We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
166
18
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
166
18
9
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shenandoah river french toast civil war fresh fruit north fork great weekend wagon road my husband and i were looking a wonderful stay historic atmosphere nearby river roaring fire area surrounding restful place lawn chairs historic route local information
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2018

A beautiful piece of property a great host, great breakfast and great place to sleep! If you like to hike, it's right on the river. We found wild asparagus, raspberries and herbs growing all around. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LisaofAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Once again we celebrated our anniversary (11th this year) at the Inn at Narrow Passage. Ed and Ellen are great hosts who make us feel welcomed. The breakfasts are incredibly delicious. Ed has great advice about what to see and do in the area. Rooms are quiet and comfortable. We look forward to coming here every year.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

What a pleasure to enjoy a weekend getaway at The Inn at Narrow Passage. Tucked by in a private area by the river ... It was the perfect retreat. Our room was spacious and comfortable and the full breakfast was delicious!! Our host Ed was an absolute joy and went above and beyond to make our stay everything we needed with knowledgeable information, stories and history that added so much fun to our weekend. Will we return? Absolutely YES!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CWElkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

My husband and I were looking to stay someplace with character and the Inn certainly delivered. +250 years old. Immaculately kept. Ed and Ellen, Innkeepers, were outstanding and very personable. Sitting on the porch, or on the lawn chairs, overlooking grounds and river was most relaxing. Keep in mind the primary portion of the building is +250 years old. The history is amazing. Our room was very clean and comfortable It was larger than most hotel rooms with plenty of furniture. The Inn is located just off the Route 11 and very convenient to Woodstock or Edinburg. Looking forward to another stay to relax and unwind.....we couldn't help but to unwind. Lastly, breakfast from 8:30 to 9:30 was wonderful. Fresh fruit bowls, bacon and eggs or homemade french toast. Cereals, snacks and soft drinks available any time. We will certainly be back.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

When you sit down to breakfast at the Inn at Narrow Passage, it’s difficult to imagine people have been sheltered by these walls since 1740. Other parts of the inn are newer, but not all that much, which makes a stay here all the more special.

The innkeepers, Ellen and Ed, are masters of hospitality and conversation. They know history, and they love the Shenandoah Valley, so they are great travel counselors.

Three of my suggestions for exploring the area are the Muse Vineyard for nice wine, Swover Creek Farm for craft beer and good pizza, and Route 11 Chips for crunchy snacks.

My room at the Inn at Narrow Passage was quite comfortable, and, of course, was thoroughly modern on the inside. U.S. 11, the modern incarnation of the Old Wagon Road from the 1700s, was just outside my window, but I never knew it. I was lost in history and sound asleep.

Room tip: With a historic property, alway consult with the manager for what's best for you. Ed and Ellen will help.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomInTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews