We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
166
10
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
166
10
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mary ann front porch the barn ginger scones gracious hospitality middleton room friendly pets nice furnishings enjoyed complimentary this past weekend charming town water pressure modern bath sitting room mountain view sun room romantic getaway
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Amazing bed and breakfast in quaint Washington, Virginia! The grounds were the perfect place to unwind and relax. The hospitality of Mary Ann truly made it feel like we had been visiting for many years. We will visit again!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ryanedennison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

What some expect from a lodging experience has been so distorted by the big hotel norms that the charm and imagination of a place like the Middleton Inn is lost on them. Modern bath amenities are cleverly tucked into the lovely rooms in this antique building, the downstairs rooms and front porch are lovely for a change of scenery over a complimentary glass of wine (served each afternoon) or port, breakfast is lovely, service is personal, and the grounds are beautiful. While the mountain view rooms might have been lovely, our back-facing room was quiet and private. Visiting, briefly, with the owner felt like renewing an old friendship, and the cats, dogs, and horses (all kept in the barn) were as welcoming as the staff. Walking distance to the Disneyland restaurant in the center of town. Most delightful: morning coffee enjoyed on the lawn with a westerly breeze, a shining sun, and a view of the Shenandoah mountains. Thank you, Mary Anne, we hope to be back.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunsetrockme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Middleton Inn is a lovely historic home set in the charming town of "Little" Washington, smack dab in the middle of the most beautiful Virginia countryside. The view from our window overlooking the stunning Blue Ridge mountains was breathtaking. Mary Ann, the proprietor, has created a warm and welcoming atmosphere for her guests; and she provides a delicious and leisurely breakfast. The grounds of the Inn and quaint streets of the town are perfect for quiet strolls. We can't wait to come back!!

Room Tip: Both of the rooms we saw were lovely!
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Words cannot adequately convey my love for the Middleton Inn. It is one of the most beautiful, charming, and romantic places on this earth. Sited on a hill in the picturesque town of Washington, Virginia, Middleton looks across rolling hills and pastures to the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains, which are so stunning they almost seem to have been painted in the background just for you. If you are an architecture buff, as I am, you will love this gorgeous, perfectly proportioned Federal manse. Everything about it - the boxwood, the pea gravel, the outbuildings created an ambiance that is hard to find these days. It is architectural heaven, and the interiors only enhance this experience. You feel as if you are staying in the beautiful home of a friend - a very fortunate friend! We stayed in the cottage, which was the pluperfect definition of romantic. It is your own little home, and upon seeing it we almost began plotting to see how we could move in it forever.

The beauty of Middleton is enhanced by the people who bring it to life. Mary Ann, the propietor, made us feel as if we were longtime friends invited into her home for the weekend. And everyone who works there brings that same spirit.

It was the most perfect weekend that it actually pained us to leave. And, we are already counting down the days to when we return to our new friends and this most charming inn!

Brian Branton

Room Tip: Every room is stunning. I prefer the cottage for the privacy that you get with it. But you honestly cannot go wrong.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Beautiful setting, stayed in the Ascot room. Beautiful views of the mountains. The room was quiet and the breakfast excellent. Just a short walk up the road to the center of town and the Inn at Little Washington. The Middleton Inn is a beautiful old home very comfortable and relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrld_tvler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews