We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A nice off-season getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A nice off-season getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed in #14, which is a one bedroom cabin that looks out over the water, but isn't right on the beach like many of the others. I actually like it better in some ways, because it has more privacy and the view is great. Also, it is one of the cabins with a small TV and DirectTV, which was good since the weather was rainy and windy. We spent some nice decompression time reading and watching TV with a fire crackling in the woodstove. The mattress is newer in this cabin, and it seems like a good one. Our dog was welcome, for an extra $18/night. This extra charge seems a little steep to me since I don't think they'll need to do any extra cleaning because he was there.

Room Tip: Ask about TV, woodstove, and age of mattress. Some cabins are okay for pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArmenInSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    58
    16
    10
    20
See reviews for
114
62
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sharpsburg, GA
Level Contributor
170 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

For such a beautiful area, this camping facility is unsatisfying! We thought we had a "find" when we were able to camp in such a lovely area - wrong! We thought we had asked all the right questions (we are seasoned campers), but they didn't reveal all of the extras until after you sign on the dotted line and pay. We camped in the overflow area which was right beside the sewer, allowed no campfires, and we had to pay for showers. It was not worth what we payed. I would rather have stayed at a hotel for a bit more money!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C-02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12419
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Great spot cabin3 ,2 bdrms, kit etc
Great host quik trip to town for what u need

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroad12419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

This was the best vacation we've taken in years. We still haven't gotten over it. The sound of the waves crashing on shore put us to sleep every night. We slept so well that when we returned to Texas, we had to use a sound machine to sleep. West Beach is perfect for anyone who wants to de-stress! It is very quiet, away from any kind of hustle and bustle. The cabin was clean and had everything we needed. The beds were very comfortable. No TV, radio, or phone! That is a plus for us. We wanted to get away from everything and that is what we did. We went too early to see the whales pass through but, are planning our next trip to time it right for whale watching. If we lived closer, we would make this a monthly get away. The town of Eastsound is great! There are great shops for just about anything you can imagine. The prices in the grocery store are very reasonable. There are some very good restaurants and a nice library. I cannot wait to return to West Beach Resort!

Room Tip: Rooms toward the end of the beach feel more open and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katsmom84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seahurst, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

As a rule, I don't write "reviews"...perhaps it is a lazy habit poor in form....but West Beach Resort transends all my bad habits. The staff was exeptional, caring, personable and made us feel like we were in the company of friends. The cabin (We stayed in #12) was the perfect fit and we could not have been happier with our 3 day weekend. Crabbing, fishing, visiting the natives in Eastsound...all in all it was exactly what my wife and I needed after a tough 2 years of rediculous mishaps. It is of no wonder why they are booked a year in advance during the summer, but DO NOT dismiss the beauty and magnificent everything of the area in the winter.
This place should be the number one place on Orcas. Period.

Room Tip: Cabins 1-12 are right on the water. Avoid Cabin 13...it's kinda small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
3.7 km away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
5.8 km away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#1 of 11 in Orcas Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
7.5 km away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 km away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
17.5 km away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
17.7 km away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Resort

Property: West Beach Resort
Address: 190 Waterfront Way, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,875 - ₹ 11,943
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront and ocean view cottages on a prime walk-out sand/pebble beach. We face due west for spectacular sunsets. 5 minutes from Eastsound. An amazing family vacation destination in the summer; a romantic retreat in the winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your West Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Hotel Eastsound
West Beach Eastsound
West Beach Resort Orcas Island/Eastsound

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing