We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go elsewhere unless your cheap like i am”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency
Ranked #65 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
pittsburgh
1 review
“go elsewhere unless your cheap like i am”
Reviewed 22 June 2009

I read all the other reviews and decided to book to motel anyway. the first five minutes that i was there they had just the worst attitudes because we wante to see the room b4 we paid for the second night. We did see the room and it was not too bad for the price and foe how close it was to the beach. I was alil hard to sleep due to all the noise outside but that would be expected but the fire alarm went off twice at around five in the morning without a cause. Not the best sleep ever, thats for certain. Overall it was not the worst but def NOT that great, but it was cheap.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    52
    40
    21
    39
See reviews for
91
33
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2009

My boyfriend and I went down for a weekend and decided we would save a little money by not staying right on the beach. Online this motel sounded great and the price was even better. One thing that caught my eye was "Newly remodeled rooms", I DON'T THINK SO. The rooms were old, dirty, and smelt horrible. We had to go buy air freshner to TRY to make the room smell better. Didn't work. Our first night was horrible. The outside noise kept us up all night. I understand that you will hear noise being next to the road, but the 3 inch gap under the door and the window that didn't shut all the way didn't help the situation. And I think we would have been more comfortable sleeping and the floor than the hard bed in the room. The next morning (9am) I asked to be moved away from the street and about 4pm we finally got moved. Room was even nastier. The iron was coroded, the sink didn't drain and the smell and beds were even worse. And our neighbors partied half the night, even though we called the front desk twice to ask them to address the noise. I couldn't even enjoy myself when I got home, because I had to wash all my clothes, even the clean ones, twice to get the disgusting smell out of them. Needless to say, I will NEVER stay here again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GivemeabreakVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2009

I have never posted a review, but this is a HEALTH HAZARD. My friends and I had 2 rooms and 1 of the rooms stunk like cat pee. When we reported it to the manager, he sent up the maintenance man with a bottle of de-odorizing spray. By this time, it was almost 1am... we were tired of driving and wanted to call it a night. The maintenance guy said that the house was full, so they couldn't change our rooms. After complaining that it smelled like cat pee, the maintenance guy responded saying it was actually the MOLD under the carpets and in the walls since we are by the beach. I was astonished that he would tell us that, esp because of the seriousness that comes from this problem. He continued to tell us that our room is one of the older ones that hasn't been renovated or used in a long time. His solution was to spray the deodorizer into the carpet and throughout our room... basically leaving us w/a strong stink of cat pee mixed with the not so pleasant deodorizing spray.

We reported this to the manager downstairs later and he got very angry and said that was not mold and claimed that the maintenance guy did not say that. I told him to find his maintenance guy and he said that 1) he's not here at the moment and 2) if he really did say that, he would have been fired... and 3) that it wasn't mold.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shchao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, VA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

After reading the reviews here, I initially decided not to stay in this motel. I have a 2 year old kid and not a risk taker. Since this was kind of last minute planning for the Memorial day weekend, most of the hotels that i wanted to stay were not available. So i pretty much narrowed down to Sundial, Breakers and Surfside Oceanfront - All 3 of them were around $130-175 a night. The rest of the hotels where I could find accomadation were priced above $250 a night. So among the 3, i chose to go with Sundial. They charged me $137 a night (tax inclusive). I bought a room freshner and disinfectant just in case.
To my surprise the room was really decent. It was a big suite, with fully equiped kitchen, microwave (came handy when we wanted to warm up the baby food) and fridge.
The mattress was soft, but not too soft, just good enough. After reading the moth mildew story I was too scared. Anyways I had sprayed the room freshner just because i bought it. Don't expect a luxury hotel, this is just a decent one. Another good thing is they are right on 21st and Atlantic Ave intersection, so it is easier to get to other restaurants, beach and the attractions on the boardwalk. This is our first stay here and we plan to return back and stay with them.
Few things that i didn't like was that they don't have washer/dryer, their rooms didn't have clock radios (not sure if their phone had alarm facility) and the carpet looked old.
The people in the front desk was very helpful. When I was planning to go to the nearest laudromat they advised me against using any of the laundry facilities near by ("people" hang out).
And guys don't miss out the next door Mexican restaurant Guadalajara, it was awesome. (Got to write a review about them)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slickffx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2009

My pipes have been frozen for 3 days and my family needed a place to stay, you know just for a shower and to use the bathroom. The person at the front desk was really rude!!! He would not even look at me, and you know, I do not think he was even an American Citizen. He jacked up the price on me! And on top of that I got a flat tire just trying to get over their mountian speed bumps. The room smelled like a porta potty and their were bugs everywhere. I have 3 kids, my baby is 2 and all 3 were so scared of all the bugs! Do not rent a room here..........that is all I have to say. The rudeness and the dirtiness and 3x the reg. price!

  • Liked — nothing at all
  • Disliked — Everything!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :(
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank oodivineangeloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
Northeast Virginia Beach
Cerca Del Mar
Cerca Del Mar
#86 of 109 in Virginia Beach
59 reviews
19 Atlantic Hotel
#64 of 109 in Virginia Beach
338 reviews
Oceans 2700 Hotel
#66 of 109 in Virginia Beach
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alamar Resort Inn
#67 of 109 in Virginia Beach
194 reviews
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#82 of 109 in Virginia Beach
155 reviews
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#53 of 109 in Virginia Beach
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency

Property: Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency
Address: 308 21st St, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,931 - ₹ 15,466
Hotel Class:2 star — Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Inn Motel And Efficiency Hotel Virginia Beach
Sundial Motel Virginia Beach
Sundial Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing