We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Worth the little extra drive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the little extra drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

What a gem of a little hotel. A mini vacation water front location and every room seems to have a terrific view. Great staff, very clean rooms and they even throw in nice complementary breakfast. Try to book a room that faces to the West or straight onto the bay. Within walking distance is a great old school restaurant called Harbor Lights. Strong mixed drinks and a great Happy Hour. The Silver Cloud Inn by far is my favorite hotel in Tacoma!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sawguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    138
    37
    13
    6
See reviews for
163
234
22
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed for 7 night towards the end of December.
Managed to book a room on an upper floor level with water view.
The room was very well appointed.
Bed area adjoined a lounge/sitting room. Lovely view of water way, lounge, coffee table, writing desk and fireplace.

Just a fabulous stay, relaxing. We didnt have a vehicle and the location was very convenient for pick up/drop off.
Plus there was courtesy transport provide within 5 miles.
The drop and pick up was really helpful.

And only a short walk to nearby eating places along the water front or to nearby streets.

Staff were very good, polite, service driven and always endeavoured to meet our needs, or make suggestions.

Breakfast was very good. Juice, coffee. toast, muffins, yoghurt, cereal, waffle maker amd a few more things.
The lounge/breakfast area was very relaxing to just to sit in, look out the windows, read the paper. Wonder over to internet pc back to the lounge or chair/table.

We loved our stay.

Room Tip: Upper roomand a view if possible--May be more difficult during peak bookings Ask for assistance/hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, British Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

This lovely hotel on the revitalized Tacoma waterfront was perfect for us. We booked a king bed room which was near the back facing the water - the view was exquisite, the room was immensely comfortable and the bed was sublime. Breakfast was standard but there was lots of dietary variety in the water-view seating area. Lots of walking paths and only a 10-minute drive to the glass museum. This was a wonderful surprise.

Room Tip: Book near the back so you are overlooking the water and it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bicycle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

My husband and I used to stay here every Fourth of July to watch the fireworks on the water. The rooms are beautiful but the restrictions on having to stay a minimum of 2 nights on that holiday doesn't always work out for everyone. The prices are very steep-$299-399, but it's something really special and unique to do at least once if you get the chance.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the water...ask them to explain it's location clearly to you; some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

First off, we are thankful SC was open and that we could get to it during the snow storm. We've stayed here for previous outages and it was recommended for out-of-town visitors during our wedding.
Hotel's in a convenient area, we love this area of Tacoma, with a clean appearance and helpful staff. They have comp. continental brkfst and laundry svc (you buy detergent).
It is comfy and professional. Rooms are of decent size and the windows do wonders to block the train sounds.
I marked 4 instead of 5 stars because although staff was "nice" they appeared very "stand-offish" and only willing to assist if asked. We had to ask for more beverage packets at the coffee/tea area downstairs, more hand soap since they did not replace, more toilet paper as it was low when we arrived, one lady priced our room higher than the other so had to ask for clarification/adjustment (helped I got names), etc. Rooms are a bit on the high end for what you get, which is why we have stayed only a few times.

Still, I would recommend SC. I hope they continue to maintain this positive atmosphere. Would love for rewards to actually work since we've tried multiple time to register but no luck... maybe consider a promo for locals (like kama'aina in HI, ha!). Thanks for the warm and comfortable stay!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cicalmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanOLeary, General Manager at Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear Cicalmama,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during the recent bout of extreme weather. I know it was a very trying time for many travelers and locals who lost power. Although I’m quite pleased you enjoyed your overall stay I am sorry to hear that you felt our staff was somewhat standoffish. We work very hard to be as proactive as possible, especially during unexpected and extreme weather periods like we experienced recently. We did reduce our rates when the weather changed for the worse to help locals looking for warmth and power. Perhaps this would help explain the difference in rates that you noted.
You also mention an issue with our rewards program. If you could reach out to me I can look at your account and determine what this issue is and correct it. You are welcome to contact me directly at the hotel at your convenience.
Thank you for choosing Silver Cloud Hotels and for sharing your experiences. We use guest feedback as a tool to improve our products and services.
Best regards,
Dan O’Leary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
3.6 km away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
4.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
3.8 km away
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
5.8 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
10.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront

Property: Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Address: 2317 N. Ruston Way, Tacoma, WA 98402-5303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
#2 Business Hotel in Tacoma
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,756 - ₹ 20,014
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Tacoma's Old Town community is the Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma Waterfront, Tacoma's only waterfront hotel. Our hotel is conveniently located just two miles north of downtown Tacoma's amazing museum district, and is only 10 minutes from Tacoma Dome & Convention Center. All the hotel guestrooms have waterfront views with 55" flat screen TVs and include complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, microwaves, and refrigerators. A complimentary Silver Cloud Breakfast is provided in addition to our fitness and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma Hotel Tacoma
Silver Cloud Hotel Tacoma
Silver Cloud Tacoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing