We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect for my 8-9 year olds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Centralia
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect for my 8-9 year olds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

First time for us to visit the water park and we picked father's day weekend(?!?). In all fairness the place was very busy, but I think any weekend in the summer is probably just as bad. Check in was very quick, but if I had checked in on the internet it would have been instant (separate place and no line). We got instant upgrade to the Den for an extra $40 and the kids totally thought it was worth it. Seeing they were only in the room to sleep I'll disagree a little. The slides were always busy, but the lines were no more than 10 minutes for anything except the tornado. All in all a pretty good night, but bring your snacks and keep them in the room to save money!

Room Tip: I picked a room above the 5th floor to keep away from the magiQuest game and was happy I did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krudean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    719
    495
    249
    126
See reviews for
2,059
18
1
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed for one night in a king balcony room and opted for the late check out option so we could enjoy the water areas through the less crowded lunch hour. Room was not quite ready but worth waiting for as we ate two meals on our little balcony overlooking the spa and outdoor splash play area as well as this mom enjoying early morning quiet and coffee outside while child slept soundly. Our floor four room was large and equipped well for our needs. Located at the far end of the hall, we found quiet from the game area by the stairs and lift. Love the in room safe and electronic band lock system for security while in water park so no need to have a bag along while playing. Magic quest was a blast and all of the trips on the stairs made for plenty of exercise. For us, the day and a half here was just enough and we were ready to go relax in town the second night, but for a larger family two nights might be a better option since park admission is included. Food was a decent value, decor was fun, staff was terrific and very safe as lifeguards here are attentive. We enjoyed this short stay as much as a Disney trip for the value and relative proximity to our home and other trip activities.

Room Tip: Avoid lower floors and rooms near stairs and elevators due to gaming activity as there will be excit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oregonbasedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We enjoyed a great stay back in November 2011 with our family of four. We stayed in a Kid Kamp room, with bunk beds and a separate little hideaway for the kids. They loved it. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The fridge and microwave allowed for snacks and small meals to be stored and heated as necessary. Friends were also staying at the Lodge and the kids ran from room to room with no worries and lots of fun.
The aquatic facilities are large and there is something for every age group. Our kids are young teens and ran free without us worrying at all. The adults enjoyed the water slides and hot tubs, and the fact that you could get drinks to enjoy poolside.
The staff were friendly and accommodating, particularly in the Arcade, where our kids spent much of their non-pool time (and our money). Our kids are a bit too old for the MagiQuest adventure, but our friend's children enjoyed it immensely, and recommended it highly for the 10 and under set. Overall, a great family holiday spot!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheTravellingMomYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Overall our experience at the Great Wolf was great until the last four hours of our stay! I would have rated the lodge a 4.5 if we hadn’t had such annoying last few hours. We stayed on a weekday with four adults and two three year old boys in the family suite. Our hotel room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. We had a problem with our fridge not working when we arrived to our room but maintenance was called within minutes to have it fixed. But it was still leaking onto the floor all night. I would NOT recommend having a room on the first or second floor because this is where most of the actives take place so you will defiantly hear kids running in the halls doing the magic quest.
As for the water park I have never seen such a clean water park with such great and attentive life guards!! If something were to happen to my son I would not have a doubt in my mind that the life guards would be there within seconds. I saw multiple reviews online stating the life guards were rude but not once did I see this. They have rules for the safety of our children and the only time I ever herd the life guards being “mean” was if kids were running on the concrete or getting to close to the edges in the wave pool. On the day of check out the water park was almost empty so we got to enjoy it even more.
We requested and paid for a late check out so the kids could get a nap in before we had to be out of the room but what a WASTE of time and money! We took a break from the water park to get a snack and let the kids nap at 11:15, as we got to our room the housekeepers asked if we had a late check out and we told them yes at 2pm. Between 12p and 2pm we had housekeeping walk into our room three separate times while we were trying to get the kids to take a nap.
Ugh then came check-out, WHAT A NIGHTMARE!!!!! When we went to pay for our half of the room we explained to the young man checking us out about the situation with the housekeeping coming into our room and his reply was “OH”, no apology NOTHING! Why should we have to pay for a late checkout when we were constantly bothered by housekeeping? We then told him we would like to split the bill and pay for half of it and boy was this a huge mistake. He said okay then said nothing and walked away leaving us standing at the front desk wondering what he was doing. We then stood at the desk waiting for close to twenty minutes for him to return and when he did he did not apologize for the wait and or did he explain why he left. A few seconds after her returned his manager came up and helped him with splitting the bill. I would say this is close to the worst customer service I have ever received and by this time I just wanted to be done and head home. I would love to be able to bring my family back to the lodge but not sure if it’s worth dealing with the hassle of checkout.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bwashington_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynden, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Just came back from a trip to the Great Wolf Lodge. We went as a family of 5 (kids are 17, 14, 11 years old). We had a nice time, but here's an objective take:


1) I have absolutely no complaints about this hotel. They have excellent accommodations with clean rooms and a clean water park. The staff was helpful and friendly. And, I was impressed that the in-house food prices are reasonable considering its a hotel. (Pizza Hut personal pans around $6.50 / Hamburgers around $9 / Mixed drink around $4 --- yes you can get beer/alcohol in the water park!)

2) For best enjoyment of the water park, your child should be at least 42". This is the height required to do every ride. It's a nice water park considering it's inside, but it's NOT huge. The main attractions are the 4 pretty big slides where you use a tube: two can hold 4 riders at a time; the other 2 rides are single or doubles. There are 2 small slides to do with out a tube and a wave pool that goes up to 5 ft deep. And, there's a water fortress to climb on, shoot people with water, and stand under a 1000 gallon bucket that pours a typhoon of water every so often. There are other pools and an indoor/outdoor hot tub, too.

3) Before you go... think Disneyland hoopla! It's childhood mania from wands to ears to themed rooms to animated animals, etc. Kids are running around everywhere having a good time. BUT for best enjoyment of the hotel atmosphere in general, ages 11 and under. They do have a teen club ($5 entrance fee at night) and an arcade, but the true theme is catered to a younger crowd. We didn't do the Magiquest (our kids are older) but it seemed like a great activity for the younger kids to safely run around and explore the entire hotel when parents are water-logged. Kids 7-11 could easily do this on their own and follow clues and instructions, the little ones (non-avid readers) just used the wand to open clues and turn everything on while their parents were reading and listening and writing down!

4) Be ready for lines on the weekend. You may have paid $400+ for your room and feel special, but they will still pack you in to the water park. On average its 15 minutes per tube ride. Again, think Disneyland / DisneyWorld or any other water theme park. The wave pool is also very crowded, (dangerously so, in my opinion) so if your child can't swim use the complementary life jackets and keep them close. The lines are my biggest complaint and disappointment. The 10-20 second rides were not really worth the wait to me.

5) Overall, I think it was an overpriced tourist trap. But, sometimes you want to do the tourist trap thing, right? It was a very nice hotel, but we have just as much fun in the nearby indoor Recreation Center with a big slide, diving boards, and wave pool for $10/family. Even our little waterslide park nearby (though also pricey) has more options and is just as fun with the same wait time or less. Should you do it once? Yes, probably, if your kids are under 11 and fit the height criteria. But I honestly don't see the hype the advertising makes that would make this a "family tradition" for us. Maybe I'm just a simple girl at heart.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centralia
9.3 km away
Olympic Club Hotel & Theater
14.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Chehalis - Centralia
16.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Place Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Lucky Eagle Casino & Hotel
27.4 km away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
22.0 km away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Tumwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 20500 Old Highway 99, SW, Centralia, WA 98531
Region: United States > Washington > Centralia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Centralia
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,136 - ₹ 33,930
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 398
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Centralia
Great Wolf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing