We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great ski vacation spot”
Review of Wolf Ridge Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Winthrop
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wolf Ridge Resort
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Located about 5 miles north of Winthrop right on the Methow Valley ski trail -- hilly trail to the north and flat trail to the south. Easy drive to other starting points for skiing. We skied directly from the cabin the first day, and went to Mazama and Sun Mountain on other days.

We had two families combining a downstairs unit (bedroom, bath and large kitchen/dining/living room) and an upstairs unit (bedroom with kitchenette and bath). Love the beautiful pine log walls and furniture. We cooked and ate together in the downstairs unit. Our units were very well appointed with furniture and kitchen items and were clean. I think the buildings in the complex have different owners, so the quality of the appliances and kitchen items probably vary. Cell phone worked, wifi worked about 90% of the time.

There is a large community hot tub, but we did not use it. We have stayed here many times over the years. Our unit has always been clean, and looks like some exterior maintenance was performed recently. No complaints in that regard.

Room Tip: Pick one of the newer cabins if you can.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Wolf Ridge Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2010

This resort is not a good value by any stretch of the imagination. Here's our list: The place was dirty. Shower curtains were old and moldy. We found mouse nests by the kitchen cabinets. If you're thinking about cooking, bring your own cook ware. There was one frying pan that was one inch deep and could maybe fit one egg. There was no stock pot for boiling water. You may want to keep your food in a cooler because the refrigerator (set for the coldest setting) spoiled all our dairy products. There were no dvd players in the cabin and the tv's were so old they did not have the plugins required to accommodate one.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travel007065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WolfridgeResort, Manager at Wolf Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Wolfridge Resort is under new management and the cabin has new ownership.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Our experience was not the relaxing trip that we had planned. The rooms are not clean, the kids beds were caved in the middle and smelled like urine,( the pillows also had a strange odor), the adult bed was hard and felt like it was falling apart. The appliances did not work, and were disgusting, along with the over all maintenance of the rooms. Example, I had to wash the floor the first day we arrived and it was filthy, covered in dirt and grime. When speaking to the owners of the resort, they blamed the problems on the 'owners of the cabins', and would not do anything to help. We felt we were being put-off so they didnt have to invest any time in our stay, once we'd paid - in full!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank summertan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WolfridgeResort, Manager at Wolf Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Wolfridge Resort is now under new management and the cabin has new ownership.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2008

We booked a night's lodging at WRR on spec, based on this site's reviews. One second after entering our lodging, we were trying to think of ways we could stay longer (alas, we couldn't so so.) We were upgraded several levels, but that alone isn't why we were so pleased with our stay there. It's close enough to Winthrop for meals and such but is by the river (very short walk) and deeply enough embedded in nature to be a lovely retreat setting. We didn't use the pool or hot tub as we ended up in a cabin with a jacuzzi. The cabin's kitchen surpassed sufficiency for cooking dinner. We sat on the upper story deck and listened to the river and rustling leaves. We were graced with a calico cat who thinks that cabin is her home. Both one of the owners and her daughter were gracious and hospitable. After one night we felt like we'd had several days' break. My husband hasn't slept that many consecutive hours in a very long time! We'll be back.
BTW - the gravel road portion off the secondary road isn't that long, and wasn't any problem for our rental car. It's a driveway!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank vanberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2008

This is a casual you-do-the-housekeeping resort with log-cabin buildings and furniture.

We booked a deluxe studio and were upgraded to a delightful one-bedroom unit which had a complete kitchen, a large living area, a bedroom, and a big front porch with a tranquil view of a birch wood forest.

We didn't use the facilities, but they include a swimming pool and a soaking tub, and spacious grounds.

We have stayed at most of the places in Winthrop, and, for the money, this place, located about five miles from downtown Winthrop, is the hands-down winner.

Stayed: June 2008
3  Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
6.7 km away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
472 reviews
7.5 km away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
161 reviews
7.1 km away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
321 reviews
6.8 km away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
7.3 km away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolf Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolf Ridge Resort

Address: 412B Wolf Creek Rd, Winthrop, WA 98862-9711
Region: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our serene riverside setting on 60 beautiful acres offers a peaceful natural environment for complete relaxation, inspiration, and headquarters for exciting recreation. Hiking, mountain biking, cross country skiing, river rafting, fishing and artistic pursuits can also be enjoyed right out your door amidst awe inspiring scenery. In winter, the Methow Valley is well known for its sunshine and powder snow, providing the best cross country skiing, alpine skiing and winter sports to be found anywhere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wolf Ridge Hotel Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing