We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western College Way Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Won't stay again”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We pulled into Mt Vernon on the last day of our 12 day vacation, needing a room close to the border for the night and since we like Best Western Motel/hotels, it was a "no-brainer". Unfortunately, we were very disappointed. As other reviewers said, the lady in the office was very friendly, but that didn't make up for a dirty room. I kicked off my shoes when I walked in and in a few minutes, noticed how black my socks had become from the carpet. We wanted a cup of coffee so set up the inroom coffee machine only to find it also dirty and still holding the used coffee grounds from the last use. The small bottle of shampoo was 3/4 empty so I just threw it away. The shower had hair in it and the bath mat that had been evidentally used by the last customer was left hanging wet in the side of the tub, dripping on the floor. We were tired so we called it an early night but we felt that we should have just hit the border and not stopped to stay there. One nice thing besides the lady in the office though was the complimentary breakfast. At least that was very nice. We won't be staying there ever again. One last thing is that we stayed in 2 other BW during our trip down to Calif, (Yreka, and Sacremento) and they were not only less expensive, but also a nice place to stay, unlike Mt Vernon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stef D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    141
    88
    27
    17
See reviews for
102
137
37
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I agree with some of the comments made by another reviewer: the lady at the check-in (sorry, I didn't get her name) was cheerful, quick, efficient and knowledgeable about good places to eat. We chose the nearby Chinese restaurant which was excellent. I also heard the trains (mostly because they blew their whistles at 3:30 in the morning) and faint traffic noise from the I-5 so if you are a light sleeper, ear plugs might be a good idea.

The hotel has easy access to the I-5; our second-floor room had a small balcony and faced the pool and the large, grassy 'courtyard' area (I think most of the rooms are set up this way). It was clean and the king-sized bed was comfortable; wi-fi signal was good; the TV was fine. Our room had a coffee maker, a small fridge and a microwave.The bathroom sink was separate from the bathroom itself and this area was quite small- my wife and I were constantly bumping into each other; the large walk-in shower was great with lots of hot water and good pressure. There was no tub in our room-so you might want to check that out if you prefer to bathe rather than to shower. Breakfast was a bit on the spartan side-but included biscuits and gravy, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, juices etc. Enough to get you started for the day.

Room Tip: ask for a 'quiet' room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MesaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

One of The best part of the hotel is the very nice clerk that checked us in . She was really pleasant, and helpful. Also the Chinese restaurant right next door was pretty good with awesome soup! ( Fortune chinese restaurant)
The bed was very comfortable too- unfortunately I didn't sleep a wink, literally never longer than 45 minutes at a stretch because out neighbor had a booming type of voice and it was so loud in our room they seemed to be up all night. There are also trains that go by in the middle of the night-- so bring earplugs!! ( note to self!) Also the heat is supplied by baseboard heaters that make a lot of noise-- not a steady type of white noise, but an intermittent snapping .
The room was very clean, if outdated. A close walk to Walmart, very convenient to the freeway.
I really wanted to give this a better review, but couldn't due to the loudness of our room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dingham605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Very clean and comfortable rooms with huge walk in shower. The staff were very helpful and courteous. Will definitely stay again. Great location for the shopping in Burlington and close to beautiful Anacortes.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paoli, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

stayed 1 night, room was clean but in need of updating. Looks like the entire hotel is in need of major renovating. The breakfast was very good with lots of choices. I wouldn't stay here for a lengthy time but it is ok for a night

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Vernon
1.0 km away
Best Western Plus Skagit Valley Inn and Convention Center
0.6 km away
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon
#4 of 5 in Mount Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Days Inn Mt. Vernon
Days Inn Mt. Vernon
#5 of 5 in Mount Vernon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Mount Vernon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.9 km away
Candlewood Suites Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western College Way Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western College Way Inn

Property: Best Western College Way Inn
Address: 300 West College Way, Mount Vernon, WA 98273-5424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,573 - ₹ 10,498
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western College Way Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western College Way Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western College Way Hotel Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Best Western
Best Western Mount Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing