We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place for the Family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cacapon Resort State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Romney, WV
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Great Place for the Family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We (three adults) stayed in a two-bedroom cabin for two nights at the end of March. The redbuds are in bloom and the forest is just starting to leaf out. We hiked a trail, ate in the lodge and used it as a base to explore the local area. The cabin was more than adequate with a fireplace and a supply of wood, a fully-equipped kitchen. Gas heating and cooling, linens and an adequate bathroom with shower. It all was very clean. Great place for a family of four.

Lots of activities, many of which were not going to open until the start of April, next week. The golf course looked good, was reasonably priced and well-maintained. Rental clubs are available. Be sure to bring a bashing suit so you can enjoy the nearby hot springs. Also be sure to visit the local Visitors Bureau which has lots of information on the area, including a list of local farms that accept visitors and the location and hours of farmers' markets.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the lodge. The rooms are tiny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CountryBoy5963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    75
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
59
50
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
highwayman935
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Berkeley Springs State Park and Resort has to be the single best place to stay and play! I was raised near this state park and have to say it has just about everything you could want or need for your stay. The golf course is great (although the golfers were rather crabby), the staff was friendly, the entire park was clean, the lodge was located far enough away from the US Rt. 522 but still far enough away for peace and quiet. The downstairs of that same lodge has a cute little "game room" where you can play pool, ping-pong, and a number of arcade style games.

There are wonderful trails for a hike. Most are well marked and range in difficulty. The park also has a number of basketball/ tennis/ and volleyball nets... all of which are located near the lake where the kids can go swimming or you can soak up some sun. If you don't want to be in the water, you can always opt for being on it. There are a number of paddle boats for rent on the far side of the lake which, in reality, is only a short walk from the other side!

The best part of Cacapon State Park? The restaurant! If you are lucky enough to be at the park for their Easter Dinner Buffet then you are really in for a treat. Lamb, ham, roasted turkey, mashed potatoes, home made gravy, green beans, home made breads, soups, bread pudding, cakes, pies, a full salad bar, and a lot more. When there isn't a buffet listed as an option, Cacapon State Park offers a rather expansive menu which covers the full spectrum. My personal favorite is the pecan crusted rainbow trout. In ending... my servers were friendly, professional, and on the ball! I love this place and I will return again and again!

Room Tip: They are all about the same... unless you want a view of the golf course. There are supposed to be 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank highwayman935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

A small non-profit group that I am involved with has used Cacapon Resort State Park for the past three years for its annual meeting and training seminar, and we have already booked Cacapon for our 2013 event. We rent a block of modern cabins and a meeting room in the Lodge building. We prepare most meals in the cabins, which keeps the cost down. The facility staff is great to work with, and the site is beautiful! Our event is held in January or February and the cabins have always been comfortable...I'm sure its even better in the summer!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Breckinridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Spent two days playing two rounds on this course. Absolutely beautuful setting and two challenging rounds. The lodge was comfortable and the food was tasty and filling. A buffet was provided that had a wide variety of home cooking. Large fireplace, pine finish......a good weekend away. We recommend this weekend getaway for two.

Helpful?
2 Thank BigAlWestVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

My husband and I wanted to go to Berkeley Springs for a midweek getaway to enjoy "taking the waters" in town. We decided last minute to book a modern cabin at Cacapon & to our delight, one was available. The cabin exceeded expectations all around. It was immaculate, had two comfy bedrooms, kitchen (complete w/ toaster, microwave & coffee maker), bath and living room with stone fireplace & cable TV. After a quick stop for groceries, we made our way back to the park where we spent three glorious days and nights hiking & horseback riding and then sitting by a crackling fire in our cabin.

The park staff were delightful & accommodating. We only ate one meal in the lodge, a sumptuous breakfast - well worth the $20 for two.

Off season rates made our 3 day stay (senior discount) $285 including tax.

We did go to town twice for soaks I the Roman baths at Berkeley Springs State Park - wonderful. Very nice experience.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bbbggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley Springs
15.4 km away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#1 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
12.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Berkeley Springs Inn
BEST WESTERN Berkeley Springs In...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
29.0 km away
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
#1 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Hancock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
28.6 km away
Holiday Inn Martinsburg
Holiday Inn Martinsburg
#5 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
35.4 km away
Motel 6 Martinsburg
Motel 6 Martinsburg
#4 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cacapon Resort State Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cacapon Resort State Park

Property: Cacapon Resort State Park
Address: 818 Cacapon Lodge Dr, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411-3300
Region: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Berkeley Springs
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,889 - ₹ 6,818
Hotel Class:2 star — Cacapon Resort State Park 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cacapon Resort is a mountain lodge located in Cacapon State Park, named after its close proximity to Cacapon Mountain, the highest peak in the eastern panhandle of West Virginia. The four-season lodge provides easy access to outdoor recreation including hiking, beach swimming, fishing and the Robert Trent Jones, Sr. golf course. The lodge provides guests with a relaxing setting among scenic West Virginia landscape. The onsite guest lounge comes equipped with a TV, board games and fireplace, creating a cozy area for all seasons of the year. Cabins, cottages and bungalows rentals are also available. Cacapon Resort State Park Lodge is a nonsmoking facility. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cacapon Resort State Park Hotel Berkeley Springs
Cacapon Hotel Berkeley Springs
Cacapon Hotel State Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing