We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Warrenton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Warrenton
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Warrenton
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

- Smelly Room and Bathroom
- Noisy doors/ cracked windows
-The next morning, our body was itchy so we think there are bed bugs on the bed
- The manager on duty "V. Patel" was not willing to address the issues when I talked about it.
So, don't waste your money, spend 10 more dollar and enjoy your night. Don't ruin you vacation or any other trip...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank register0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    20
    47
    50
    63
See reviews for
64
30
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We chose Ho Jo's because we thought a brand name hotel would have a good standard. Not.

The sour smell in the room hits you when you first enter, especially in the bathroom, and then we didn't notice it, so we didn't ask for another room (office is in another building). Then we smelled it again.

Not dirty or noisy - we were at the back. Carpet was ok. The poor-condition sliding door opens onto "patio" that merges seelessly with an isolated access road. It's "secured" by a lightweight aluminum bar, slightly bent.

Bathroom had screw holes in the wall, no robe hook, small, damaged counter, a poorly installed tub surround, and a potentially slippery tub with nothing to hold onto getting in and out to shower. Short one face towel. Small coffee maker had one coffee packet.

AC blows directly onto the bed - I placed a bedcover-draped chair in front of it. Mattress not terrible, but not good. It's soft, uneven, and the whole bed wobbles like a water bed when one partner rolls over. (And we didn't test it further!)

Part of the hallway smelled of cigarettes. Small spider webs in ceiling corners (I like spiders better than what they must be eating).

The room has a safe, microwave and fridge, and they have an outdoor pool.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Warrenton hotels

Washington DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We chose Ho Jo's because we thought a brand name hotel would have a high standard. Not.

The sour smell in the room hits you when you first enter, especially in the bathroom, and then we didn't notice it after a minute in the bed area, so we didn't ask for another room (office is in another building).

We paid $60 for a queen bed "summer discount, which is better than AAA discount" according to the friendly desk clerk.

Not dirty or noisy - we were at the back. Carpet was ok. Bathroom otherwise fine. Part of the hallway smelled of cigarettes. Small spider webs in ceiling corners (I like spiders better than what they must be eating).

AC blows directly onto the bed. Mattress not terrible, but a liitle soft and creaky.

The room has a safe, microwave and fridge, and they have an outdoor pool.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I had stayed at this hotel in the past, and while I knew that it wasn't luxurious, I had remembered it as being acceptable for an overnight while "on the road." Things have changed! The room was musty and dank, the sliding glass door had broken glass, the bedclothes were nothing more than rags! What's more, I arrived very late and shortly after falling asleep, I was awakened by a desk clerk who phoned to say that my credit card was declined and that I had to come at once to the office (2:30 AM). She had entered the wrong expiration date when submitting the credit card! My night's sleep was ruined by this clerical error. Do not stay here if you can help it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldhotellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

We were attending an event in the area. Everything else was full. We should have stayed in Front Royal or Manassas. Our room's floor had not been vacuumed in some time. There was a dirty towel hanging over the shower rod. The next day when we returned rug had been vacuumed but only left one hand towel. Beds are uncomfortable -- needed new mattresses years ago. Noisy hotel. Obviously HO`JO and Wyndham Rewards have next to no standards for their franchisees. Howard Johnson is turning over in his grave. Stay away.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warrenton
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Warrenton
1.9 km away
Hampton Inn Warrenton
Hampton Inn Warrenton
#1 of 6 in Warrenton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
3.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Warrenton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
19.6 km away
Hampton Inn Gainesville-Haymarket
11.1 km away
Poplar Springs Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Warrenton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Warrenton

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Warrenton
Address: 6 Broadview Avenue, Warrenton, VA 20186
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Warrenton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Warrenton
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,503 - ₹ 5,242
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Warrenton 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Warrenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Warrenton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing