were rather crabby), the staff was friendly, the entire park was clean, the lodge was located far enough away from the US Rt. 522 but still far enough away for peace and quiet. The downstairs of that same lodge has a cute little "game room" where you can play pool, ping-pong, and a number of arcade style games.

There are wonderful trails for a hike. Most are well marked and range in difficulty. The park also has a number of basketball/ tennis/ and volleyball nets... all of which are located near the lake where the kids can go swimming or you can soak up some sun. If you don't want to be in the water, you can always opt for being on it. There are a number of paddle boats for rent on the far side of the lake which, in reality, is only a short walk from the other side!

The best part of Cacapon State Park? The restaurant! If you are lucky enough to be at the park for their Easter Dinner Buffet then you are really in for a treat. Lamb, ham, roasted turkey, mashed potatoes, home made gravy, green beans, home made breads, soups, bread pudding, cakes, pies, a full salad bar, and a lot more. When there isn't a buffet listed as an option, Cacapon State Park offers a rather expansive menu which covers the full spectrum. My personal favorite is the pecan crusted rainbow trout. In ending... my servers were friendly, professional, and on the ball! I love this place and I will return again and again!

Room Tip: They are all about the same... unless you want a view of the golf course. There are supposed to be 100 new rooms being built some time in 2012!!!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank highwayman935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

A small non-profit group that I am involved with has used Cacapon Resort State Park for the past three years for its annual meeting and training seminar, and we have already booked Cacapon for our 2013 event. We rent a block of modern cabins and a meeting room in the Lodge building. We prepare most meals in the cabins, which keeps the cost down. The facility staff is great to work with, and the site is beautiful! Our event is held in January or February and the cabins have always been comfortable...I'm sure its even better in the summer!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Breckinridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Spent two days playing two rounds on this course. Absolutely beautuful setting and two challenging rounds. The lodge was comfortable and the food was tasty and filling. A buffet was provided that had a wide variety of home cooking. Large fireplace, pine finish......a good weekend away. We recommend this weekend getaway for two.

2  Thank BigAlWestVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My husband and I wanted to go to Berkeley Springs for a midweek getaway to enjoy "taking the waters" in town. We decided last minute to book a modern cabin at Cacapon & to our delight, one was available. The cabin exceeded expectations all around. It was immaculate, had two comfy bedrooms, kitchen (complete w/ toaster, microwave & coffee maker), bath and living room with stone fireplace & cable TV. After a quick stop for groceries, we made our way back to the park where we spent three glorious days and nights hiking & horseback riding and then sitting by a crackling fire in our cabin.

The park staff were delightful & accommodating. We only ate one meal in the lodge, a sumptuous breakfast - well worth the $20 for two.

Off season rates made our 3 day stay (senior discount) $285 including tax.

We did go to town twice for soaks I the Roman baths at Berkeley Springs State Park - wonderful. Very nice experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bbbggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Cacapon is one of WV's beautiful State Parks. Rooms at the lodge are small, but very clean and comfortable. We booked too late to reserve one of their cabins for the weekend. Staff (especially Angie) was exceptional in every way, including suggestions and reserving tables for accommodating our group of 14 for a family birthday gathering. In addition to our rooms, our family (3 generations, ranging in age from 75 to 4) decided to rent a small "conference room" in the lodge to gather for conversation, cocktails, board games, birthday cake, etc. We also met there before/after activities, including hiking in the park, golfing, Berkeley Springs shopping, Berkeley Springs State Park spa facilities, etc. The Lodge had lots of entertainment for the young ones in our party, including table tennis, shuffleboard, pinball machines, etc. in the lower level of the lodge (bring quarters!). Meals at the Lodge were quite good...many choices for adults and children. The restaurant service at the Lodge was exceptional.

Room Tip: Choices are golf course (Robert Trent Jones) view or Mountain view -- difficult choice!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank delbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews