We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel in Questionable Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Cleveland, TN
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in Questionable Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

I have to admit that when I first drove up I was a little concerned. The hotel shares a parking lot with a pawn shop and a couple of other places that are a bit questionable. After 3 nights I've found the location to be ok. It's close to the interstate, the mall and other shopping areas. The hotel is clean and the staff has been very friendly and accomodating.

I've stayed in many Holiday Inn Express locations and this one meets the standard of having clean, comfortable and affordable rooms. The fresh cookies on the reception desk are a nice touch too!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smdaigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    50
    25
    8
    10
See reviews for
43
19
9
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
186 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

The hotel was wonderful, breakfast was great and the room was perfect. The location of the hotel is nice as i was able to get everywhere i needed to be rather quickly, but the area of town was not the best and there were alot of street walkers and such. The stayed to their own but they were there for sure.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rschrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

Having only stayed here one night - I was upgraded to a Jacuzi room! The room was BIG and lots of space to move around, the TV was like a 60 inch flat screen and great bathroom! The shower pressure and amenities were excellent. Thanks to the wonderful staff of this hotel for keeping everyone satisfied. Great neighborhood as well. Would definitely stay there again if I visit Tacoma!

Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank VesperGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

I stayed at this hotel several times on business. Each time they managed to mess up our corporate account billing. Then, in May, I booked a room for my daughter and baby because she was on her way to Tacoma for an emergency and didn't want to call from her car while she was driving. Two hours later, when she arrived, they could not find the reservation. I spoke with the front desk person and offered to give them my credit card number to find the reservation, but the front desk person said don't bother and that she would book a new room for my daughter. My daughter stayed the night and paid with her own card, however, I was ALSO billed for the room as a no show! When I contacted the hotel to explain the situation, I was treated very rudely and told that I would still have to pay as a no show because the reservation was under the name of one of my co-workers! I called priority club account services and asked if this was possible, as I'd booked through my priority club membership. They told me no. I then filed a dispute with my credit card company and wrote a letter to Holiday Inn Express customer relations. They returned the letter stating they had directed the hotel to refund the charge. Two months later I received a check in the mail with no explanation other than "refund" on the check stub. I deposited the check only to get a threatening letter from the hotel stating that I the refund was given to me by mistake because the charge never went through to my credit card company! Ub the nasty letter they sent me, they told me that they take delinquent charges very seriously, and I needed to pay up within 10 days or they would take action against me!

What a bunch of morons! I travel fairly frequently, and I have never stayed at a hotel with such a messed up billing department, not to mention such poor customer service. In fact, I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Olympia just last week, and it couldn't have been a better experience! I would recommend NOT staying at this hotel unless you want to take the chance of dcealing with this kind of incompentence. If you need to stay right off I5, stay at the Hampton! It is GREAT! Or, better yet, the Murano downtown! Or the Courtyard!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaDJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hitacoma, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma, responded to this review, 29 September 2009
This guest was charged for a no show for a duplicate reservation booking.
Had two reservations not been booked by the guest claim of "inept billing" would not have been made. Hotel did issue a courtesy credit to the guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tacoma hotels

Fircrest, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2009

My stay was good, not great. Parts of the hotel look like they have been updated others have gone by the wayside. For example the pool area has beautiful new tile floors, but the pool and spa themselves look old, dirty and have obvious patches. The TV was nice and big which I enjoyed, however the equipment in the Fitness Center was nowhere near as new. The staff was pleasant, quick and helpful which I greatly appreciated and I liked the cold complimentary water in my room. Breakfast was good and I enjoyed the free internet. However I was not able to connect wirelessly with my laptop which meant I had to sit at the desk to work. Not on the bed as I would have preferred. I found it odd that there was no fan in the bathroom so when I took a shower the entire room became muggy and hot for quite a while. The area this hotel is in was also bit concerning. It is close to many restaurants and has easy I-5 access which is great. However, I heard sirens multiple times in the one night I was there, then later someone screaming outside. All in all bits and pieces of the hotel were great others looked like they had been forgotten or missed.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traci422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
8.2 km away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,136 reviews
10.9 km away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
7.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma
7.2 km away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn Tacoma
Comfort Inn Tacoma
#11 of 28 in Tacoma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tacoma? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tacoma

Property: Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
Address: 8601 South Hosmer Street, Tacoma, WA 98444-1834
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,324 - ₹ 11,693
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tacoma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find accommodations at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites packed with all of your travel needs. This Tacoma hotel is located just minutes from Fort Lewis, McChord AFB, Pacific Lutheran University, Tacoma Convention Center as well as major industrial parks. We are also conveniently located near exciting attractions including the Tacoma Dome, Sprinker Recreation Center, Puyallup Fairgrounds, and Tacoma's Glass Museum. Guests travelling on business appreciate our convenient location directly off of Interstate 5. Our friendly staff are eager to assist you with directions or recommendations to any location, including many great restaurants, museums, parks, theatres and shopping centers. We recently completed a luxurious renovation and invite you to come enjoy a relaxing stay with us! All of our rooms are non-smoking and complete with microwaves, refrigerators, high speed Internet and even 37' LCD televisions! You are sure to wake up rested and refreshed with our wonderful pillowtop mattresses featuring the Simply Smart Bedding Collection. Start off your morning enjoying our deluxe Complimentary Express Start breakfast featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, omelets with bacon as well as many other wonderful favorites. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Tacoma! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tacoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Hotel Tacoma
Holiday Inn Tacoma
Tacoma Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing