We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Dining Experience”

Foster Harris House
Reserve with OpenTable
Foster Harris House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Washington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 89 - US$ 129
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Dinner is now available on Friday and Saturdays at the Foster Harris House! Our seasonal five-course Prix-Fixe menu* is available for $89 per person (plus tax and gratuity) or paired with wine for $129 (plus tax and gratuity). Our intimate 10-seat dining room is a perfect place for just the two of you or for your group of family and friends. Dinner is available to both overnight and non-overnight guests.*While we understand some people have dietary issues or personal preferences, unfortunately we cannot make accommodations for guests who are vegetarian, severely allergic to gluten or have shellfish allergies and cannot offer changes or substitutions to our dishes.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of the best meals we have ever had was dinner at the Foster Harris House! Each dish presented to us was a surprise and of the highest quality. We’ll be back in the Spring! `;x)

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Oranginah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2018

From Klaus's warm greeting to the champagne toast with the other guests to the last lick of dessert, this place was wonderful. Klaus and his lovely wife greet you and you share champagne with the other diners (up to 10 guests) in the living room for interesting conversation before being seated at private tables in the intimate dining room. The chef announces each course, all locally sourced. The wine pairings were wonderful. We had butternut squash soup, fantastic goat cheese tart, seared scallops, duck breast and apple cake with cinnamon ice cream. All served by Klaus and his charm. We'd love to return sometime! I almost forgot, the endless mini-popovers with honey butter were a temptation that we easily gave in to.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank getaround28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018

We've always enjoyed the Foster-Harris House and Klaus's hospitality. However Friday night was our first dinner prepared by new chef Brian Volmrich. We were blown away by the food and presentation. Not a false note in all 5 courses! Absolutely outstanding. The other restaurant in town may have 3 Michelin stars, but Foster-Harris under Chef Brian is every bit as good. I kid you not!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TouchstoneFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Klaus was great! He was so hospitable and welcomed everyone into the house with a champagne toast. Food and friends were wonderful!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Navigate253867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Terrific 5 course dinner with excellent wine pairings presented by Chef Brian, just perfectly prepared.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank SParkerFAIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Foster Harris House also viewed

Washington, Rappahannock County
Washington, Rappahannock County
 
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
Flint Hill, Rappahannock County
 
Flint Hill, Rappahannock County
Washington, Rappahannock County
 

Been to Foster Harris House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing