We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Almost" amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cave B Estate Winery & Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Quincy
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
221 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“"Almost" amazing!”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I would give this place 5 stars if only a few things were tweaked.

We went away for a romantic getaway in March for a weekend at Cave B. First of all, I am impressed with their service. I had arranged for a bottle of wine and cheese plate as well as a birthday surprise in our room but the day before I had to postpone our getaway a few weeks. They were super nice about it and made sure our spa reservations, dinner reservations and the wine and cheese were switched with no problem whatsoever. Finally we arrive...what a spectacular location, right on the cliffs of the Columbia! It is truly breathtaking. I have not seen a more amazing location in Washington. Every employee we came in contact with from the moment we walked in the front door to check out was incredibly friendly and helpful. We headed to our Cliff House and I was stunned at the views from the windows. The wine and cheese were there as promised. The room is tastefully decorated, clean and comfortable. After settling in we headed over to the tasting room for some wine. The tasting room has wine related gifts, snacks, water and other gifts for purchase. We tasted all the wines and honestly I was quite impressed. (and we do a lot of wine tasting) We left with two bottles and two free glasses (a nice touch). We explored the property before dinner and were amazed at what a quiet and beautiful location this place is in. We shared some wine while watching the sunset over the gorge and wow! We had dinner reservations but we didn't really need them as the restaurant was fairly empty. We had impeccable service and I was pleasantly surprised at the top notch food. It was more than I expected. Their menu isn't extensive but what we did have was fantastic. We headed back to the room to watch movies and just enjoy the quiet (and boy is this location ever quiet) We slept fantasticas the bed is incredibly comfortable but shut the shades, the rising sun will wake you up early!
The following day they had a complimentary continental breakfast set out but honestly for a continental breakfast it was really good. Fresh fruit of all sort, coffee, tea, juices, granola, pastries and they had two kinds of quiches for an additional charge. The quiche was fantastic. We spent the day hiking down to the river, unbelievable views but it's a bit strenuous...be prepared for a good workout. In the late afternoon we headed to the spa. It is small but quite comfortable, clean and well set up. I had the "Indigenous Bliss", a chardonnay sugar scrub and hot stone massage. It was amazing, relaxing and delightful. My partner had a deep tissue massage and although his massage was good he said his therapist was WAY too talkative and that made it hard for him to relax. We had eaten at the restaurant the night before and as they had a limited menu and we wanted to stay in we didn't eat there again. Luckily we had brought some food with us. I was wishing however that they had room service of some sort. I did call and see if I could get an order of their bacon-wrapped prawns (delicious) to go and they did accomodate me. We really didn't want to leave but when we did we were relaxed and renewed.

The ONLY negatives of the trip and the reason I rated it "almost": I found a couple of hairs on the bed and one on the coffee maker.. The teapot provided had dirty water in it. The massage therapist for my partner was too talkative and kind of ruined his relaxation. The in-room guide said they had a breakfast buffet on Sundays (we even checked the dates) and we planned on this. Not so, just the continental. The DVD player had seriously limited capabilities, they need to upgrade this. This place is in the middle of nowhere and if you forget something you're in trouble. They should offer amenities such as toothbrushes, etc. Some sort of room service would be fantastic if you just want to stay in. A jacuzzi on the porch of the Cliff Houses would be an amazing touch.

All in all, this was an amazing trip and I would go again in a second, however with just a few tweaks such as attention to detail with cleanliness, less talkative massage therapists, added amenities, an updated in room guide, room service and perhaps some rooms offering jacuzzis this place could be a top notch destination.

TIPS: This place is in the middle of nowhere and towns are far away. Make sure you pack everything you need. Also, it's QUIET and activities are limited. I wished I had brought a book or two. Although they accommodated me with a take-out request, there is no room service and there is a limited menu. Bring snacks! It's DARK at night, if you walk around the property at night, although the walkways are somewhat lit, bring a flashlight. Bring your hiking boots!

Room Tip: We stayed in Cliff House 12. It is on the very end, quiet and secluded!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    122
    64
    33
    20
See reviews for
65
320
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I'm always a very positive person! The view and hiking around this property is magnificent. The desert sounds and smells were very new. The hotel itself lacks the same. The dog poop and cigarette butts outside the door to my room was disturbing. When I asked the front desk to pick it up, they picked up one & left the rest, which hindered my 5 am walk from taking place, I stayed on my patio. The restaurant does not fit the surrounding environment. The menu does not offer enough verity and portions of food to let alone hike but make it from your room to the dining room. With that being said the staff was very helpful but the bill was explosive! I rate this portion of my stay a 1-2 of a 10. I purchased dessert, I was unable to carry the tray & dishes to my room on the poorly lite & uneven pathway to my room safely. Shame on you for doing this to your customers. I could not image hiking and wanting a nice meal and receiving 6 bites of duck and 2 bites of salad! My bill for a bottle of wine two Jacks and 2 meals that left my stomach growling at 3 am was $ 205.00. It is no wonder the place is for sale! Fix this and fast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We bought a Living Social because I've always wanted to stay here, but it's always been a bit pricey. With the Living Social deal, we got a taste for how incredible this place is and would definitely come back even without the deal.
When we arrived, we got a key to our own Cliffhouse which overlooked the Gorge river and was a few feet from the vineyard itself. Upon entering the cliff house we were greeted with wine glasses, luxurious robes, a fireplace, the most comfortable bed, and an incredible soaker tub.
After checking in we walked through the beautiful vineyards until we reached the tasting room. Tastes were only $6/person and that included exclusive Cave B wine glasses. We tasted 10 different wines - all delicious!
Later on we had dinner at their restaurant called Tendrils. We had a $100 gift certificate and used it all on 1 salad, 2 entrees, and 2 mixed drinks. It was very pricey and I believe, overpriced. My chicken entree was $30 and tasted pretty good, my husband got the pork bell for $30 and neither of us cared for it. It tasted like a unflavorful dried out pork chop. But in the morning it was redeemed - due to restaurant management changeover they didn't have a typical breakfast available so each guest received complimentary continental breakfast. It was so good! They had the best pastries I've ever had (fresh blueberry muffins and chocolate chip scones), yogurt & granola, fresh fruit, and various drinks. Definitely made up for the uneventful and overpriced dinner.
It was so hard to leave this place. If I had to describe it in one word, it'd be romantic. I can't wait to come back and even stay in a yurt!

Room Tip: Definitely pick a cliff house! We liked #14 because we were so close to the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rillabylund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We went in December so it snowed which only added to the adventure. It's a 3 hour drive from Seattle and during off season, the rates are very reasonable. They do close for a few weeks after Christmas so be sure to check before you make plans.

The Inn is very nice. We had a one-bedroom "Cliff House" which is a free standing building overlooking the Columbia Gorge/River. Fireplace with glass on 2 sides so you can enjoy it from the living room or the bedroom. The bathroom has a large glass shower and a soaking tub.

Nice materials used throughout - slate and wood with comfortable furniture. Coffee pot in the room is a nice plus. There's a dvd player and flat screen tv in the room with some movies to borrow in the lobby.

Our package included dinner in the restaurant which was amazing. Breakfast was great too. There is a winery and you can do a tasting. Also, a spa if you want more pampering.

We stayed here and used it as our base to do some hiking in the area. Quincy does not have much to offer in terms of restaurants or entertainment so be sure you bring or borrow movies, games and such.

There are concerts at the Gorge Amphitheater next door during the summer but I suspect the Inn gets pretty busy on concert weekends.

Room Tip: The Cliff House rooms all have gorge/river views with patios and furniture. The "yurts" a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyKobeCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Every once in a while I need to escape the cold in Spokane in early Winter and this just the spot. An oasis in the high desert, get it all in one place: hiking, great wine, cliffhouse room fireplace, delicious cuisine, and you can even bring your dog!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurejanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quincy
39.8 km away
Best Western Rama Inn
Best Western Rama Inn
#1 of 3 in Ephrata
154 reviews
0.0 km away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
13.8 km away
Crescent Bar RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.4 km away
Sunny Springs Resort & Campground
13.9 km away
The Suites at Crescent Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cave B Estate Winery & Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cave B Estate Winery & Resort

Property: Cave B Estate Winery & Resort
Address: 344 Silica Rd NW, Quincy, WA 98848-9468
Region: United States > Washington > Quincy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Quincy
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,757 - ₹ 11,886
Hotel Class:4 star — Cave B Estate Winery & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cave B Estate Winery & Resort offers breathtaking views of our own estate vineyards, the Columbia River and the state's most dramatic gorge location. Cave B Resort offers 55 guestrooms, including 15 stand-alone Cliffehouses, 12 Cavern Rooms, three Inn Suites, and 25 Desert Yurts, as well as Tendrils Restaurant, The Spa at Cave B, award-winning Cave B Estate Winery, and a dramatic cliffside outdoor swimming pool. Come for a weekend, a true Washington State vacation, for a romantic getaway, or for a concert next door at the Gorge Amphitheater. Experience outdoor adventure, one of the few estate wineries in Washington State, and a landscape like no other at one of the Northwest's finest resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cave B Estate Winery & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cave b Inn And Spa
Cave b Hotel Quincy
Cave b Quincy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing