We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice place, poor service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vintage Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Orchard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Vintage Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Port Orchard
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Recently some friends of ours generously gave us a Groupon for a one night stay at this hotel. Even though it was free, we found ourselves rather disappointed. We had very similar experiences to other reviewers and I am amazed they are not making changes after all the bad reviews.

We spoke to one of the friendly owners over the phone and were given very basic instructions as we would be arriving "late" (after 2 pm). At this point we weren't worried, assuming that instructions and a room key would be left for us on the door, which has happened in the past at other location with no problems. We arrived at about 6pm to an empty house. There was a note on the door addressed to "dear guest", not our names, giving us the alarm code to the main house and two phone numbers. We looked for a key and found none. We entered our room, looked around, thought, "What do we do with our stuff while we go out for dinner? We can't lock the door without a key so ... we have to bring it all with us?" We stayed in the basement suite that faces the back alley so we decided to wander upstairs and see if anyone was around that we could speak to. On the front door of the house was a note from one of the owners saying she was "downstairs". Upon entering we found the house completely empty, even with snooping in every room!

We left for dinner with all our things in the car (having to leave our room unlocked). We then called the owner twice from the restaurant as we didn't want to use our phone from Canada because we would be charged an arm and a leg. She didn't answer. We left two messages saying we would be back around 8pm and it would be great if someone was there to answer our questions. No one was there when we returned. So we stayed the night feeling uneasy as we could not lock the door from the inside with the usual hotel lock and didn't know who had a key and might want to just wander in. We didn't wake up in time for breakfast but when my partner went upstairs to check out he expressed our concerns and she didn't seem worried about it at all. No apology and her excuse for lack of a key was that people kept stealing them! So you're saying there are many people running around out there who could have easily entered our room while we were sleeping?! "Yeah, I should put a code lock on the door" You think?

All in all, we felt like we stayed at a friend's house even though they had the audacity to charge $150 per night for the room we stayed in, which, by the way, also did not have a telephone in it and an ancient tube TV and VCR. The place itself is a very nice old home that is tastefully decorated (besides the TV). But the lack of hospitality certainly does not make the hefty price tag worth it. The two owners really need to take a course in hotel management if they want to make it in the competitive business world.

Room Tip: Don't go, but get the Grand Master if you dare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leazard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    1
    1
    0
    7
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stanwood, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Our experience is the same and the people just below us..Something must have happend between July and August and now March of 2012.. no one to greet us...never saw anyone. No breakfast, no coffee even. Our room did not look like the pictures even...just where were the curtains? I would have loved to draw the drape to block out the street light coming through the window. Bed sagged badly, towels were stained, no food....most recent information in the rooms was from 2008! It did feel eerie...never saw anyone...just notes that lead you around and made you wonder if you were in the right place. Heather was unresponsive to our emails and direct calls .....the bakery...the oasis, finally some coffee and yummy breads. Sorry though, the bakery isn't to be visitied again...3 hours is too far to drive just for coffee and bread. Maybe they don't really want to stay in bussiness? This was the worst Bed & Breakfast experience ever....its like staying at your friends house and they let you sleep in the tent in the backyard while they leave for the Hilton!!

Room Tip: Find another B&B quick
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Orchard hotels

seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We felt like the house was abandoned and we were intruders. No one was there when we arrived and we didn't know what room was ours. The kitchen unkempt and dirty dishes accumulated during our stay. The kitchen is part of the sitting area and very visible. The "continental breakfast' was late and stale. (There is a wonderful bakery downtown with fresh scones and coffee where we chose to go instead) The deck was cluttered with wet rugs hanging on rusty furniture. This was the view from the master suite! The spa tub in the newly remodeled bath filled with brown water! Yuk..forget that! I could go on with other horror stories but what makes this even worse is when I discussed these concerns with the owner, Heather, she seemed grateful for our sharing, offering to reimburse half the cost of the stay. It now has been two months and multiple e-mails later and we have received nothing. She doesn't answer us. The customer services is even worse than the Hotel..if that's possible!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank awaytoplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

This place is a bed and breakfast set up in a historic house that used to be the home of the town treasurer. The house even has a walk-in safe where all of the records used to be kept.
The house itself is a good mix of antique and modern decor. Enough vintage things to make it feel quaint, but not enough to make it feel like Grandma's house. Each of the rooms are very unique and spacious. The upstairs safari room even has a balcony overlooking the harbor, a kitchenette, and a jack and jill bathroom with the adjacent pink room.
While someone comes to make breakfast, it is not your traditional B&B. FIrst, the proprietor doesn't live there. In fact, we didn't see another person until the second day. We just walked in, found a note, and went up to out stairs. We pretty much had the entire house to ourselves. Which leads to the second difference, which is not knowing at first whether or not we were actually going to get breakfast. We waited around toying with the idea to just start digging into the half eaten chocolate cake that was left in the fridge only to finally hear someone shuffle through the door a little after 9am. It wasn't the proprietor, but a girl that was hired to come in and do the cooking (french toast, strawberries, sausage, etc.).
The house itself is blacks away from downtown and is nice to walk through, especially if the farmer's market is going on down by the harbor.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahorais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Orchard
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bremerton
2.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Seattle Bremerton
4.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 8 in Bremerton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#3 of 8 in Bremerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
4.2 km away
Oyster Bay Inn & Suites
Oyster Bay Inn & Suites
#8 of 8 in Bremerton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.4 km away
Days Inn Port Orchard
Days Inn Port Orchard
#3 of 4 in Port Orchard
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vintage Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vintage Inn

Property: The Vintage Inn
Address: 703 Kitsap Street, Port Orchard, WA 98366 (Formerly Hidden Treasures Boutique Hotel)
Region: United States > Washington > Port Orchard
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Port Orchard
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing