We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April, 2012”
Review of Ocean Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Beach Club
Ranked #73 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Check-In was quick. Asked for and received a room on the 16th floor. Outstanding view and staff was helpful in responding to requests. OceanAire is almost complete. Timeshare update was only an hour. Only negative is they still charge for WiFi.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TimeshareUser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (771)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

557 - 561 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

We only spent one whole day and night here but we will be back. The hotel has a wonderful location. The beach is quieter and cleaner at the north end. Fabulous indoor and outdoor polls, both are heated. Great little tiki bar with fire-pit, serving better food than I expected. Our hotel room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank libwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We just returned from a week exchange into OBC. We scored an oceanfront room which has a wonderful view. It is a little on the small side than what we are used to with Marriott, which is who we own with, but not too bad. When the couch is open into the bed, there is no room left in the living room. We had teens with us and the way the one bedroom is set up was a little weird with the doors. You used a key to get into the first door then there were 2 more doors, one for the A side which is the 1 bedroom and one for the B side which is a studio. When the kids forget their keys we could not hear them knocking. We also had other family staying in another unit and they had to call first so we would know they were coming. We thought the pots and pans were better than what we are used to getting at other resorts, cook better and cleaned up easier. The staff were excellant! we enjoyed the pools which were very warm. There do have 8 really nice lounge chairs but people are out by 7am to claim them and usually don't return for hours to use them. There is a sign on them that they are not to be reserved longer than 30min without being used or your stuff can be removed but I did not see this happen. There were enough chiars that we usually got some together but I can see how it could be a problem in the summer months. We did sign up for the timeshare talk but canceled since it was during a warm day. We were not bothered about it the rest of the week. Parking is a little annoying with small children but managable. The indoor pool could use a liitle cleaning. Nice workout room. The military jets start up at 7am and are pretty loud. They went all day long. We didn't mind but if you are a light sleepier and planned on sleeping in, might be a problem anywhere in VA Beach. Things to note if you are exchanging to stay here:
They do not clean during your staff unless you pay extra, $20 per day, you choose how many days. The bath towels are only exchanged once during your week stay. There is 1 washer/dryer on every other floor. We were lucky enough to be near one. It is $2 in quarters per wash and the same to dry but they are large so you can get a lot in. As I had read on here, for a one bedroom unit, there is only 4 of each plate, spoon, fork, cup, etc so plan on doing dishes a lot or bring some paper products like we did. They do not provide a lot of dishwasher detergant but we called and had them bring us up more of it.
We have Verizon and could not receive calls in our room. Don't know if other carriers are the same. We could talk if we were on the balcony.
We had brought a bunch of food with us but there was a Farm Fresh less than 5min away which we got some things which was very nice. They have beer/wine also at good prices.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nikkijersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Had a few free days to take our children to the beach recently and tried to make our short trip special by staying at a top-shelf resort. Unfortunately, the OBC was a huge disappointment. Because of the design the pool are is completely shaded by 1:00 every day and the indoor pool was not even open every day we were there. Furthermore, construction debris from an expansion of the resort constantly blew into our pool making it truly unpleasant for the kids to swim. This construction started by 7:00 every morning making impossible to sleep in (an effort already challenged by the small, uncomfortable mattress). The lobby cafe never opened early enough for breakfast as advertised and the food at the poolside restaurant was not impressive. While the location is good and the young staff was very kind and helpful, being charged extra for WiFi, remote (self-serve) parking and any missing pool towels left us vowing never to return to this property.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scmRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We just returned from a 3 night trip to the Ocean Beach Club in Virginia Beach with our toddler and infant. Initially after reading the mixed-bag of reviews, we were a little concerned with our choice, but such concern was without merit. The staff was helpful and attentive, the property and grounds were clean and well-kept. The location is fantastic. The indoor and outdoor pools were both heated and provided a great source of recereation. We are not timeshare owners, but managed to score an Oceanfront 1 bedroom suite on the 10th floor (we requested and oceanfront room/the best available room prior to check-in by calling the reservations department directly -- thanks, Austin). The suite was modern, clean and comfortable and maximized space. The kitchen was well appointed for our needs (breakfast, lunch and snacks). The balcony was a little small, but did have two chairs and a table. The queen bed in the bedroom was a bit too soft for our liking, but the linens and pillows were above average. There was a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. They are in the final stages of construction on the Ocean Aire building next door, so there was some minor noise, but nothing like what was described in prior reviews. Our suite was on the North corner towards the Ocean Aire building -- the views out of the side windows was into the side of that building, so if you want better views, ask for the South side corner units. We had drinks and food at Tortugas, which is a great spot on the ocean near the pool. The food was average, service was good and drinks were healthy, the oceanfron firepit was a nice touch for the cool evening. You do have to pay for internet access ($5 per day, $30 per week), you do not need to pay to use the in-room safe. Parking is $7 per day and the garage is only a short distance away with plenty of parking. Overall, we were very pleased with our experience and would return. Additionally, not once during our stay were we asked about purchasing a timeshare, attending a sales seminar or the like. Perhaps this was because of the holiday weekend, but there was absolutely no sales pitch involved.

Room Tip: Contact the reservations department prior to your arrival and request an oceanfront room/best availa...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DCAttys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
#41 of 109 in Virginia Beach
434 reviews
0.4 km away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,976 reviews
0.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
799 reviews
0.2 km away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#32 of 109 in Virginia Beach
983 reviews
1.0 km away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Club

Address: 3401 Atlantic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2854
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: ₹ 6,428 - ₹ 23,142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Beach Club features upscale studios with kitchenettes, and 1- and 2-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens and separate living rooms with queen sleeper sofas. Resort amenities include an oceanfront adult only infinity pool with bar service, an indoor pool with cascading water features, two outdoor oceanfront pools including a children's pool, a 17th floor ocean view fitness center, and a Game Room. Guests can enjoy a specialty cocktail at Ultra Craft Cocktails Lounge, or dine poolside for breakfast, lunch or dinner at seasonal Tortugas Café & Tiki Bar. Accommodations feature private balconies with city views or ocean views, jetted tubs in suites, cable TV with premium channels, DVD players, free Wi-Fi and in-room safes. Ocean Beach Club also offers laundry facilities onsite, a concierge to plan excursions and a Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Club Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Club Virginia Beach
Ocean Beach Virginia
Ocean Beach Club Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing