We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Charm and Excellent Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Rose Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mountain Rose Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Woolwine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Real Charm and Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed just the one night in the Pride of Virginia room and could not fault the experience in any way whatsoever.

Dora Jane was a most gracious and helpful host throughout, the room had every convenience and lots of small thoughtful touches, the setting is both charming and romantic and the breakfast and all the many goodies left for you in every room far too tempting. We should have stayed longer - a most relaxing, stylish and friendly bed and breakfast which was excellent value for money and great fun

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    7
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
147
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We took advantage of Chateau Morrisette's Winter Wonderland Getaway, and were delighted to choose Mountain Rose Inn for our lodging. We have stayed there before, and knew that our second trip would be as wonderful as our first stay at MRI. We were not disappointed! We traveled with another couple, and they too, loved the place. We relaxed by the fireplace before heading to dinner, and then again after we came back down the mountain, before heading to bed. Sat morning's gourmet breakfast was wonderful! Mike and Dora Jane are the perfect innkeepers, and we really enjoyed visiting with them during the course of the stay.

Stay in the Pride of Virginia Room. It offers two porches on either side of the room. Rocking chairs and a porch swing offer a relaxing place to enjoy a cup of coffee!

Room Tip: The Pride of Virginia is our choice from now on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leelee5876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We wanted to get away from the hectic schedules and decided to stay overnight at the B&B. Its a beautiful house and a really nice property surrounding the house. The rooms have the old school feel but all the morder necessities. The fridge is stocked with soda, juice, ice cream for all the guests. The B&B is really well maintained. The owners are very friendly and the breakfast (4 course) its fantastic. I will probably go stay there again over the summer to explore the property surrounding the house.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mehtap3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We received a night stay at the Mountain Rose Inn for a Christmas present from 1 of our children. My Wife and I enjoy Mountain get-aways and we chose to visit for Valentine. We had a wonderful stay with great host. Everything was wonderful and the Inn is highly recommended. We stay in B&Bs 20 or more nights a year and are very choosy. We like to share our experience both good and bad. This one is definitely GOOD!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose PRIDE OF VIRGINIA room, very private with porch on both sides of second story room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronosbornemopars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

We loved our one night stay here at the Mountain Rose. We wish we could've stayed longer, but we'll definitely be staying again. The room was cozy and luxurious. Rarely do you find a place away from home that beats the comfort of your own bed but this place did it. We've never slept better. Our hosts were welcoming and helpful and the gourmet breakfast was to-die-for. we highly recommend this hidden gem and next time we'll take advantage of the outdoor pool and the relaxing grounds.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank writtenbyheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolwine
13.7 km away
Oak Haven Lodge
Oak Haven Lodge
#3 of 4 in Floyd
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
32.7 km away
Hampton Inn Martinsville
Hampton Inn Martinsville
#1 of 6 in Martinsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
34.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Martinsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Hotel Floyd
Hotel Floyd
#1 of 4 in Floyd
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
19.2 km away
Uptown Suites of Stuart
39.0 km away
Wolf Creek Farm B & B
Wolf Creek Farm B & B
#1 of 1 in Ararat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Rose Inn

Property: Mountain Rose Inn
Address: 1787 Charity Highway (Rt 40), Rt 40, Woolwine, VA 24185
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Woolwine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Woolwine
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,778 - ₹ 10,626
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Rose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Historical Country Elegance in the Blue Ridge Mountains." 1901 farmhouse with five rooms, private in room baths, and working fireplaces. Near Blue Ridge Parkway, Chateau Morrisette winery. Gourmet breakfast, 100 private acres, trails, weddings and reunions and trout stream. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing