We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveller rating
301
52
6
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
301
52
6
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop garden walla walla continental breakfast train depot antique furniture bowl of fresh fruit victorian era historic hotel charming town modern amenities comfortable beds wonderful hotel palouse falls patit creek restaurant fire pit first floor lobby
Filter
Updating list...
359 - 363 of 363 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2008

We drove here to see Palouse Falls. The falls at this time of year was worth the trip. The motel was a quaint sneak back in time, while over-priced for this out-of-the-way place.

However, their advertised "continental breakfast" was underwhelming; small, cold muffins, no butter, sparse tea selection. For $95 and their hype of history, I expected a more decent spread for breakfast. Fruit would have been welcome.

You could stay in nearby Walla Walla for less and still see the same sights, but without th historic hype and price.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank Sheskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelshellie, owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2008

Each room at the Weinhard has a basket of fresh fruit and chocolate. This is complimentary and in the room when you arrive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2007

We stayed one night in Room 3 on the first floor of the Weinhard at the start of Dayton Days. The building and decorations are very nice, but we were underwhelmed at the reception we received from the woman on duty. She seemed much more interested in warning us that we would be charged $200 if they found we had smoked in our room than asking us questions or offering us assistance. I certainly did not feel welcomed, but our room was very comfortable and interesting. The rest of the town was much more friendly, and we enjoyed the parade and walking tour of historic houses very much!

The hotel featured an ancient pair of musicians for one hour in the evening, along with complimentary sparkling cider, but we walked to the Patit Creek restaurant for a delicious, long French meal instead.

Overall, I was content but not impressed with our stay at the Weinhard. The price of room was not justified by the dour reception and lack of personalized service. I like to hope that our experience was unusual, but I don't know that I would pay another $95 to find out.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DDawnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2006

We stayed at the Weinhard Hotel in mid-August 2006. The hotel is on the historic register and quite lovely. The hotel is furnished in period pieces from the turn of the century. We had an upstairs room #9 that can be connected to #8 if you open a mutual door. #9 and #8 (2 twins) were very spacious and tastefully decorated. It was very clean, nice size bathroom (and modern), quality toiletries, etc. Also, quality chocolates on the bed.

There are no alarm clocks or clocks of any kind in either room. #8,9 and 10 face out onto Highway 26 and were quite noisy. It might bother some people. We were tired and it didn't phase us. Also, the hotel has no elevator (and the stairs were steep, but wide). There are some rooms on the first floor though.

The morning breakfast was nice with good coffee, tea and tasty fresh muffins (not Costco!). I believe there is a snack in the evening too. There is a lovely 2nd story deck in the back with lavender and flowers planted all around. You have a view over an old train station and some houses and then the rolling fields of the Palouse in the distance.

Very nice hotel and nice people there.

3  Thank happytrailsagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2006

What a wonderful hotel. From the moment we walked in it felt like a step back in time. Our room was gorgeous. We had a view of the roof top terrace right outside our window. We ate our breakfast out there every morning. We stayed for 4 days and 3 nights and enjoyed ourselves immensely. The town of Dayton has some wonderful things to see. The train museum was very neat. The house tour was amazing. The Lewis and Clark camp statues were so real looking. We just had an amazing time.

  • Stayed: July 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank watson05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews