We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boardwalk Cottages
Nearby Hotels
US$ 132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adrift Hotel and Spa(Long Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Long Beach Inn(Long Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 170
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites(Long Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Anchorage Cottages(Long Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 175
US$ 149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chautauqua Lodge(Long Beach)
US$ 121
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 182
US$ 178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
73
24
13
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
24
13
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporch swingsea rosegas fireplacewithin walking distancehot tubrainy weekendsmall propertycoffee supplieseach cottagesofa bedsmall fridgerecommend staying herediscovery trailclose to townfull kitchencape disappointmenttwo nights
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The positive things about this establishment: The beds were very comfortable; located within a short distance of shops, eateries and the beach; quiet. The negative things about this establishment: Parking is horrible (Why did we have to park, at the end of the building, when our cottage was in the middle of the building? If anything, we should have been able to park in front of the building while the people staying at the end of the building park there); no muffins/continental breakfast as advertised (the owners take vacation in January/February and don't provide this during that time. Next time, please indicate this in your write up rather than our finding out several days later when looking at room info in the room - it seems like false advertising); toilet leak in the Tea Rose cottage (water got all over the floor and on my pajama bottoms!); showers only in the smaller cottages (I ended up being sick the entire trip and would have loved to soak in a hot bubble bath). We enjoyed ourselves in the Starfish (?) cottage and that had lots of room for $10.00 more. However, since we had booked the Tea Rose Cottage, and the Starfish Cottage was booked for the other two nights, we had to switch over on Saturday. Also, the small refrigerator (in the Tea Rose cottage) had a busted freezer door. No, it's unlikely that we will stay here again. We've stayed at better/larger facilities for less money. We really didn't feel like we were welcome guests!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tosume2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We had a family gathering at Boardwalk Cottages in July for the Sandsations event. We try to book early so that we can get SeaUrchin and SeaShell, that each accomodate six. The grkids love being together and we've been meeting at Boardwalk Cottages for about 8 years.
My favorite cottage is Starfish for myself, and is also perfect if my husband is with me.
I appreciate the No Smoking and No Pets allowed. At one time or another we've stayed in just about every one of the cottages. They have always been very clean and Pat does a wonderful job with her decorating, keeping up with the flowers and treats for breakfast.
We've stayed at 3 - 4 other places in the last 21 years, and have found Boardwalk Cottages to be the best of all!

Room Tip: Look online for the size cottage to fit your party.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This was our fourth time staying at the Boardwalk Cottages. The cottages are in a great location, one block from the main street and downtown businesses in Long Beach and one block to the boardwalk at the beach. We have always stayed in the Sand Piper room which has one queen bed, a love seat hide-a-bed, microwave, two burner stove, refrigerator, full size coffee pot, and flat screen tv. In the morning there is some type of baked goods offered.

The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Since there are only 10 cottages, the property has always been very quiet. It is obvious that the owners, Pat and Bill, take great pride in owning their lodging because every time we have been there they have been doing something to keep the property maintained. They are very helpful with recommendations for local restaurants and activities in the Long Beach area.

We would highly recommend this property and we will stay there again when we are back in Long Beach.

You may find newer accommodations but you will not find a property where the owners are any nicer nor the rooms cleaner or more comfortable that at the Boardwalk Cottages.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gdw993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This is such a great place to stay! Had a very nice relaxing weekend in this beautifully decorated cottage. Very comfy beds and the morning scones are WONDERFUL! Very nicely located next to several restaurants and theater so you don't have to drive anywhere. However if you want to go sight seeing there is much to do and hikes to take in this area. Thank you so much for the wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: Try the jacuzzi suite! Very relaxing!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We rented 3 cottages for a group get together of 10 people and it made it very convenient to be so close together. We also enjoyed the closeness to the beach and town. The rooms were clean, cozy and perfect sizes for us all! The cranberry lemon scones were delicious! We will come back for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews