We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (670)
Filter reviews
670 results
Traveller rating
577
68
16
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
68
16
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bavarian breakfast boiled eggs herzog suite authentic bavarian sliced meats steam room coffee cake owners and staff in town breakfast room warm hospitality european style yogurt romantic getaway the main street shops and restaurants visiting leavenworth
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 670 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Having a-first-time-to-see-each-other-reunion in 40 years, Yes, 40 years, 3 girlfriends - one of us from Scotland, one from Canada and one from the U.S., spent 2 nights and 3 days on a mini-adventure together in Leavenworth, WA. An unequaled "Bavarian" village in the Bavarian looking mountains of Washington State, our stay at the Hotel Pension Anna was superlative in every way. First, we stepped through the portal, and like the wardrobe of Narnia, felt like we were transported to Bavaria, beginning with a "welcome" that was at once oh so warm and friendly and yet still professional. Our room was scrupulously clean, equipped with everything you'd need, and just plain charming, with hand painted furniture, an overstuffed chair great for reading or resting after walking, and perfectly wonderful down comforters, accompanied with instructions for what to do, if you get too warm. You have to read it yourself :-) Breakfasts are so lovely, that they became a real highlight of our stay. The breakfast room is a light, airy room, so perfectly adorned I felt I could stay for hours and just soak up the ambiance. It is definitively "Bavarian cute" without being even a smidgeon "kitschy". The food is thoughtfully chosen, to continue to transport you to Bavaria, both delicious, and deliciously presented, with perfectly cooked eggs, your choice soft boiled or hard, savory thin sliced meats, melt in your mouth cheeses, with a yummy mustard sauce, yogurt, chilled fruits, a scrumptious muesli, and a fragrant moist coffee cake, all perfectly accompanied by juice, coffee and tea. And then there is the staff and owners who are simply superb. It is clear that staff Lee and Donann wish to do whatever is in their power to make your stay sensational. Friendly, knowledgeable, they are on the lookout for the extras, both large and small to help you make memories. While Lee served us our first breakfast she enthusiastically answered are questions of where to eat. Later in the afternoon when the three of us had picked up a portable charcuterie from the shops and returned to the hotel to eat it, we asked for some hot water for tea. Donann not only gave us the hot water, but filled heated metal tea thermos' and seated us upstairs on a lovely balcony with a mountain view, making sure we had plates and cutlery. Then there are Gary and Michele, owners extraordinaire. Dressed handsomely in leiderhosen and dirndls, they are unequaled proprietors. They certainly care about their guests, and enjoy finding out about their visitors. They share about themselves and whatever tidbits might make your stay even better. Of course, Pension Anna is a romantic place to stay for spouses, but it was also perfect for our "International Girl Friend" reunion. My husband and I have also stayed before with our children, and now our adult children go back their with their families. Yes, Gary and Michele's Hotel Pension Anna is a dreamy and divine place for a vacation respite. Just what a get away should be and more! Make memories and Pamper Yourselves at Pension Anna. You might just see and hear Gary playing his huge Alphorn outside and you may have to pinch yourself to be sure you aren't in Bavaria.

Room Tip: The Alta Kapelle, is our favorite, but we have loved every room in which we have stayed.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 24trulyscrumptious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodgar, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Wow !!! What a review you wrote. It was our pleasure to host your reunion and we are happy to hear all went well.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Amazing personal attention. Luxe rooms. Authentic atmosphere. Central location. Parking. Yummy breakfast. Gary & Michele are the perfect hosts and on the scene. Not some "bed in a box" motel but a place to call home for a few days. Staying here added so much to our total Leavenworth experience, so much better than staying out of town and trying to find parking...plus the owners are active in the total gestalt of the town....probably the only place anywhere where the owner plays the Alpenhorn!

Stayed: September 2017
Thank tom b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodgar, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

We are indeed pleased that Pension Anna was able to add to your total Leavenworth experience. It is such an unique little place that staying in the heart of the village does heighten your overall experience. Thank you for sending your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We have visited Leavenworth several times over the years but it was usually a day trip or just passing through. This was a less hurried trip and our stay at the hotel added so much to our experience; it so much character and the furnishings and decor are authentic. It is only one block from the themed restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: The rooms are NOT cookie cutter; each has it own decor and Bavarian name.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChehalisSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodgar, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Yes aren't we in a great location! So close to shops and restaurants. We love to suggest to our guests to walk along the river, it is also close by.
Thank you for your review and hope you can come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We stayed at Hotel-pension Anna the 12th and 13th of September. Just iike a previous stay here, we were again delighted with the exquisitely personable service and attention to detail afforded to us! The complimentary, hearty and traditional German breakfast served in the quaint and authentically Bavarian-styled breakfast room was a highlight each day. During breakfast, the owners spent some time engaging us in conversation with the goal of imparting knowledge of the area with its tourist treasures. As owner hosts they made us feel so welcome without intruding on our privacy. Each room in the hotel is unique and decorated authentically in the style of Bavaria, Germany. The hotel is adult-oriented, quiet, peaceful and a real treasure to behold!

Room Tip: There are mid-range priced rooms and some luxury rooms available.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodgar, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

We are happy your stay at this little boutique Hotel was so enjoyable . Yes we are about as authentic as you can get while still in the USA. The mountains in our area certainly lend to the real Bavarian countryside. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

I stayed here with my husband and his parents recently and while I have never been to Germany, they lived there when my husband was a child. All three of them couldn't get over how authentic the hotel was and my mother in law even said "if I close my eyes, I feel like I'm back in Germany". It was nice to know that I was experiencing something so authentic. From my own perspective, the staff was amazing and very helpful with recommending things to do (hiking, shopping, dining, etc), the rooms were amazing and the owners were on site and amazing as well. I love that they keep the unoccupied rooms open for you to view if you choose to. Thank you for an amazing experience and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sundevilgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodgar, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

We love to have guests who have lived in Germany stay with us as they know how truly authentic the Pension Anna is. It is a replica of a pension on the way to Innsbruck and we make every effort to keep it as authentic as possible.
Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews