We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Customer Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg
Ranked #28 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Temple Hills, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

I would like to commend the Holiday Inn Express for the excellent customer service I recieved while visiting. From the time i checked in until the time i checked out, i was treated like royalty. Everyone was kind, friendly and most helpful when i needed help. I could not have asked for better accommodations. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice get-away.

I would also like to give special recognition to the General Manager (Tracey) for her assistance.

Zeke Craddock

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zeke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANDREW1452, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay here with us at the Holiday Inn Express. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and look forward to helping with any future lodging needs that you may have. We take great satisfaction in knowing that your needs were met and that this was a great experience for you.


At Your Service,

Tracey Spencer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    116
    42
    21
    27
See reviews for
157
78
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odenton, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Room 221 is Haunted. "Someone" called 911 from our room making the cops show up and bang on our door twice in the middle of the night. However our phone was dead everytime we checked it. Cops said this is the 3RD time since labor day that this has happened from the same exact room. We ended up getting our room comped though which was nice.

Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank erin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACEY S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express for your lodging needs. Please except my sincere apology for the inconvenience you experience during your stay with us. I am happy to inform you that the phone has been repaired. Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We hope to serve you again in the near future.

At Your Service,


Tracey Spencer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

If you have to pay full price, don't bother. It's an older hotel that shows its wear.

The good:
-We only paid $62/night through Hotwire. That made it a good deal for us.
-Seemed pretty clean.
-We liked the location...places to eat nearby, and not too far from Colonial Williamsburg.

The bad:
-Our first night was on the first floor at the end of the hall near the door. People using it woke us up *way* earlier than we wanted.
-If you don't want room service, be sure to put your do not disturb sign out, otherwise, they will come pounding on your door at 9:15am. That was early for us with the schedule we were keeping at the time.
-The towels were ROUGH! My two year old complained they hurt.
-The housekeeping staff were super loud...yelling from one end of the hall to the other -- not professional.
-Housekeeping staff smoked outside the side and back entrances, allowing the smell to make its way into the building, and causing us to have to walk through it with our two little ones.
-No vents in the bathrooms. Any temperature shower makes the bathroom steamy.
-Normal wear and tear could be better maintained.

We spoke with the front desk about the noise due to the door. They allowed us to change rooms to a much quieter location the next night. We were happy there.

We also addressed the issue with housekeeping pounding on the door. They said that is policy because some people just check out and don't tell them when they leave. I've traveled a lot and never encountered this elsewhere. I think another approach would be better, one that doesn't bother the guests until after checkout time, at least.

Because of the price, we would try Hotwire for this location again, but we would not pay the full price the hotel asks.

Room Tip: The third floor at the end of the hall was nice and quiet. Rooms on the north side look out onto an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACEY S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Thank you for your feedback on you stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express. I'm concerned about the problems you experiences with the noise and my staff. Please except my sincere apology. Please be assured that all issues you've raised have been addressed. Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.


At Your Service,

Tracey Spencer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonthill, Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Upon arrival we were booked into a room right next to the pump room. While the AC was running this didn't seem to be a problem, however, as soon as it shut off we realized the pumps were loud, and vibrated. There were also two large AC units right outside our window. Unfortunately, there were no other rooms available that night, but we could move the next day. The vibrations were awful and kept me up all night. The front desk staff was extremely understanding and helpful, and as promised, got us a different room the next day. I booked this through a discount travel program instead of my usual method of using my Priority Club status, and wonder if this was the reason for the room assignment. After the first awful night, our stay was great. Very clean rooms, good breakfast, and friendly staff. Good place to stay, but if you are sensitive to vibrations ask to be well away from the pump room.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the pump room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank all4mochas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACEY S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express for your lodging needs and the feedback regarding your stay. Please except my sincere apology for the inconvenience you experience the first night with the noise. It's great to hear that your problems was resolved during your stay. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.


At Your Service,

Tracey Spencer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

We only stayed one night, and didn't use any of the amenities or food service as we were too busy elsewhere. Found it to be clean and comfortable, and the staff was very polite. I liked the queen sized beds - so done with full size. I would not have a problem staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isittoomuchtoaskfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACEY S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay here with us at the Holiday Inn Express. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that we can help with any future lodging needs that you may have. We take great satisfaction in knowing that your needs were met and that this was a good experience for you.


At Your Service,

Tracey Spencer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
6.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North
0.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
1.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
1.0 km away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg

Property: Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg
Address: 1452 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,229 - ₹ 13,333
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg has won a 2013 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence! The hotel completed a renovation in Summer 2013. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East in Historic Williamsburg Virginia provides a sensible choice for travelers to Virginias historic triangle of Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown Located in the heart of the historic district, nearby attractions include Busch Gardens, home of the new roller coaster The Griffon, Water Country USA, Colonial Williamsburg, the College of William & Mary, Merchants Square, Premium Outlets, NewTown Shopping and Entertainment, Yankee Candle, Ripley s Believe it or Not,Mariners Museum, Virginia Living Museum, Williamsburg Winery and The Williamsburg Pottery. Golfers can experience 15 championship golf courses such as Kingsmill, Stonehouse, Royal New Kent and Golden Horse Shoe. Local corporations include Anheuser-Busch, Inc., Sentara, Ball Metal, Surry Power Plant and Riverside Health Systems. Nearby government facilities include National Center for State Courts, Camp Perry, Cheatham Annex, Yorktown Naval Weapons Depot, West Point Armor Group International Training and Fort Eustis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Holiday Inn Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing