We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
166
10
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
166
10
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mary ann front porch the barn ginger scones gracious hospitality middleton room friendly pets nice furnishings enjoyed complimentary this past weekend charming town water pressure modern bath sitting room mountain view sun room romantic getaway
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night in July 2010 after I returned from being deployed to Iraq. He planned the trip and wanted to make it a memorable and special weekend for us. We live in DC and have both traveled extensively and stayed in B&Bs, and our experience at the Middleton Inn was perfect. Maryann is a gracious and warm host and meeting and talking with her made our stay even more special. The room was spacious, and the bathroom clearly had been renovated and updated. We enjoyed complimentary wine with the other guests in the afternoon. It was an easy walk to dinner (even in heels) to the Inn at Little Washington for dinner. Breakfast was delicious. We loved playing with the dogs outside in the morning. May not be a good fit for someone who does not like dogs or cats (i think there are 2 of each), but it made our stay more enjoyable. Thanks Maryann! We will be back to visit soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABWillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

My wife and I stayed here for our first anniversary and could not have been more pleased. It's a charming 1840's house beautifuly decorated and furnished with all modern amenities. The proprieters spared no expense or detail in making us feel like honored guests and treasured aquaintences. From the flowers in our room with a card congratulating us on our anniversary to the turn down service complete with chocolates on the pillow, nothing could have been finer. The view of the Blue Ridge mountains actually took our breath away.

Add in extremely friendly cats and yellow labs that played fetch with us for hours and we were in blissful ecstacy.

And the food was amazing as well.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agmart1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

This was our second visit to Little Washington with dinner at the Inn and an overnight stay at the Middleton Inn.
The Middleton Inn is within walking distance of the other "Inn" and is a memorable property dating back to the mid 1800's with an interesting history during the Civil War.
Spend a minute and have a look at the website which you may find of some interest.

Upon arrival we were cordialy greeted by the owner, Mary Ann, who showed us to our upgraded room complete with a bottle of champagne and warm note as we were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary. The room had a fantastic view and was original, filled with antiques and ,of course, the necessary improvements.
After a short walk we were greeted by two friendly Lab's that couldn't get enough attention and were looking to play.
Prior to dinner we shared a glass of wine and sampled some cheese in the parlor with a lovely couple who were on their way to Florida from Pennsylvania by way of Little Washington.
After dinner we returned to the Middleton Inn and were greeted by some Port wine in the parlor as well as our bed turned down and a restful nights sleep.
Breakfast was in the dining room served by the chef himself who was both accomodating and friendly.

The Middleton Inn is a perfect companion to the Inn at Little Washington and between the both of them " A Fabulous Experience".

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank jpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

This was our second stay at the Middleton Inn, and it was better than the first time. We traveled back to Washington, VA for a special dinner and wanted to stay at the Middleton again, after our initial visit there in May. We had hoped to catch the Autumn foliage so we asked to stay in a west-facing room, which we were able to get. Again, the room was wonderful - clean and inviting. The proprietor, Mary Ann, was busy when we arrived, as the Inn was hosting a tea, but she heard us making our way up to the room and came up to greet us. She had placed a special surprise in the room, as it was my wife's birthday, and even had sparkling cider on ice for us when we arrived (part of the treatment for guests is wine and cheese in the afternoon, but on our first visit we were offered sparkling cider since we don't drink - it was nice to have that detail remembered). The charm of this place is not just the facility - terrific grounds and wonderfully peaceful setting, but the manner in which everyone makes you feel so welcome - we feel like Mary Ann is an old friend, even though we have only stayed overnight on these two occasions, and the chef (who I mistakenly thought was Mary Ann's husband after the first visit - not for any reason other than some poor assumptions by me! They both laughed at my mistake), aside from making a delicious breakfast, is also great at conversation and making you feel right at home. There are apparently a few B&B's in Washington, VA, but there is no need to search any further than the Middleton. Go there and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldtblitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

My wife and I recently spent a night at the Middleton Inn. We were impressed with the reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not diappointed. We stayed in the cottage which was delightful. Wine & champagne greeted us in the sitting room. The property and the views are spectacular. We had dinner at the Inn at Little Washington which was great and the Middleton Inn put an exclamation point on the whole weekend. Mary Ann, the proprietor was very warm and charming and her animals are great. Don't miss the experience if you have the chance. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews