We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious Home in the Trees”
The Wintergreen Chalet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Wintergreen Chalet
Great Room Great Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
The Wintergreen Chalet
Great Room
Great Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Breakfast Bar
Game/Conference Room
Game/Conference Room
Reading Area
Great Room Wet Bar
Game/Conference Room Wet Bar
Hot Tub
Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 5
Bedroom 6
Rear View of House and Large Decks
Seasonal View of the Shenandoah Valley
The Wintergreen Chalet
The Wintergreen Chalet
The Wintergreen Chalet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Wintergreen, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chanin G
Richmond, Virginia, USA
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Spacious Home in the Trees”
Reviewed 12 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Our large family stayed at the Wintergreen Chalet for a 50th Wedding Anniversary weekend. The weekend we stayed was rainy and cloudy all weekend. The place was perfect for our crowd of 7 to 70 year olds to hang out all weekend. With the settled fog and the home's hilly vantage point, it felt like we were in a secluded treehouse for the weekend!

The house was nicely spacious for us without feeling cavernous. The kitchen is wonderful. It is fully stocked and boasts lots of floor and counter space for multiple cooks. The living room sectional holds plenty of people at once. We had a Monopoly game running on the coffee table for a large part of the weekend. The bedrooms are set up with a nice combination of queens and twins to suit a mixed crowd, and there are enough bathrooms to avoid anyone having to wait in line ever. Master Suite is HUGE with a door to the balcony in the trees. The toasty outdoor hot tub is great for a dreary weekend. The laundry room is a good size and handy if you have a longer stay. The driveway nicely holds 5 cars.

Golf greens and walking trails are all around. On a clear weekend, there are beautiful views of the mountains and valleys. The outdoor community pool can be enjoyed if the weather is nice. There is plenty to do in the area.

The owner has a long list of guidelines and rules for the house. You might find this to be frustrating, or you might totally appreciate the fact that it keeps the home in such nice condition for your stay. Having formerly owned a rental property, I totally understand why he has all of these rules, but you might find them inhibitive. If you know you have destructive or careless group members, you would want to avoid this rental. But if you can generally follow directions and behave reasonably, you will enjoy it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eka3520
Frederick, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Immaculate Home for our very Large Family!”
Reviewed 24 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

What a beautiful home! Our family of 12 was quite comfortable with plenty of room to spread out in this large and immaculate home. We could tell right away that the owner took good care of his home. Very clean, with everything we needed. Quite and secluded area, but close to amenities. We would definitely stay here again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatJ801
Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice, spacious house!”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This house is absolutely beautiful!! It had plenty of room for all of us, including the 8 kids. There were even games for them to play with. We had plenty of room in the kitchen for all of the "cooks" :-) I had the master bedroom, it's very large and comfortable. We could sit out on the deck, in the morning with our coffee, and watch the deer walking through the woods.
The house is about 5 minutes from the resort, so it's close to the restaurant, and in our case, the wedding festivities.
The owner is very detailed and helpful and will tell you everything that you'll need to know. He'll send you a map to the house, that's very helpful.
I've never rented a house like this before, and I'm very happy at the whole experience! I would definitely recommend this house!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I have a big family, and this house was large enough to hold those of us that wanted to stay together :-)
Liked least: I liked everything, but someone else said that their mattress was a little hard.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JANET T
Smithfield, Virginia
1 review
“Very nice home”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

There were few things that we could not get to work. I left a list of thiings on the counter for you to look over, just some minor things that didn't work. Could have had some bathmats in bathrooms, the ice dispencer wasn't working, few bulbs were out and the outlet at the wet bar wasn't working and t;he llights down by the hottub not working. Some of the guest would have liked a separate bedroom on the main floor. Could not get the Tv's to work properly, other than that it was a very nice home and the kitchen was big and very stock.
We also enjoyed the deck and hot tub.
Janet

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christy c
New Bern, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful house at Wintergreen Resort”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We spent 10 days of our Christmas Holiday in this home at Wintergreen Resort. It was a great house with plenty of room... 8 adults & 4 kids all had plenty of space. The kitchen was well equipped and the dining room fit all of us! Very clean and well furnished. Would recommend this home and hope to go back and us it again next year!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing