We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but relatively clean. Train in the back yard.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capt. John Smith Inn
Ranked #67 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Old but relatively clean. Train in the back yard.”
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Older property, but rooms have been updated and are relatively clean (drink stain on nightstand may have been from maintenance visit after I checked in). Heat lamp in bathroom, as well as window with frosted glass. Windows that actually open to get fresh air. No remote control in room. Linens (towels/sheets) are thin, inexpensive variety.

Biggest drawback -- train tracks RIGHT behind room Trains run several times per hour. This impacts EVERY hotel on the west side of route 60/Richmond Road.

For the price ($25/night), I can't complain. It's a bed, a roof over my head, a bathroom and a heater.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loretta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    18
    9
    13
    44
See reviews for
33
21
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

The good:
1. It was extremely cheap for those on a budget! This is one of the most important things to us so this is always a plus. It was 32 dollars (including tax) on hotels.com for a night.
2. Location is excellent. It is right in the center of tons of shoppes and restaurants. Locally centralized between Jamestown and Yorktown also.
3. Staff at front desk were very nice and helpful.

The bad:
1. Literally RIGHT NEXT to train tracks that carry passenger trains. It seemed that the train ran every couple of hours. This can be very annoying and loud.
2. Rooms are dated/old/look dirty. I didn't dare go near the comforter (old/dirty). Mold on the bottom of the shower curtain. Refridgerator made bubbly noices. Very used and old room.
3. Matress is very hard/uncomfortable.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICHMOND
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2011

I enjoyed my stay and was given excellent tips on directions and food in the area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YORKFUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We booked this hotel spur of the moment because of the price and location. Let's just say, it would have been worth the money to stay ANYWHERE else. This hotel was absolutely HORRIBLE. First we got to our room and immediately found not one but TWO cockroaches on the floor. Disgusting. The room was hot and muggy and the A/C was unplugged! The bed felt like plastic and was horribly uncomfortable, as were the pillows. We felt we had to wear shoes around the entire place and were nervous and apprehensive about sleeping on the bed. As if that wasn't bad enough, it's close to a train station where a train goes by every 30 minutes throughout the day and night and you can hear it...very loudly from the rooms. Absolutely one of the worst places we've ever stayed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolphinchick014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Mills North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We stayed in the Travel lodge Williamsburg Central on Richmond road for two nights this last weekend while visiting Bush Gardens. The hotel had what looked like to be a nice pool, but we didnt get a chance to use it because we spent most of our time out on the town. The Manager was very helpful and friendly, the room was clean, and the location was great. We ate dinner two different nights at nice resturants litterally right across the street from the hotel. The Outlet stores are less that 2 miles up the road. We drove to Bush Gardens and arrived in just a few minutes from the Hotel. Overall, I would say this is a great stay for the money and I will deffinately stay again on my next trip to VA.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blm008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.6 km away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#64 of 73 in Williamsburg
410 reviews
4.8 km away
Super 8 Williamsburg/Historic Area
4.2 km away
Travelodge Williamsburg Colonial Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Quarterpath Inn & Suites
Quarterpath Inn & Suites
#58 of 73 in Williamsburg
28 reviews
7.2 km away
Econo Lodge Pottery
Econo Lodge Pottery
#56 of 73 in Williamsburg
28 reviews
4.0 km away
Econo Lodge Parkway / Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capt. John Smith Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capt. John Smith Inn

Property: Capt. John Smith Inn
Address: 2225 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2762 (Formerly Travelodge Williamsburg Central)
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,342 - ₹ 7,133
Hotel Class:2 star — Capt. John Smith Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capt. John Smith Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Williamsburg Central Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Travel Lodge
Williamsburg Travelodge
Travel Lodge Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing