We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded our high expecations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roberts Mansion Inn & Events
Ranked #1 of 13 Spokane B&B and Inns
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Exceeded our high expecations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Our Spokane-born friend recommended this place and were we happy that we followed her advice!

The building itself is spectacular, and has been restored room-by-room over a period of many years. The room was very roomy and comfortable and the breakfasts were terrific... and not too over-the-top calorie wise. The location is also very good: a not-too-busy neighborhood just a few minutes from downtown Spokane.

But the innkeeper herself really distinguished this hostelry from the many other B & B's we've stayed at. She's charming, engaged with her guests, and eager to share the interesting history of the building-- complete with photos of the original owners. Her staff, too, is very accommodating and easy-going.

Treat yourself to a stay here if you're visiting Spokane, you'll be pleased that you did.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    21
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
79
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We had a one night stay at the end of our vacation and were thrilled with our choice. Robert's Mansion is beautiful. We were in E.J. Robert's Suite and it was spacious, beautifully furnished with antiques AND it had a window air conditioner which we were extremely grateful for in the 100+ temperature! Service was great and we enjoyed our little tour when we arrived with various interesting facts pointed out to us. The bed was very comfortable and huge! Breakfast was beautifully cooked and served at a reasonable hour (9:00 am) for everyone so we were able to meet the other travellers staying there. All in all a great place to stay - next time I hope we can stay a little longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albertameev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

My Mom and I just got back from our three night 4 day Mother-Daughter vacation to Spokane last night. We didnt know anyone when we got into town but when we arrived at the mansion we were instantly welcomed. Christy gave us a tour of the entire mansion and explained all the rooms... The place was entirely decorated with items from the 18th century ... It was like traveling to the past! We stayed in the Secret Garden suite that had a kitchen for two comfortable nights and spent our last in the KJ suite in the mansion.
Mary the inn keeper was so gracious and kind even in the current turmoil she was in ( one of the neighboring houses which she owns had a renter who almost burned down the house a month ago. There was a lot of damage and there's probably a few months of repair to go still :( ). She made us a three course breakfast with fresh orange juice and coffee and accomidated our food restrictions so graciously. The other guests were so nice and Mary helped introduce everyone in the morning and stimulated conversation, she was great. And on our last night she even accommodated our early 8am breakfast request... It was just so wonderful... She even let us have a microwave in the upstairs coffee and computer room (free Internet!) because we still had leftovers from the day before so we were able to keep it in the little fridge and microwave dinner and lunch after checkout.
I had a blast and I felt so comfortable... Mary is doing so much for the area and the town... I can't wait to return :)))

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Razberry88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

choosers the house because it is located within walking distance to the northwest museum where we enjoyed the di Vinci exhibition and Brown's addition historical walking tour. We stayed in a separate little cottage next to the secret garden where we enjoyed a beautiful evening under the stars with wine and food that we prepared in the kitchen. Breakfast was very nice and the owner, Mary, provided interesting historical information on the house and original family. It was a great bed, but the air conditioner was noisy. We didn't sleep well, but we were kept cool in the 90 degree heat.

Room Tip: If you're into privacy, the secret garden cottage will suit your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We spent one night in this absolutely stunning house in late July - and it was quite an experience. We had the whole house and the gardens to ourselves for the evening, which was slightly eerie in that there was no one else in the B&B part of the house, but amazing to have so much privacy and the full run of the house to explore and marvel at.

After checking in we spent a considerable amount of time just looking at all the details inside and outside the house (including a secret walled garden). Our party stayed in the EJ Roberts suite and the Rose suite. Both were adorned with detail, from the wallpaper to the period taps on the sinks (and pull chain flusher on the toilet!) to the antique furnishings. Both rooms were very comfortable, but at times is felt a bit like we were staying in a museum - all part of the fun of the experience, but a little disconcerting when trying to find a place to sit! The pool table (original) and the flat-screen TV (one of the few modern touches in the house) in the basement kept the men in our group entertained during the evening, and that room was the one place in the house that didn't feel entirely like a museum.

Breakfast was served at 9am (with coffee available earlier - we got a cup and read the papers on the front porch) and was excellent. It was a two course meal - all delicious, but quite formal. A fresh fruit salad was served first on its own, followed by the cooked breakfast. My only complaint about breakfast is that we weren't given any options to choose from, however that said, we were perfectly content with what we were given.

Another small word of caution - again, this didn't bother us, but it might concern others: it was quite warm when we visited Spokane and Roberts Mansion is a very old house. There is no central air conditioning and the rooms are cooled by individual window units. The house was by no means overly warm, but if you visit during the warmer months be prepared for the humming of window units.

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay at Roberts Mansion and I would highly recommend this B&B, particularly to couples or friends looking for an unusual, unique and memorable experience. It may feel a bit formal and stiff and times, but it's truly a fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burukku16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spokane hotels
1.2 km away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
1.3 km away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
2.3 km away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#1 of 46 in Spokane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
1.8 km away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roberts Mansion Inn & Events? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roberts Mansion Inn & Events

Property: Roberts Mansion Inn & Events
Address: 1923 W 1st Ave, Spokane, WA 99201-7611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Spokane
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,831 - ₹ 6,895
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1889, this 23-room mansion is an integral part of Spokane's Historic Browne's Addition. After undergoing 25 years of restoration, it is now open to the public as an inn, and a facility for weddings, receptions, private parties, business meetings, and family gatherings. With the help of numerous photos from members of the Roberts' family, the mansion has been able to reflect the luxury and splendor of this Victorian period. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing