We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the Beach and very comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pacific Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sand Dollar Inn and Cottages
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Close to the Beach and very comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

The staff was wonderful and helpful. Rooms comfortable and clean. Short walk to the beach.. Has a BBQ and cleaning station behind for clams and fish. I would recommend to all I know.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kcope77355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed in the penthouse unit, which was really like a small apartment. The views from the room were nice, and there were wicker recliners in the bedroom you could use to relax with a glass of wine to enjoy them. The bed was comfortable, but the pull-out sofabed was lumpy and uncomfortable. Though we didn't use the full-service kitchen, it had all the appliances you would need to get you through a few days, or a week, and who wouldn't want to cook while watching the ocean waves coming in and listening to the surf? There was a nice TV and a Teac stereo radio, but we could only get one station.

The unit was clean, but it had an odor that may have been coming from the bathroom (?) septic system. It smelled like a pelican had lost its' meal of fish or something, and, no matter what I did, I couldn't get rid of it. That spoiled the experience. Otherwise, it would be a great spot for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb46409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

We spent a very pleasant but rainy March day here. The views from the picture windows of the penthouse are fabulous (even and perhaps especially in the rain). The master bedroom has a large comfortable bed and two chaise loungers as well. There's a set of binoculars with which to watch the waves and the birds. The kitchen is well stocked with utensils and we suggest you come supplied with groceries (although there are a few spots in town who could probably use your business.) The wifi in the room is spotty but we found signal using the counter in the kitchen. The beach is just outside your door. The manager was pleasant and helpful. There's a TV, stereo and DVD in the living room as well as a small fold out couch.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RioGrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

We stayed in Room 4 in July 2009 (2009 wasn't a choice). There was a picture of the room on the website and it was exactly as described. It was perfect for our family - neat and clean with everything we needed. Outside the door was a balcony that ran the length of the building, with chairs to sit out if we'd had time. The beds were comfortable (even the futon), and we were glad to be able to spread out through the 3 rooms instead of staying in a chain hotel room. The walk to the beach was easy and quick, but we were sorry that the fog hadn't lifted by the time we needed to head out in the morning. I wished we'd had more time to spend there, but we were doing a circle tour of the area and had to move on.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedBarn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2008

We tied a few days on the coast to a trip to Seattle for a conference. Pacific Beach is SMALL, and the weather was much cooler than we expected due to constant haze and a steady wind (not breeze, WIND) off the ocean. It's about 20 degrees cooler than Seattle in the summer, not factoring for wind chill, so bring sweatshirts and a jacket.

But it was exactly what we wanted--no crowds, no cell phone service, no phone in the room. The beach is amazing--not manicured, just nature doing its thing. We sat on driftwood logs watching seagulls and crabs for hours, found beachglass and shells, then would head back to the cabin to warm up. The beach is long, flat and wide; you could spend all day walking if you chose.

The cottage we stayed in was very well appointed, and looked to be either extremely well maintained or newly renovated. We could have cooked every meal there but chose not to because we were being so lazy. Full size fridge, full size stove, microwave, and coffee maker. It was a two bedroom, but we felt it would have been tight quarters with two more adults. And even though we joked about it when I made the reservation, The fireplace was very welcome in June (ok, we're from Texas--it was 95 degrees ehre when we left). The beach was about a block away, and it was visible from the front porch. The cabin blocked a lot of the wind, so we used the porch when we still wanted to be outside but get out of the wind. The manager onsite was extremely friendly and helpful on recommendations. The units
are dog friendly, too, and we wished we could have brought ours-they would have loved the beach. The exterior of the Sand Dollar motel next door did look like it had seen better days, but from the seciond floor I'll bet the ocean view was amazing. Definitely stay in a cottage for creature comforts, though.

The coffee shop up the block had wonderful pastries for breakfast, and also internet service if we felt like seeing what was happening in the rest of the world. All the restaurants in town (4 or 5) shut down pretty early, so plan ahead. The restaurant at the old Navy base was open latest and has a bar, and the food was simple but very good. Falcon Nest had excellent shakes and onion rings, and make sure to try the salmon burger.

We went up to the National Forest one day and hiked around. Amazing how a 30 minute drive totally changed the terrain as well as the weather! Sunny and warm inland, while overcast and very cool on the coast. We ate lunch overlooking Lake Quinault, and saw the world's largest spruce tree and several waterfalls, too. We also drove down to Ocean Shores another day, but not much to see there except tourist-y stores.

Not a resort area by far--just a sleepy, quiet town on the beach. It was wonderful.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 944s993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Beach
4.1 km away
Hi-Tide Ocean Beach Resort
18.5 km away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
#10 of 14 in Ocean Shores
3.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
23.0 km away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#6 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
21.8 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#7 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
21.4 km away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Dollar Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dollar Inn and Cottages

Property: Sand Dollar Inn and Cottages
Address: 56 Central Avenue, Pacific Beach, WA 98571
Region: United States > Washington > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,544 - ₹ 8,700
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sand Dollar Inn is just one block from the ocean for long beach walks. We offer 1 & 2 bedroom guest rooms and Cottages designed for family fun and romantic getaways. The Pacific Beach area is known for pristine beaches and natural beauty without the crowds. The perfect place to relax, reflect, fly kites, build sand castles, or just enjoy a campfire. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sand Dollar Hotel Pacific Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing