We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
88
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews carriage house dahlia room labor of love bed and breakfast b and b breakfast was delicious nearby town water fountain short drive anniversary trip grounds are beautiful enjoyed our stay olympic peninsula jen woodwork julio woods
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

A wonderful journey to a mystical, enchanted Forest retreat. Jen made us feel like family and made my birthday celebration extra special. Thank you Jen. We will see you again soon!
Next time we are going to try one of the carriage houses.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bryce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

One of the most uncomplicated get-aways we have had in a long time. =) The Inn is so well laid out, so clear, so clean and so lovely that there is nothing to worry about. We stayed in the Dahlia Room, which feels cozy, warm and has a lovely fountain outside the window. Jen, the Inn Keeper, is so tried and true. She is an absolutely professional at her job while still being personable and enjoyable. Her dinner recommendation was spot on and not a place we would have found on our own. We enjoyed the Inn's DVD collection the first night and then used the Wifi to stream Netflix the next night. Our breakfast both mornings was creative, delicious and very satisfying. Not too big, not too small. The common living and dining room with beverage service and a commiunity fridge make this B&B very user-friendly and flexible. I highly recommend The Bear's Lair, the surrounding area is stunning and very close to the Olympic Peninsula and Tacoma - not to mention the property itself is one very large, mature garden-scape and so beautifully done.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

This place is just beautiful, inside and out. Lovely gardens with water features, and ponds and huge trees.
The inside is well decorated with a warm and a welcoming feeling.

Great hot breakfast to start your day :)

Room tip: Each room is wonderful.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank westernskylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

This was our first stay at Bear's Lair, but it won't be our last. Quiet, idyllic setting, beautiful accommodations, delightful hosts, delicious food. There is woodwork everywhere - beautiful, breathtaking woodwork - all created by the hosts. We can't recommend it highly enough. It is a short drive to picturesque Gig Harbor, where there is shopping, theaters and restaurants. But just relaxing in the our room was the best part. The hosts have an amazing story, well worth learning about.

Room tip: There are three rooms in the main house, and a small cottage available. All are beautifully appointed.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

You can stay in a room in the main building or rent the separate cottage just steps away.
This is a Five Star property and location close to everything in Gig Harbor.
The owners are the best and will take extra good care of you!
Breakfast is excellent!
Enjoy!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Cliff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews