We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for long stay if you're a man” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good for long stay if you're a man”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

I am a businesswoman and was traveling alone. I did not feel very comfortable in this hotel. I'm sure it's fine if you're a man working in the area. There were all trucks and work cars in the lot and I honestly did not see one other guest who was a woman. Also, someone keyed into my room the first night I was there and fortunately the safety latch was on my door. The person at the front desk brought up new keys to me and said it might have been a maintenance guy trying to come fix something (but no one knocked first). Anyway, I didn't sleep that first night, so I checked out the next day when I was scheduled to stay all week.
Sorry, Candlewood! I love your hotels, but this was NOT for me.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mylestraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melindawarren, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you Mylestraveled for your review on the Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach. I am saddened that your stay did not exceed your expectations. I appreciate you giving us important feedback about your experience. Reviews tell us what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. The hotel is located in an extremely safe area at Town Center in Virginia Beach. A lot of our clients are crews such as Verizon Fios. I can imagine having your door opened at night can be unsettling. We apologize sincerely. I would love for you to give us another shot on us when you return to the area. You can contact me directly and it would be my honor to have you back, Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    42
    17
    11
    8
See reviews for
58
31
20
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Forest City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
188 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

I have spent a week here back in the late summer/fall. The room was very spacious and everything worked! I was thankful that there were smoking rooms available! This was my first stay in an extended stay place where you don't have maid service daily, which I actually liked! The room was clean upon arrival and the staff that work here are very nice and friendly! My only complaint was since it is a pet friendly hotel, a lot of barking dogs were there during my stay which did get on your nerves by the end of the week! But, I will definitely be working in the area again and will stay at Candlewood!

Room Tip: Ask to be located away from rooms with dogs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh-Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melindawarren, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you Leigh- Anna for your review of our hotel. The team here at the Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach strives for outstanding customer service each and every day. I am glad to hear that the team has imparted that desire for excellent customer service unto you, and I hope that you will continue to stay with us when you are in the Virginia Beach area. I am sorry that the four legged friends bothered you while you were here. We do try to keep them all in one area of the hotel but sometimes hard when we have quite a few. We do try to keep in mind that not everyone is a pet lover.We want you to feel like you are at your home away from home when you stay here. We look forward to your return real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I have been here working out of town for a few months, and my stay is like I am home. Nice rooms, free laundry, great staff. Special thanks to melinda and tina for making my stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stacks3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melindawarren, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Stacks3k, thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review on our hotel and the staff. The team here at the Candlewood Suites is extremely happy you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you will come back and stay with us again soon. So whether you are here for 2 days, 2 months, or a year, you always get the best service at a reasonable price. Take care, and we look forward to your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartsville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Have never stayed at Candlewood Suites before and made reservation based only on price. I was very pleasantly surprised, and found it to be a fantastic value for the money. The room was clean and in order, everything worked, wi-fi was free, and the staff was super nice. Plenty of water pressure in the shower and large towels. Candlewood Suites has just jumped to the top of my preferred hotel list.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melindawarren, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Ken H, Thank you so much for your kind words on our hotel. We strive for all of our guest to have 100% satisfaction. Comments like yours help us evaluate what we are doing right and what we can improve on. We are pleased to hear that since your stay with us that Candlewood Suites has just jumped to the top of your preferred hotel list. Please come back and see us again some time. Thank you again for choosing the Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach for your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

5 STARS! The staff there couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. From the smiles that greet you upon entry to the Wed evening "cookouts", my stay there felt more like a community. I stayed at the hotel the entire summer and it was bittersweet leaving people you have come to know along the way. I WILL DEFINITELY stay there everytime I visit the area!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RushCoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melindawarren, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you RushCoes for your delightful review you wrote on us. It was a great summer having you and your company Logical Choice with us. We strive to make our hotel stand out from our competitors with our customer service and making our guest feel at home. We hope you come back to see us some day. If you ever need help with reservations please don't hesitate to contact me with your reservation needs. Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
4.9 km away
Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach
Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Bea...
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beac...
#50 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
4.7 km away
TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach
TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach
#54 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Nor...
#39 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
6.5 km away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
4.7 km away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
#41 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk

Property: Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk
Address: 4437 Bonney Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#32 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,817 - ₹ 12,702
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Virginia Beach - Norfolk - Hampton Roads, VA. The Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Virginia Beach - Norfolk - Hampton Roads is a member of Priority Club Rewards & the IHG family of brands including InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn, Express & Staybridge Suites Hotels. The Candlewood Suites is the perfect hotel for government (Per Diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing needs.The Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach - Norfolk Hotel is centrally located mile from the Virginia Beach Town Center @ the Independence Blvd exit of I-264 near I 64; minutes from VA Beach beaches & Norfolk Airport (ORF). Our hotel is close to Downtown Norfolk & Virginia Beach real estate districts; offering near access to Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin, Keane Inc., General Dynamics, Little Creek Amphibious Navy Base, Oceana Naval Air Station & Norfolk Naval Shipyard. The Candlewood Suites Hotel offers apartment like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term hotel real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio & one-bedroom apartment - like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living & work areas, TV with DVD players, free wired & wireless Internet. Other features include 24 hour business center, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard with grills & our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk Hotel Virginia Beach
Candlewood Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing