We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life Is Good @ Chevy Chase Beach Cabins!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chevy Chase Beach Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2012

The setting is simply gorgeous. Six different cabins/houses to pick from. We stayed in #10. The smallest of all. Studio size. Fine for 1 or 2 people and a pet. The interior of the cabins are just beautiful. Seems they thought of everything. Dog towels. Dog sheets, should you want your pooch in bed with you. The bed was extremely comfy. We loved the short 3-5 minute walk to the beach. We saw many seals just doing their thing. Great shower/water pressure too. I just have one very small complaint. We arrived to a note on the main door, that said we could go directly to the cabin. Fine, but that night we wanted to watch a movie or two. I went back to choose a movie, but clearly the door said "private residence/ring bell" I rang, but no answer. I could clearly see several people inside the massive home. I took my chance, the door was unlocked, I entered to pick a movie, but felt very funny entering. I picked a couple and left, again without seeing anyone. This process kind of made me feel uneasy, thief-like?!? (I think there was a private family get together) No worries though, as we look forward to another visit.

Room Tip: #4 and #6 are closest to the waterview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ManOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chevyporttownsend, Manager at Chevy Chase Beach Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

We are so happy to hear that Cabin #10 was the perfect fit for you and your pooch and that you were able to find everything you needed in your cottage for a comfy stay! Thank you so much for bringing your frustration with grabbing a DVD from the office-area to our attention. First and foremost, SO SORRY that no one answered the door – we might not have heard the bell if a dinner party was going on and for that we truly apologize. We have changed the note on our front door to detail how guests can access the movies or reach us if they ring the bell to no avail. We look forward to hosting you again soon! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2012

We arrived on a Friday afternoon in November and stayed through Sunday. The weather was gorgeous, Cabin #10 was neat as a pin, comfortable as could be, and the views...OMG the views are to die for. Scout, the golden Labrador greeted us on arrival and kept us company whenever we were outside. Great trail, easy hike down to the beach. The staff were attentive but VERY unobtrusive. Absolutely everything on hand in the cabin that we needed...and then some! Arrive with some groceries if you like. Microwave on hand in the cabin! Small fridge, too. DVD player, iPod docking station, but no cable or satellite TV (who needs it on a getaway..?). Port Townsend restaurants close by... ferry landing is on the way into town. Don't think twice... book your stay today.

Room Tip: Cabin #10 was our choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dickgreene51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chevyporttownsend, Manager at Chevy Chase Beach Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thanks so much for your review! We are happy to hear that you found Cabin #10 cozy and comfortable and that you were able to find everything that you needed. The studios are small and sweet (the only cottages without full kitchens) but we hope that guests will find everything they need for making simple little meals...though with all the great restaurants in Port Townsend the kitchenettes often go untouched! Scout (our yellow lab) is a fixture on the property for sure, always hopeful she will find a guest to toss her ball - thanks for keeping her company! We hope to have you back again for another visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

This was a unique romantic birthday get-away for us. The property is a picturesque meadow overlooking the bay, with a nearby path to the beach. Our cabin was clean to perfection, the king bed truly comfort plus, and the accommodations cozy as can be. We loved spending a birthday weekend here and want to return with our kids and grandkids. Our dog loved it as much as we did - a very special place!

Room Tip: All the cabins are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chevyporttownsend, Manager at Chevy Chase Beach Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your birthday weekend at Chevy Chase. The views from Cabin #4 truly can't be beat.
We would love to host your kids and grandkids some time in the future - the clustered nature of our cottages are pretty ideal for family gatherings. Just be sure to snag Cabin #4 for yourselves!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We just returned from spending 2 nights in Cabin 4 at Chevy Chase and were impressed before we even got through the front door! This little cabin is impeccable and so cozy, well appointed and is situated closest to the water. The view of Discovery Bay is incredible. The kitchen was equipped with every gadget you'd ever need. The bedroom is spacious and has lots of windows overlooking the bay and a huge, comfortable bed with a down comforter. The bathroom was big, too. The beach is a short walk and is great for beach combing. We brought our 2 little dogs with us and they enjoyed themselves as much as we did!

The grounds are gorgeous, the staff so welcoming. We were delighted with our stay and felt the value was great. We will be returning in the near future!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the cabins. The website has lots of photos and is very informativ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saltwatersheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chevyporttownsend, Manager at Chevy Chase Beach Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in Cabin #4! We are so happy to hear that you found the cottage so well-equipped and cozy. We try hard to anticipate everything our guests will need and love hearing that we are doing a good job. We look forward to having you back again with your little pups, glad they had a fun too! Thanks for the thoughful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The cabins were cozy and had beautiful views of the mountains and the water. Took 2 dogs and were well received by the staff. There is a short trail behind the cabins that lead to a private beach. Had a wonderful and relaxing time. Highly recommend it if you are a dog owner and travel with your pooches they will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coosbaygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chevyporttownsend, Manager at Chevy Chase Beach Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review! We agree - this is the perfect spot for pooches and their owners - we look forward to having you and your furry friends back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
9.6 km away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
371 reviews
9.8 km away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
274 reviews
9.4 km away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 km away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
328 reviews
10.8 km away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
181 reviews
8.2 km away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#8 of 11 in Port Townsend
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chevy Chase Beach Cabins? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chevy Chase Beach Cabins

Address: 3710 S Discovery Rd, Port Townsend, WA 98368-9014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Port Townsend
Price Range: ₹ 7,092 - ₹ 19,342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chevy Chase Beach Cabins is a historic and charming getaway on the bluffs of Discovery Bay. Just 10 minutes from downtown Port Townsend, WA the seven well-appointed vacation cottages are available for rent year round. Six of the cottages are clustered together on the main property with sweeping views of Discovery Bay and the Olympic Mountains. The seventh cabin sits across the street providing exclusive privacy, excellent for bird watching, facing an idyllic pond and pasture. The property is beautifully landscaped, the cabins are tastefully decorated and our beds are super comfy. Four of the cabins have cozy fireplaces. There is private beach access perfect for long walks, picnics, clamming and bonfires. There is a heated pool (seasonal), rustic tennis court, swings, basketball hoop and assorted games (croquet, bocce ball, shuffleboard, tetherball, horseshoes, etc.) along with a huge DVD library and wireless internet. The property also sits across the street from Discovery Bay Golf Course, the oldest public golf course in Washington State. It is the perfect spot for couples, families, or large gatherings of friends. The rich history, warm hospitality and relaxed atmosphere at Chevy Chase Beach Cabins keep guests coming back year after year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chevy Chase Beach Cabins Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing