We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Trip To Tease Your Tastebuds”
Review of Wedmore Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wedmore Place
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I took my wife here during a weekend trip to Colonial Williamsburg and really loved the hotel. The staff are extremely courteous. We wanted to try the hotel's cafe for dinner, but we didn't make reservations and were on a tight schedule. As soon as we walked off of the elevator, we could smell the mouthwatering aroma of the food--we plan on making another trip just to try the food. The hotel owner offered a complimentary glass of wine while we walked around exploring the hotel. He and his wife are EXTREMELY friendly and helpful.

We were told when we arrived at the hotel that the croissants were flown in from France. I guess I'm a skeptical person and didn't think they would be that great--but they were. They had the freshest fruit available and delicious quiches for breakfast.

My wife and I loved this trip. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Any room will be amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 300 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2012

We recently spent a night at Wedmore Place and just driving in down the long road, surrounded by vineyards, we were instantly transported to something like out of a movie. You do NOT feel like you are in VA or any other commercial kind of place that you may be used to! You feel like you are driving up to a castle or a structure from another time and place - in a good way.

The lobby is charming and understated and almost old-fashioned - a refreshing change from the hustle and bustle of places you may have been before. We stayed in the Normandy room, which I highly recommend. The slanted ceilings and old-school style was elegant and clean. The bed was the most comfortable i've stayed in anywhere - including the linens and pillow!

The stay came with a free wine tasting for two at the Winery right on site and was a great way to start the weekend. Though I was surprised the last tasting on a Friday is at 4:30pm so beware to make it! I am surprised they end so early on a Friday night. At any rate, the woman running the tasting makes it so fun and interesting - she was great.

The room also comes with a continental breakfast - delicious coffee and fresh croissants. Only wish it was delivered to your room, but i can't complain since it was just a quick elevator ride down!

If i have one complaint it's that noise from the hall travels through to the room, like people in the early morning knocking or talking as they head to breakfast, but what can you do? The walls of this old building are probably thin. If you are a really light sleeper, maybe ask for a room at the end of the hall.

I highly recommend this inn and cannot wait to go back. It would be great for a special event or party, too. This is a hidden treasure!

Room Tip: Photos of each room are on the Wedmore website. All look great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELM2426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We spent a weekend here for a wedding and it exceeded our expectations. We felt so welcome and relaxed it was like staying at the home of a good friend. The rooms are all unique and extremely comfortable. Our friends stayed in the big suite and even hosted a little cocktail party in the room. This place is truly a wonderful, luxurious getaway.

Room Tip: Every room we saw was just as they describe on their website. Stay away from the big suite if you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My husband and I had the opportunity to spend an overnight at the Wedmore Place. We both thought it was wonderful. Everyone was very friendly and attentive.The room was great...very comfy bed.We can't say enough about our dinner at the Cafe Provencal. It was delicious and the service was excellent. My husband had the filet mignon dish and I had one of the evening specials which was rockfish. We would highly recommend either.
Unfortunately, due to our time restraints, we were unable to take advantage of the winery tour. It will give us the excuse to come back again for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NLTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

Super friendly people. Rooms were nice. Loved location. Really enjoyed our stay. The food was the best ever. The winery tour was amazing. We are new to drinking wine so it was informative to say the least. Our massages were so relaxing. The ladies were educational and we enjoyed the conversation with them.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jneclvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.5 km away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
658 reviews
9.4 km away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
4.6 km away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
5.7 km away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
5.9 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedmore Place? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedmore Place

Address: 5810 Wessex Hundred, Williamsburg, VA 23185-8063
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: ₹ 11,212 - ₹ 18,211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wedmore Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Wedmore Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedmore Place Williamsburg
Super 8 Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing