We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hearty American Breakfast but a little pricey”

Elmer's Restaurant - Tacoma
Ranked #21 of 864 Restaurants in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Description: A Northwest favorite since 1960. Our 25 locally owned Elmer's Restaurants take pride in their communities and source local, farm-fresh ingredients.
Reviewed 25 October 2018

Two co-workers and I had breakfast here on our way to Ft. Lewis based on a Yelp review. The food is very tasty hearty American fare. The portions are "generous" even for one member of the team who ordered oatmeal. After my breakfast of 2 eggs over easy, hash browns and bacon, with coffee and a small grapefruit juice I really wasn't hungry until about 6 that night. The basic breakfast plate was 9.99 so I was a little surprised when I went to pay my bill and found it to be $17.36. But it is a good reliable breakfast place.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Met up with family here while visiting from out of state. Food was great but service was just ok. I highly recommend the crabcado omlet! The biscuits are amazing too.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank bassetlover1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018

Hopefully, you'll think similarly. We chose Elmer's based on recent familiarity with another one of their restaurants, but this time we were going for dinner (last time was breakfast). Located on the east side of I-5, this has a relatively convenient location. Parking is ample, though there seemed to be a couple of drifters in the area...hard to know for sure, as it was an extremely hot day. Inside, air conditioning was welcomed, as were we, and soon we were shown to a booth. Service was efficient and excellent, it's always good when the server anticipates when you want a refill, i.e. before you ask for one. The food was reasonably priced, adequate in portions, and average for a diner-type restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brifd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolten L, Guest Relations Manager at Elmer's Restaurant - Tacoma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Morning,

We truly thank you for your feedback and are glad to see you enjoyed your visit to Elmer’s. We love hearing from our Guests and we send each review directly to the restaurant management to be seen. Hope to see you again soon!

Kolten Lindsey
Online Media Manager
Elmer's Restaurants, Inc.
kolten@eatatelmers.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

We decided to stop in here for breskfast as the parking lot was packed and that is usually a good sign. We were not disappointed. The buttermilk psncskes were light and fluffy. The bacon was really good. Not the usual paper thin bacon that is served at most restaurants. The slices were thick and extra flavorful. I would definately go here again for breakfast.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolten L, Guest Relations Manager at Elmer's Restaurant - Tacoma, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Morning Deb,

We truly thank you for your feedback and are glad to see you enjoyed your visit to Elmer’s. We love hearing from our Guests and we send each review directly to the restaurant management to be seen. Hope to see you again soon!

Kolten Lindsey
Online Media Manager
Elmer's Restaurants, Inc.
kolten@eatatelmers.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

We went to an Elmer's in Portland and really liked it. When we saw there was one near our hotel in Tacoma, we went back. We were not disappointed. it was very good. We both had the chowder and it was good. My husband had the Cobb salad. He really liked it. I had the cod which came with rice and vegetables, and a cup of soup or salad. I really liked it. The waitress, Tanisha, was super. She did an excellent job.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Barbara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolten L, Guest Relations Manager at Elmer's Restaurant - Tacoma, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Afternoon Barbara,

We truly thank you for your feedback and are glad to see you've enjoyed your visits to Elmer’s. We love hearing from our Guests and we send each review directly to the restaurant management to be seen. Hope to see you again next time you're in the area!

Kolten Lindsey
Online Media Manager
Elmer's Restaurants, Inc.
kolten@eatatelmers.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elmer's Restaurant - Tacoma also viewed

 

Been to Elmer's Restaurant - Tacoma? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing