We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A getaway in a postcard!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dungeness Barn House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Dungeness Barn House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 Sequim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A getaway in a postcard!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Our experience at the Dungeness Barn House was magical. The antique decor gave a feeling of being back in time and the beauty of the location was as though we were vacationing inside a painting.... And it wasn't even the high season with its gorgeous lavender blooming all around!
Berta and Nicolas were the kindest and warmest hosts. My husband is now fond of bed and breakfasts as a way of traveling. Could we find a match, though?
My husband and I, with our 1 yr old baby boy, stayed 4 nights in this wonderful place. Everyday welcomed us with a different wonderful breakfast! Omelet with Dungeness crab and vegetables, Salmon quiche, blue cheese omelet or boiled egg with cream and cheese. Fruit, juice, tea and coffee. Everything local, fresh and incredibly healthy. Heirloom tomatoes and vegetables were from Berta's own yard!
Our baby boy got to eat on a 100 yr old wicker high chair! He had his own breakfast made of fresh fruit that he devoured and oatmeal.
Our hosts were so loving toward our son. It was very special.

We stayed in the King suite downstairs. It had a fireplace and was comfortable, incredibly charming and cozy, with a good size closet and a large bathroom with jacuzzi tub.
Another couple was staying in the upstairs suite and they couldn't hear our baby cry. It was perfect!
Both suites are beautiful and facing the water.

We really felt like home away from home!

Dear Berta and Nicolas, thank you for making our stay so special! You are wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SequimFigaro, Owner at The Dungeness Barn House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
It was such a pleasure to have the three of you visit. Baby Alex was a true delight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
101
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blaine, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

My husband gave me two nights at the Dungeness Barnhouse B&B for my birthday. Berta greeted us warmly upon our arrival, and by the time we left, we felt like we had a new friend! From the start, we were delighted with the beauty and serenity of the place. We can't believe how one person could maintain such a visually pleasing environment inside and out. The food was over the top excellent, made with local foods supporting local businesses. From fresh peach french toast, homemade jams, delicious local coffee to Berta's own show stopping Eggs Portobello Benedict with wilted spinach, dungeness crab & hollandaise sauce, the entire experience was amazing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blockhouse5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SequimFigaro, Owner at The Dungeness Barn House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for your kind words. I am so happy that you enjoyed your birthday trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

My husband and I stayed three nights at Berta's B&B and it wasn't nearly long enough! Berta was warm and welcoming - this is the most at home I've ever felt at a B&B. The room was cozy and comfortable, complete with a fireplace, windows looking out to the lavender in the garden and the water, and a super comfortable bed. We also had plenty of space to unpack our bags which was nice since we wanted to air out our hiking clothes! Breakfast was amazing each day - we had fresh caught crab in 2 out of 3 breakfasts, as well as tasty fruits and veggies straight from the garden. When we needed a dinner recommendation, Berta suggested a fabulous local spot that fit our taste perfectly. The living room area on the second floor is awesome - huge windows looking out to the water make for great sunset views or a nice place to curl up with a book.

We tried to pack in too many trips to Olympic National Park within our 3 day stay. Though the park was amazing and should absolutely be visited, the Dungeness Barn House is so lovely that I'd recommend scheduling extra time to just hang out around the B&B! I know we wish we had done so, and hope to return to do just that.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms - we stayed in the one on the lower level. Both seemed nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJoLovesSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SequimFigaro, Owner at The Dungeness Barn House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you for the lovely photos. I am so happy that you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We wanted to explore the Olympic Peninsula and Washington State so set about planning a 3 week trip from the UK. We've been to the US on many occasions but this was the first time for the B & B experience and planning from this distance is a bit hit and miss - but oh, was this a big HIT! The initial emails between me and Berta (the host) already made me feel that we knew each other, and when we arrived for an initial 2 night stay the welcome was just as I imagined. Then she took us on a tour of her beautiful house and grounds which are amazing - together with the private beach! The breakfasts Berta delivered were to die for - especially the 'portobello mushroom, spinach, fresh dungeness crab and poached egg'. As you can imagine from the above, we changed our plans and stayed an extra night. Berta gave us so much information on places to go and see and there is so much to explore in the area that I wish we could have stayed even longer. Lynne and Tony

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SequimFigaro, Owner at The Dungeness Barn House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
It was such a pleasure to meet you both and help you see the best of our beautiful Olympic Peninsula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Rave, I must. Berta Warden’s Dungeness Barnhouse B&B was the perfect setting for a delightful August vacation. We used it as home base for many activities in the Olympic National Park and sights nearby. Upon arrival we toured the facilities and grounds; everything was inviting from the private gardens with the enviable roses and lavender to the private stairway leading to beachfront on the Strait of Juan de Fuca where we photographed sunset on the first night. We immediately felt at home and indeed we were granted as much freedom as if it were our home. The views from the great room surprisingly included both sunrise and sunset, as well as, mists washing over the strait and a wide range of boat traffic in the distance and beautiful landscaping all around. Berta's little greenhouse provided tomatoes and the gardens -- fresh floral arrangements. Breakfasts were delicious, comfortable, and provided a view of the water. One morning we enjoyed a version of eggs benedict using privately harvested Dungeness crab. The recipe is Berta’s way of “spoiling” her guests, she says. The marion berry and lavender jelly (made locally) was appropriate to the recently concluded annual Lavender Festival held in Sequim. The location was great for touring the nearby sights including: Port Angeles, Forks, Rialto Beach, HOH Forest, Hurricane Ridge, Kayaking Crescent Lake, Marymere Falls, hiking the spit with the lighthouse (we did not go the full five miles) and the Sol Duc Hot Springs and falls. Unless you live in Sequim, where this sounds normal, this region has much to offer and the Dungeness Barnhouse B&B was icing on the cake; I’d say you are in for a real treat! We have a new standard for measuring B&Bs.

Room Tip: Loved the Scarlet Room adjacent to Great Room. Cozy and private. Great Room offers telescope to view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F0r_theFun_ofit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequim
17.8 km away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 15 in Port Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
11.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
8.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 km away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
1.0 km away
Greenhouse Inn by the Bay
0.3 km away
Juan de Fuca Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dungeness Barn House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dungeness Barn House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Dungeness Barn House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 42 Marine Dr, Sequim, WA 98382
Region: United States > Washington > Sequim
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sequim
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,126 - ₹ 11,408
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Dungeness Barn House Bed & Breakfast is located on Dungeness Bay over-looking the Strait, Dungeness Spit & Lighthouse. The spacious beautifully appointed suites have private baths. Enjoy walks on the private beach and beautiful sunsets from the beach deck. Watch eagles soaring overhead and ships going through the Strait of Juan de Fuca. The beautiful gardens surrounding the home are planned for year round enjoyment. Winter is special time to sit in front of the great room fireplace and watch the white capped waves marching down the Strait. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing