We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to get away.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place to get away.”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This hotel is quiet, peaceful and relaxing. I had read other people's reviews about railroad noise and was a little concerned but it was minimal and frankly, the view of the water and the close access to Fairhaven as well as Bellingham made it well worth it. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and lovely and I enjoyed my time there as a getaway.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieOSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    113
    40
    16
    24
See reviews for
50
214
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My sister and I spent two nights, they were very kind to us even though we were travelling with a young child, who was not on best behaviour. Rooms were impeccably clean. No bad smells or "air freshener" types of smells.The bath was amazing (huge and relaxing) The surroundings were tranquil and we all had a great sleep. The rooms were nicely decorated. The trains aren't that bad, and there are ear plugs after all. Breakfast was much nicer than expected included eggs, sausage,breads a good fruit salad etc. Great location very walkable. Overall a very relaxing trip, looking forward to staying again. I think the price is good, after all, you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The rooms were great, the service was great, the view was great, the breakfast was good. The only problem was the fact that the train travels about 6 feet away from the hotel.

Room Tip: I've heard higher floors have less train noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeeTheWorld000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We recently stayed at the Chrysalis after an absence of several years. Although i would still recommend it there are some drawbacks. The positives : The rooms are lovely, done in restful earthtones with comfy beds and a very nice bathroom. However, prices have gone up significantly and I think a bit overpriced now given they are pretty much on the railroad track. At those prices I do NOT want to hear trains rumbling by numerous times each night blowing their horns! Also, the dvd's they lend out are very old ( and are way past due for updating) There is no exercize facility at the hotel. , They now charge $6/adult for the breakfast, if you wish to partake,. If you choose not to, they remove the charge from your bill. You may think $6 is not much for a breakfast, but unfortunately it is still too much for this offering The breakfast is absolutely ghastly!! Save your money and go to Fairhaven and buy breakfast. Five years ago the breakfast was included in the price of the room, and although not great it was certainly better than the current breakfast. This breakfast makes breakfast at the holiday inn expressor the hampton seem like the epitome of " Fine dining", in comparison. The hotel says it is put on by the restaurant Fino's , so it's not their responsiblitiy, but when the restaurant is in the hotel , I think that is a bit of a cop out. It's unfortunate as such an awful breakfast really takes away from the hotel. They would be better not to have one than to serve one that is this bad.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pacificnorthwester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We actually went to the hotel with great hope of being peaceful, relaxed and not having a single issue. Well after our first night we found a BIG spider web from one end of the wall to corner of the wall. It was so close to the bed, it was GROSS! We never noticed it on our first night we are in and out a lot. We complained to front desk, he said to wait for his assistant manager to come back the next day. We were not happy about that either but we waited. When she got to work she never contacted us or tried to "solve" the issue. We took time out of our "relaxing" vacation to chase her and tell her. Of course i am pissed i just paid $700 for 3 nights thats a lot of money to have spider webs in your room! Well to the least the manager was so not understanding and not helpful we literally felt like leaving, we have never been treated so badly. I also complained to the genereal manager, you would think she would try and contact me or email me back and say im so sorry. NOPE! Its been 2 weeks and i have got nothing. Honestly this hotel might have the view and luxary sleep area, if you arent able to handle customer problesm you are not a good bussiness. We are NEVER coming back to this hotel, nor am i recommending it to anyone i know.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
3.2 km away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 27 in Bellingham
452 reviews
0.6 km away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#5 of 27 in Bellingham
506 reviews
3.5 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 27 in Bellingham
502 reviews
6.6 km away
Best Western Heritage Inn
Best Western Heritage Inn
#7 of 27 in Bellingham
933 reviews
7.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chrysalis Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Property: The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
Address: 804 10th St, Bellingham, WA 98225-6245
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,962 - ₹ 17,851
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chrysalis Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chrysalis is a beautifully designed, award winning hotel, spa, and restaurant in a stunning waterfront setting. Luxurious guestrooms and suites offer comfortable hospitality with luxurious amenities, designed to enable guests to work or unwind with every comfort and convenience. Cuddle up in a bay view room or suite with cozy window seats, fireplaces and double soaking or whirlpool tubs. Watch the sunset from the restaurant and bar, or stroll the boardwalk over the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Chrysalis Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chrysalis Hotel Bellingham
The Chrysalis Inn And Spa
Chrysalis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing