We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Although this is an older facility w/basic room, you can walk to Colonial Williamsburg. The staff was quick to rectify the bumps we had so the price was right and location is everything, particularly around the holidays

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cameronsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 394 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2011

Great stay at a reasonable price within 3 blocks of Colonial Williamsburg. The place was clean, the breakfast adequate; has a La Quinta feel and quality to it (and we love LQ). We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for room in 6500 area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaWestminster_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed at the Governor's Inn during the Thanksgiving holiday. While it's not the Ritz, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was very cordial, and the locations was very convenient to walking in the historic village. There was coffee and other beverages available in the coffee shop, and the complimentary breakfast bar had a good variety of choices. Overall, it was a good experience, and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marilyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

In late October 2012, we stayed for four days at the Governor Inn in Williamsburg. The staff were all quite friendly, very helpful and pleasant. The continental breakfast was more than acceptable; dining room was clean and kept up during breakfast. The room rate was very reasonable and a quiet location with the exception of the occasional train.

Because we stayed four days, we received our tickets to the historical sites for free. It is approximately a seven minute walk to Merchants Square. Our room was acceptable, it did need some more substantial cleaning, lots of things were dated, many structurally.

It would be nice if the historical bus would stop at this location instead of having to drive to the visitor’s center or walk. We plan on staying here again in April/2012.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wives-would-not-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The Governor's inn was a very old basic hotel that reminded me of an older motel 6 on the outskirts of towns. The bathroom was very clean but the carpet was very old and the room really smelled bad. I was not sure if it used to be a smoking room that they converted but forgot to take out the rug or if it was just really musty. The employees were very nice and helpful and the continental breakfast was the usual cheaper hotel breakfast fare. The Governor's inn was close to Williamsberg within walking distance and it was the cheapest of the several hotels owned by Colonial Williamsberg so we decided to stay there. The price is comparable to several nice hotels not that much further away and since it rained heavily while we were there we ended up driving anyways so next time we will stay elsewhere. It is convienient location wise but I think I would pass it up if you like a little cleaner place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.8 km away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.1 km away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
1.1 km away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
608 reviews
1.0 km away
The Griffin Hotel - A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 506 N Henry St, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: ₹ 4,336 - ₹ 7,248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An official Colonial Williamsburg Hotel, the Governor's Inn is a low-rise motor inn located in the heart of Williamsburg, just 3 blocks from the restored area, Merchant's Square shopping district, the College of William & Mary, and a short ride from Revolutionary City. It offers comfortable, economy accommodations and features an outdoor family-style pool, complimentary continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, a business center, and discounted admission tickets to programs and events in the historic area. Guests at the Governor's Inn have access to unlimited use of our shuttle buses which run at regularly scheduled intervals from the Visitors Center (near the Woodlands Hotel & Suites) and operate throughout the historic area. Travel info: easy access to I-64; 20 minutes to Williamsburg/Newport News International airport; 5 minutes to Amtrak train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Inn - Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Governors Hotel Williamsburg
Governor Inn Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing